We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous boutique hôtel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Islington Hotel

Save Saved
You added Islington Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agoda.com Orbitz.com
and 9 more sites!
Islington Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   321 Davey Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 47 hotels in Hobart
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous boutique hôtel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This hotel is outstanding. This is our second visit there in 12 months. The Staff are amazing, Natalie makes the best muesli (in fact I order it regularly and have it sent to Sydney because it is just delicious), the best breakfasts are served and she even made us a takeaway lunch with amazing sandwiches. All the Staff are just fabulous - we love the open casual lounge, free use of the coffee machine and the fresh muffins baked daily to accompany coffee or tea anytime of the day or night. The rooms are great - comfortable and light. Relaxing in front of an open fire in the lounge with a magazine and a drink - what more could you want.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas B, General Manager at Islington Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
It is true that Natalie’s toasted muesli is delicious. We regularly send packs of muesli and our house-made jams across Australia for guests to have a little piece of Islington at home. It’s a shame we can’t bottle “Relaxing in front of an open fire in the lounge with a magazine and a drink”, you’ll just have to come and enjoy that in person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    178
    18
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
141
8
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I booked three nights at the Islington based on Tripadvisor reviews, and I was not disappointed. The hotel is a wonderful place to stay, with great staff. It is upscale, and expensive, but informal - I much prefer the individual attention and laid back atmosphere The Islington provided, over the large hotel experience. The hotel is located on a quiet street, about fifteen minutes walk from the central business district and Salamanca Square area - some of that walk is uphill, so it may be better to go by car or taxi than try to walk. The hotel is very easy to get to - it is on a continuation of Davey Street, the main artery through central Hobart. There is an electrically operated drive-in gate, so when you arrive you need to use the intercom to have the door opened. Your room key has a button on it that opens and closes the gate for future arrivals and departures. The hotel has only 11 rooms, and there is a relatively small parking area inside the gate adjacent to the hotel. Meals are very good, with fresh local produce. Dinner is not served every night, but when it is, you should definitely sign up for dinner. My dinner meal was wonderful - I was very surprised by the number of choices, given the one chef operation and small number of guests, and the food and service was high-level restaurant quality. The glass enclosed eating area is stunning, and the architectural achievement of combining the modern glass conservatory with the old main structure works very well. The hotel room was modern and very comfortable - very quiet, good lighting, great bed, a desk, a view looking into the hills adjacent to Hobart, and plenty of storage. Art in the rooms and hotel common areas was impressive. Bedroom and bath were quite large, and my room had a drape separating the sitting and desk area from the bed - which allowed a completely dark room to sleep in, separate from the desk and seating area. I relied on the staff for many suggestions of where to go, where to eat (they recommended Prosser's, a seafood restaurant on the water, which was excellent), what to see, etc., and their recommendations were right on target. My only complaint is that I was only able to spend three days there. If you want to stay at a top notch place, away from the crowd, this is it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas B, General Manager at Islington Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
I’d like to thank AshesToProvelt for supplying such a comprehensive report of their stay at Islington, specifically the kind words of praise for our staff members. I find most guests love the relaxed, professional service that makes the hotel so special. It is the skilled way that all staff members respond to requests for help, and even more importantly the way they anticipate and adapt to situations, that usually makes ones stay so casual and friendly. We do our best to make everyone who stays at Islington ‘feel at home’, something made easier by the boutique nature of the hotel and the wonderful team I have to work with.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My Partner and I were fortunate enough to stay at The Islington last year. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel special. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, who were extremely efficient, and most friendly. We were given a tour of the hotel and grounds on arrival and made to feel very welcome. Our garden room was beautifully appointed and had glorious views of the mountain. The beautiful amenities and complimentary mini bar were most wonderful. The artwork throughout the hotel is wonderful and varied. Wandering from room to room was a treat with so much to look at and experience. Compliments indeed to the chef and staff as our dining experiences (dinner and breakfast) were perfect. A highlight of the whole Islington experience I must say was sitting outside in the sunshine, sipping a beautiful Tasmanian wine and soaking up the view and atmosphere. We didn't want to leave and certainly hope to visit again. I would thoroughly recommend The Islington as a first class hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas B, General Manager at Islington Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
So often we forget what is on our back door step; been there, done that. It is a real pleasure to see a Hobart local raving about the Islington experience, the view, the wine, the food, the people and that we can reintroduce the wonder of Mt Wellington for someone who sees it every day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We have just arrived home from spending a week in Hobart at the Islington Hotel to celebrate our birthdays. Upon arrival our welcome was warm and very relaxed. The rooms (we stayed in 2) are wonderfully appointed. We appreciated all the amenities - Aesop products, 'Angel' beds, fluffy towels, Ipad, magazines and complimentary mini bar. The breakfasts were superb and we loved coming back to the hotel in the afternoon where the staff would happily make you a drink or tea/coffee and there were always muffins, biscuits and the best cherries to devour.

The staff were wonderful and very accommodating - special mention for their wonderful in house chef 'Joe' and the maitre d extraordinaire Francesco.

We loved it so much we are planning another visit in winter!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas B, General Manager at Islington Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
It’s wonderful to hear our guests are already planning the next visit, thank you for the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying for a week at The Islington before Christmas this year. the place has a great vibe and there is always something interesting to look at as the place is adorned with artworks of all shapes and kinds. Enough to suit any taste.

I stayed in their Signature room which really gives the traveler a great "Lodge" experience.

The other thing that stood out for me was the level of service. Nothing is too much trouble.

If I return to Hobart, I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas B, General Manager at Islington Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
We call Islington ‘Tasmania’s only 5 star urban lodge’. It’s, as stated above, the ‘vibe’ that really set’s this hotel apart from others in Australia and around the world. This year we we’re voted peoples choice on trip advisor for ‘Luxury’, ‘Small Hotels’ and ‘Best Service’. I like the last one best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed the tranquility of this small hotel. From the moment you arrive you know this is no ordinary hotel. Indeed, the reception from the staff was very warm and relaxed compared to a conventional checking in process. It is a small hotel of only 11 suites so it is very intimate and casual.

We had dinner in the restaurant one night and the food was excellent. The service was also very good although the waiter had to work very hard to keep up. The breakfast was also very good with the chef cooking to our own particular wishes rather than a set menu.

Eating breakfast and dinner in the light filled modern conservatory was stunning and it was also a good place to relax and read a magazine or the paper during the day. Alternatively you could step back in time and sit within one of the original rooms filled with character and art.

The room was also well equipped with everything we needed overlooking the rear garden, we stayed in the modern part of the hotel. We also appreciated the Aesop toiletries which show the quality of the hotel.

The hotel is just outside the centre of the city but close enough to be able to walk to the Salamanca Markets on Saturday (about 20mins). Being just outside of the central city you can avoid some of the crowds which were swelling around the docks courteousy of two large cruise ships being in town. If you desire a comfortable and relaxed stay without feeling like you are just another tourist, this is a place to stay.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas B, General Manager at Islington Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
I love this review because it ticks all the boxes we are striving for. –Warm Welcome - Intimate and Casual – Excellent Food - Tranquility - Quality Amenities – No Ordinary Hotel - well that says it all, Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

From the moment of 'checking in' to leaving this was a wonderful experience at this small, discreet and well appointed hotel. The service and welcome are exceptional. You are surrounded by artworks in every room. Breakfasts are freshly cooked to order with well presented fruits, yogurts, cereals, juices readily available. We stayed 4 nights; one at the start of our Tasmanian adventure and 3 at the end. Upgrade to the Signature Room on first night was a lovely surprise - more traditionally appointed with sumptuous drapes etc. The Garden Room on our next stay was modern and also impressively appointed with views of garden and mountain. The hotel is away from Hobart centre perhaps a 20 min walk to Salamanca Place. We would definitely return - if only Hobart wasn't so far from the UK!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas B, General Manager at Islington Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
It’s lovely to see such a well travelled reviewer respond to our service standards in this way. At Islington we pride ourselves on our attentive and knowledgeable but relaxed service. The balance of a good hospitality professional lies in the ability to judge the amount of interaction a guest requires and the familiarity they are comfortable with. Add to this the respectful anticipation of a guests needs and the result is almost always a very happy room of people and encourages interaction between fellow travellers. We like that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Islington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islington Hotel

Also Known As:
Islington Hotel Hobart, Tasmania
Address: 321 Davey Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#6 Family Hotel in Hobart
#6 Business Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Islington Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1847, Islington is a fine example of Regency architecture recently restored to showcase its original glory and including 5 star luxuries such as 100 sq/ft glass conservatory with under floor heating throughout, a fine dining restaurant and extensive wine cellar. Surrounded by great service and presentation it has an atmosphere of serenity, luxury and tranquility. Islington’s recent awards include winner, ‘Best Boutique Hotel in Australia’ by Australian Gourmet Traveler and winning entrant into the prestigious ‘Kurosawa Collection’ for small luxury accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Splendia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Islington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Islington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.