We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Narrara Backpackers

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hobart
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Narrara Backpackers
Save
You added Narrara Backpackers to your Saves list
88 Goulburn St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

I had stay for four nights in Narrara with my friend, and we love there so much. Mo is very kindly and helpful. Our room was clean and quiet! It's really a nice place for travellers to have great rest. If I have a chance to visit Hobart again, i will choose Narrara also! Mo, thank for your help!!!! Hope to see you next time!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    19
    12
    4
    9
See reviews for
2
11
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This backpacker is the end of my 3 weeks NZ/AU trip. Unfortunately my journey ends like a nightmare in Hobart, the so-called best travelling city of lonely-planet.

1) The Female Washroom is dark and dirty, BONUS: lots of long hair on the wall.
2) The double room is unbelievably small. If you are over 55kg (f) 70kg (m) I dont think you can move around in the room.
3) The kitchen is dirty, didnt bother to use it as I was already 99% sick of this place.
4) Bed bugs. You can see them!
5) Pillow case....
6) It is very noisy, not in the building but the nearby teenagers in the street

You have been warned!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I stayed there for two nights in Narrara with my friend, and we do enjoy it. Mo is very friendly and helpful, you can get all the useful hints from him. Our family studio is clean and quiet, and it got hot water 24 hours a day. It's really a nice place for travellers to spend great time. If we have a chance to visit Hobart again, we still will choose Narrara! Thanks a lot Mo.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

I don't know what happenned last winter when people wrote some pretty bad reviews, although I stayed here in June last year and winter of 2010 also and it was fine then, too. But personally I find Narrara vastly better than your usual backpackers and I won't stay at a backpackers unless it's this place. Even the people who have complained have acknowledged that the rooms are tidy and the linen fresh and clean and that's one of the main reasons I stay here, along with the fact that the lounge and dining areas are really nice, nice decor with lovely big, black leather sofas as with the decor of the rooms and the upstairs living area is cosy too. The whole place is more like a cosy suburban house in an old Victorian home that just happens to be a backpackers and as such is vastly more comfortable than other backpackers, which basically are like train stations with beds. This time I shared a small mixed dorm with a bit of a revolving cast of three girls, which was a riot seeing all the beauty and grooming artillery, but it was fine, everyone was really cool. I haven't found the showers to be any different to other backpackers, but you're not paying for four star accomodation and you're not going to get it. You have to weigh up the pros and cons, and at $23-28 a night, it's a minor concern, they are not that bad and the pros far outweigh the cons. If you want an ensuite, stay at the Grand Chancellor! Likewise the kitchen, it's the same as any other backpackers, Mo takes quite a lot of pride in keeping the place hospitable, his wife take cleanliness seriously and doesn't put up with messiness. As I only have breakfast in and eat out the rest of the time I'm not that dependent on the kitchen, but for the people who cook there it seems fine. And not least, Mo is a charismatically friendly guy, I'm always made welcome, he goes out of his way to keep the place running smoothly, as everyone says is the perfect host and his wife is very nice too. Finally this is the only place I've ever stayed where I've met, liked, missed and felt sad about losing contact with the people I've gotten friendly with the last two times I stayed there such as Jack from Taiwan, you're a dude! Thanks Mo and your wife for everything.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I didnt know what to expect when i got to the hostel. But I got the mosst friendliest welcome than in any other hostel. Mo the manager is really nice and always up far a little chat, he was very helpful during my stay :)
It was clean and a relaxed atmosphere.
the only negative point were that the wifi didnt work properly but that should be fixed soon and it was quite cold on the walkways.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I stayed here for a couple of nights in January 2012. It was great, the staff are very helpful, the rooms clean and comfortable and much better than Montgomery's YHA which was on a noisy street (constant clanging of the clock tower all night!). The showers and kitchen could be a little better but overall I thought it was very good. The location is a short walk to the city centre and Salamanca markets, there is a cafe (good coffee!) not far up the road and a health foods shop a couple of blocks away.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for three nights during our 3 month trip through Australia. Out of all the hostels we stayed in this was the worst and did not meet the expectations we had for this hostel. We stayed in a double room which was clean and served its purpose but I would not have been happy staying in this hostel in a dorm room.
It shouldnt, in my opinion, be called a backpackers hostel. 95% of the people staying here were middle aged men, using it as a ''halfway house'', who would often glare at you in the common areas. If i had been travelling alone or with a female friend(s) i would not have felt safe or comfortable here.
The kitchen wasnt as horrendous as I anticipated, being students but I would not have wanted to cook there any longer than we had to. The longer term residents seem to have a lack of respect for the facilities in the hostel, we saw examples of this in the Kitchen and the Bathroom. It is a shame as the staff here are excellent but have to put up with some very difficult guests. In all honesty we only continued our stay here because we had a double room, had free parking and free wi-fi.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Narrara Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Narrara Backpackers

Address: 88 Goulburn St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hobart
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Narrara Backpackers Hotel Hobart
Narrara Backpackers Hobart, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Narrara Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.