We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wine Bar, MONA

Wine Bar, MONA
655 main road, Hobart, Tasmania TAS 7011, Australia
(03)6277 9900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 459 Restaurants in Hobart
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Wine bar is at museum of old and new art in Hobart, tasmania
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
576 reviews 576 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 227 cities Reviews in 227 cities
2,709 helpful votes 2,709 helpful votes
“Terrific !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I was apart of a conference group & was very lucky to have lunch in the barrel and production room downstairs. Our group consisted of twenty people & we shared a scrumptious lunch of fresh oysters, rocket & blue cheese salad. For mains we shared some beautiful fresh vegetables & salads with slow cooked chicken. The cheese platter afterwards was very tasty too.

I later come back to Mona with my hubby & we found the Wine Bar Café was very welcoming after a long few hours strolling around the Art Gallery. The restaurant has a warm casual ambiance with a large bar & wooden table & chairs. The wine selection was excellent & so too was the menu especially the soup of the day.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    47
    7
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great selection, relaxed dining.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

The platters, deserts and great selection of beers and wines were perfect break in our museum experience. Oysters were so fresh and delicious we had to go back twice.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely end to a great day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Loved the feel of the Wine Bar @ Mona. Nice selction of food ranging from pate, cheese platter to something more. Huge selction of wines and ciders to sample from local and international producers. Great outdoor area if weather permits to view the roosters and chickens!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great wine and fabulous beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I know it's a wine bar but I'd heard so much about 'Moo Brew' that I had to try it while my wife got amongst the wine.

We also had a matching food platter hat was very nice.

Loved Mona and this just added to he experience!.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Pate to die for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Being such a fan of pate, I took others' advice and tried the chicken liver parfait with sourdough bread in the MONA Wine Bar. Delicious! Worth getting extra bread and downing a moo Brew or other ale of your choice. Adds to the whole MONA experience

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wine Bar, MONA also viewed

 

Been to Wine Bar, MONA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wine Bar, MONA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.