We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for hobart stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Woolmers Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Woolmers Apartments to your Saves list
Woolmers Apartments
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   123 - 127 Sandy Bay Road, Hobart, Tasmania 7005, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great for hobart stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed in hobart for a couple of nights during the summer and We rented a car so this place is very convenient. Free wi-fi for guests which is a welcome relief because most hotels charge for wifi. The parking lot is right in front if your unit if you rent a two-bedroom so it's very convenient. All in all, I highly recommend this place. Jeannette the receptionist was very gracious and made us feel very welcome.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    50
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
22
35
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I stayed here with my son in November 2013. Total value for money!! To begin with, the Airport-City Shuttle drops you across the road and picks you up from right outside the hotel. The hotel is located on Sandy Bay Road which is wonderful. Plus, everything is so handy - within walking distance. Bus stops, Woolworths, Coles, Post Office, Banks, Hairdressers, doctor's clinic and cafes. The hotel itself, although not a 5 star one, is neat, clean, well kept and family oriented. Very safe. My room was a studio apartment with two very comfortable single beds, a kitchenette, fridge, ironing facilities, tv, heater, a good size bathroom and a heater. Free wi-fi. The hotel also has a coin-operated laundry and dryer.This just made everything easier. All the staff members were polite, friendly, courteous, prompt and very helpful. We had arrived around 9:30am. The check -in time was 2 pm. When I requested the admin for an early check in, they tried to get the room ready asap and allowed me to check in at 12. It was a wonderful gesture on their part. Overall, a great place to stay in if you are visiting Hobart. I would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Just so you know, there are no lifts. So, choose one of the rooms on the ground floor level if you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Stayed here for a night as my family were showing me around the state.
We got a 2 bedroom ground floor apartment with kitchenette for $138 on a weekend night. Not bad.
Close enough to walk to the Hobart CBD/ Salamanca markets, but a sufficient amount of restaurants nearby if you can't be bothered!
Clean, enough space for us, comfy bed and decent shower.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, with spacious rooms. Very clean, and free wifi! The location I good, with surrounding take away and supermarkets, down the road. About a 10 min walk into the city centre. Good customer service. Definitely recommended, especially for families.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Nov 2013
We stayed at Woolmers for a week at the end of November, whilst the rooms are a little tired, they were very clean with plenty of room, good facilities ( TV, shower / bath, fridge, microwave, hotplate Etc ) and had a very large comfortable bed.

The position is really good with a 10 min walk to the City and well located in Sandy Bay for the local restaurant as well as the resorts further up Sandy Bay road

Great value for money, good standard of room service and very helpful staff - would stay here again

Room Tip: Rooms at he back further away from the road are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment, and overall we were happy. Compared to other accommodation in Hobart this was really good value. The rooms are very basic, with no luxuries at all. But they are clean, and the beds were comfortable. We were very close to the main road, and it was a bit noisy. This would be even more a problem in warm weather, with the windows open. However, it is a 15 minute walk to Salamanca, and there are two supermarkets and lots of cafes and restaurants only a few minutes walk in the other direction. Given the price, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Woolmers is in a great location, close to Battery Point and the city centre. Its an easy walk of 10 minutes walk to Salamanca Place one way or to Coles Supermarket in the other direction.
The room was clean, great shower and bath, plenty of space and comfortable bed, plus great value for money. What more can you ask for.

Arrived late at night and used the courtesy phone provided outside reception, the friendly person on the phone explained how to find the keys. Easy as.

Would highly recommend if you want somewhere in Hobart that provides value for money and is close to all the attractions.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woolmers Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woolmers Apartments

Address: 123 - 127 Sandy Bay Road, Hobart, Tasmania 7005, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hobart
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Woolmers Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woolmers offers studio double, studio twin & two bedroom, self contained apartment accommodation in Hobart's habourside suburb of Sandy Bay. Our self contained apartments offer good value accommodation with the flexibility to cater for yourself. Each apartment has: Kitchen facilities FREE off street parking FREE cable TV FREE WI-FI internet LCD televisions Direct dial telephones Continental breakfast packs available from reception for only $3.50 Per person Woolmers is located in Hobart's fashionable suburb of Sandy Bay & is only minutes from the city centre, the lively waterfront, popular Wrest Point Casino, famous Salamanca Place and historic Battery Point. Our Hobart accommodation is close to restaurants, antique shops and craft stores. Woolmers Apartments is only minutes by car to the city, MONA - Hobart's fabulous Museum of Old & New Art, Wrest Point Casino as well as all of Hobart's conference venues & attractions. Woolmers Apartments is 2 km from Hobart's city centre and is in close walking distance to Salamanca Market, Hobart's waterfront precinct, University of Tasmania & the city centre. We offer great value, self contained accommodation which gives you the flexibility to come and go as you wish and will make your visit to Hobart as stress-free and easy as can be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Woolmers Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leisure Inn Woolmers Hotel Hobart
Woolmers Hotel Hobart
Woolmers Motel Hobart
Woolmers Apartments Hobart, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woolmers Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.