We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, very friendly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Salamanca Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Salamanca Inn to your Saves list
Salamanca Inn
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Gladstone Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Perth Aust
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great staff, very friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This was our second stay at this hotel, we had a disabled king room this time and it was great, big bathroom and shower. Water pressure was dreadful. Great inhouse movies although they did not run to time. Staff were just as friendly and helpful as our last visit and the location is brilliant, just up from the famous Salamanca Markets. Only negative was someone taking our clothes from the dryer in the laundry. Unfortunately it does state leave at your own risk and we lost a load of underwear as no one returned it before we checked out. We did leave our contact details but have not heard anything. Although this is not the hotels fault it was disappointing, so if staying here be careful about using the laundry. Made the stay even more expensive. Still hoping it might get returned to us before we leave Tassie.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    134
    21
    5
    1
See reviews for
75
115
4
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

It is as good as it looks. Nicely renovated with all the mod-cons. Parking was very handy given you can leave the car and walk to most places from the hotel. The kitchen was unexpected for the price. So many places to eat and browse on the doorstep. Easy to chill out. Staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Big Room with massive TV too. $179 inc hot breakfast and parking in Salamanca is good value. Good work desk and full kitchen too. Heated bathroom and tile floors was great. Only faults were no foxtel and bed is on the hard side. Staff are friendly too.

Room Tip: Any room i'd say
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We had the most delightful weekend in Hobart.
The hotel staff were extremely helpful. Our room was so comfortable, spacious & super clean.
The restaurant & staff were of the highest quality! Cuisine was incredible; the restaurant was so busy, yet the staff were still so attentive.
We're looking forward to returning before 2013 is over!
We would highly recommend a stay here.... It has it all!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My wife, young Daughter and I stayed at the Salamanca Inn in Aug 2013. We had never been to Hobart or Tassy before and from the website this hotel looked good.

We were not disappointed, the rooms have been renovated from their previous 1980's decor and are fresh and large. Our room had a kitchen and large combined living and bedroom area that was quite large. There was no view from our room but that was fine.

The staff were very friendly and efficient at check in and with questions we had for them. The restaurant was very good and priced quite well, the food was presented very well and came out in a reasonable amount of time for the amount of people eating at the time. The decor of the restaurant is warm and inviting with a modern touch.

A full hot breakfast was included in our rate and was excellent, eggs coked to order as was the bacon. The staff were always friendly and apart from the young male waiter who insisted on calling me "Matey" I cannot fault the dinning experience.

As for location its literally 50m from Salamanca pl where you have a large choice of pubs and restaurants. See other reviews. The Salamanca markets were excellent with lots of variety, there was lots of wood products including excellent carvings, it is a must see.

My only fault with the Hotel is the "Heated pool", as its advertised, yes it is heated but its not warm, the weather was tops of 16 deg c when we stayed and the pool was warmer than that but when you dip a toe it was still cold, as was the spa. So yes the pool is warmer than the outside ambient but its still cold, FYI.

Overall we will stay at the Salamanca Inn when we visit beautiful Tasy again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Upon arrival at the front desk we were impressed. Great service with a happy and efficient receptionist. Arrived Saturday morning early and the room was ready for a few hours, great because we didn't expect it to be ready until 2pm! Walked out the door and the wonderful Salamanca Markets were on. After spending a few hours there buying lots of produce, we went to our room. Surprised, big room, split beds (had to pay extra for that as it was a girls weekend away). There was even a basic kitchenette, good sized fridge. The location is perfect, close to everything. We hired a car, and the car park was next to the hotel at no extra cost. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in July. Had fantastic room, not a great view but still something to look at. Had the king suite and it was huge. Biggest plus was the bathroom floor is heated!! Good car park available and breakfast included was excellent! Only place we'll stay from now on, 30 second walk and you're in the heart of Salamanca!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Salamanca Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salamanca Inn

Address: 10 Gladstone Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Hobart
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#9 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#10 Business Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Salamanca Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salamanca Inn is a 4.5 star all suite hotel located on the doorstep of the iconic Salamanca Place on the colourful waterfront of Hobart. Indulge in the historical ambience of this area, lined with plane trees and 1830s sandstone Georgian warehouses converted to Hobart’s best restaurants, cafes, bars, galleries & speciality shops. All of Hobart’s famous landmarks are within a short stroll of the hotel including, historical Sullivans Cove & Battery Point, Salamanca Market (Saturday only), St David’s Park, Parliament House, and the city centre. Salamanca Inn offers the intimacy of a boutique hotel, but with the facilities of a much larger establishment. This includes the licensed bar and restaurant, 24 hour reception, swimming pool & spa, dry cleaning service, undercover & secure parking, laundry, wireless broadband internet, conference rooms and secretarial services. All suites offer a superior level of comfort featuring contemporary spacious open plan living area, Fully Equipped kitchen, luxurious bathroom, beautiful Tasmanian Oak and leather furnishings, Tasmanian Artwork, full size desk and new release movies. Two bedroom suites offer a mezzanine floor and private balcony. One Bedroom suites contain personal computers with access to wireless broadband and 46 inch LCD TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Salamanca Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salamanca Hotel Hobart
Salamanca Inn Hobart, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salamanca Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.