We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its a had a Reno!! Great location and staff!! Heated pool??” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salamanca Inn

Save Saved
You added Salamanca Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Salamanca Inn
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Gladstone Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 47 hotels in Hobart
Sydney
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Its a had a Reno!! Great location and staff!! Heated pool??”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My wife, young Daughter and I stayed at the Salamanca Inn in Aug 2013. We had never been to Hobart or Tassy before and from the website this hotel looked good.

We were not disappointed, the rooms have been renovated from their previous 1980's decor and are fresh and large. Our room had a kitchen and large combined living and bedroom area that was quite large. There was no view from our room but that was fine.

The staff were very friendly and efficient at check in and with questions we had for them. The restaurant was very good and priced quite well, the food was presented very well and came out in a reasonable amount of time for the amount of people eating at the time. The decor of the restaurant is warm and inviting with a modern touch.

A full hot breakfast was included in our rate and was excellent, eggs coked to order as was the bacon. The staff were always friendly and apart from the young male waiter who insisted on calling me "Matey" I cannot fault the dinning experience.

As for location its literally 50m from Salamanca pl where you have a large choice of pubs and restaurants. See other reviews. The Salamanca markets were excellent with lots of variety, there was lots of wood products including excellent carvings, it is a must see.

My only fault with the Hotel is the "Heated pool", as its advertised, yes it is heated but its not warm, the weather was tops of 16 deg c when we stayed and the pool was warmer than that but when you dip a toe it was still cold, as was the spa. So yes the pool is warmer than the outside ambient but its still cold, FYI.

Overall we will stay at the Salamanca Inn when we visit beautiful Tasy again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    122
    19
    5
    1
See reviews for
67
105
4
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Upon arrival at the front desk we were impressed. Great service with a happy and efficient receptionist. Arrived Saturday morning early and the room was ready for a few hours, great because we didn't expect it to be ready until 2pm! Walked out the door and the wonderful Salamanca Markets were on. After spending a few hours there buying lots of produce, we went to our room. Surprised, big room, split beds (had to pay extra for that as it was a girls weekend away). There was even a basic kitchenette, good sized fridge. The location is perfect, close to everything. We hired a car, and the car park was next to the hotel at no extra cost. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in July. Had fantastic room, not a great view but still something to look at. Had the king suite and it was huge. Biggest plus was the bathroom floor is heated!! Good car park available and breakfast included was excellent! Only place we'll stay from now on, 30 second walk and you're in the heart of Salamanca!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Our family, my husband and I , 14 year old son and 11 year old daughter, enjoyed our stay in a 3 bedroom apartment. Quiet, comfortable, clean and absolutely no complaints. Walking distance to the wonderful shops at Salamanca, and to fantastic cafes and eateries. We also enjoyed a short walk into the city. Parking was secure and no problems. Although the apartment was advertised as having no view, from ours we could see Mount Wellington and some of the city. An enjoyable stay - we shall be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We chose the Salamanca Inn primarily for the location. Arriving on a Saturday morning for a short weekend away, we wanted to drop our bags, go straight to the markets and have breakfast without any delays.

The hotel met that requirement perfectly. Check in was effortless, they stored our bags, and the training, politeness and efficiency of the staff we encountered on reception and elsewhere was second to none. The hotel is no more than 30 metres or so from the square, and a short walk to the water, ferries, etc.

We had a queen room on the first floor. The rooms were certainly spacious - lounge, large TV, small table to eat at. Furnishings (with the exception of the television) were more than adequate, but a little dated. The hotel is low rise, and I'm not sure that any of the rooms would have a great view. We looked over the neighbouring houses and garden, that was pleasant enough.

The swimming pool and spa wasn't really worth bothering with. Described as on the roof, it really has no aspect, view or style of any kind. There is a skylight over a small pool and spa. When we were there, the spa was full of teenagers taking selfies, so overall the experience didn't rate.

We had English Breakfast included. I'm used to English Breakfast as being a full breakfast, as distinguished from Continental. However, in the case of the Salamanca Inn the English Breakfast is actually a menu item, and doesn't entitle you to toast, cereal, or any other items from the buffet. This was a little odd.

If I was doing a weekend in Hobart again, I'd certainly consider the Salamanca Inn again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed in what was described as a deluxe 2 bedroom room apartment. At what is considered the high end for the tariff rates for comparable room configurations in Hobart for self contained accomodation this was best described as very dated in terms of the decor (80,s) the second bathroom flooded from the floor trap and the dishwasher did not work and we ended up with an extension cord running out of the kitchen cupboard across to another power point, very untidy given overnight rates. Additionally there were strong chlorine fumes from the down stairs gym pool.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitzroy
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

It's a very bland business hotel but it was really good to stay in. We just booked a standard room but it was really large with a well equipped kitchenette. The bed is at one end of the room and there is a really comfortable couch and chair as well as a reasonable sized dining table and chairs.
The bathroom is large and has heated tiles on the floor. The room was really quiet and warm. The location is right in the middle of the Salamanca area so very handy to the cafes, the waterfront and the market in Salamanca place. Th e receptionists were extremely friendly and helpful and were quite happy to give us a late check out. There's a small pool on the roof. I don't think any of the rooms would have much of a view but it's pretty easy to go for a walk and see the scenery.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Salamanca Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salamanca Inn

Address: 10 Gladstone Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Hobart
#7 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#12 Business Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Salamanca Inn 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salamanca Inn is a 4.5 star all suite hotel located on the doorstep of the iconic Salamanca Place on the colourful waterfront of Hobart. Indulge in the historical ambience of this area, lined with plane trees and 1830s sandstone Georgian warehouses converted to Hobart’s best restaurants, cafes, bars, galleries & speciality shops. All of Hobart’s famous landmarks are within a short stroll of the hotel including, historical Sullivans Cove & Battery Point, Salamanca Market (Saturday only), St David’s Park, Parliament House, and the city centre. Salamanca Inn offers the intimacy of a boutique hotel, but with the facilities of a much larger establishment. This includes the licensed bar and restaurant, 24 hour reception, swimming pool & spa, dry cleaning service, undercover & secure parking, laundry, wireless broadband internet, conference rooms and secretarial services. All suites offer a superior level of comfort featuring contemporary spacious open plan living area, Fully Equipped kitchen, luxurious bathroom, beautiful Tasmanian Oak and leather furnishings, Tasmanian Artwork, full size desk and new release movies. Two bedroom suites offer a mezzanine floor and private balcony. One Bedroom suites contain personal computers with access to wireless broadband and 46 inch LCD TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Salamanca Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salamanca Hotel Hobart
Salamanca Inn Hobart, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salamanca Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.