We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, excellent hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salamanca Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Salamanca Inn to your Saves list
Salamanca Inn
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Gladstone Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent location, excellent hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in July. Had fantastic room, not a great view but still something to look at. Had the king suite and it was huge. Biggest plus was the bathroom floor is heated!! Good car park available and breakfast included was excellent! Only place we'll stay from now on, 30 second walk and you're in the heart of Salamanca!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    127
    19
    5
    1
See reviews for
71
110
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Devonport, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Our family, my husband and I , 14 year old son and 11 year old daughter, enjoyed our stay in a 3 bedroom apartment. Quiet, comfortable, clean and absolutely no complaints. Walking distance to the wonderful shops at Salamanca, and to fantastic cafes and eateries. We also enjoyed a short walk into the city. Parking was secure and no problems. Although the apartment was advertised as having no view, from ours we could see Mount Wellington and some of the city. An enjoyable stay - we shall be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We chose the Salamanca Inn primarily for the location. Arriving on a Saturday morning for a short weekend away, we wanted to drop our bags, go straight to the markets and have breakfast without any delays.

The hotel met that requirement perfectly. Check in was effortless, they stored our bags, and the training, politeness and efficiency of the staff we encountered on reception and elsewhere was second to none. The hotel is no more than 30 metres or so from the square, and a short walk to the water, ferries, etc.

We had a queen room on the first floor. The rooms were certainly spacious - lounge, large TV, small table to eat at. Furnishings (with the exception of the television) were more than adequate, but a little dated. The hotel is low rise, and I'm not sure that any of the rooms would have a great view. We looked over the neighbouring houses and garden, that was pleasant enough.

The swimming pool and spa wasn't really worth bothering with. Described as on the roof, it really has no aspect, view or style of any kind. There is a skylight over a small pool and spa. When we were there, the spa was full of teenagers taking selfies, so overall the experience didn't rate.

We had English Breakfast included. I'm used to English Breakfast as being a full breakfast, as distinguished from Continental. However, in the case of the Salamanca Inn the English Breakfast is actually a menu item, and doesn't entitle you to toast, cereal, or any other items from the buffet. This was a little odd.

If I was doing a weekend in Hobart again, I'd certainly consider the Salamanca Inn again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed in what was described as a deluxe 2 bedroom room apartment. At what is considered the high end for the tariff rates for comparable room configurations in Hobart for self contained accomodation this was best described as very dated in terms of the decor (80,s) the second bathroom flooded from the floor trap and the dishwasher did not work and we ended up with an extension cord running out of the kitchen cupboard across to another power point, very untidy given overnight rates. Additionally there were strong chlorine fumes from the down stairs gym pool.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitzroy
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

It's a very bland business hotel but it was really good to stay in. We just booked a standard room but it was really large with a well equipped kitchenette. The bed is at one end of the room and there is a really comfortable couch and chair as well as a reasonable sized dining table and chairs.
The bathroom is large and has heated tiles on the floor. The room was really quiet and warm. The location is right in the middle of the Salamanca area so very handy to the cafes, the waterfront and the market in Salamanca place. Th e receptionists were extremely friendly and helpful and were quite happy to give us a late check out. There's a small pool on the roof. I don't think any of the rooms would have much of a view but it's pretty easy to go for a walk and see the scenery.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is its location: it's in the middle of Salamanca and is literally steps to the Saturday Salamanca market. It's also walking distance to Battery Point and the ferries. The rooms are quite spacious and the bathroom is quite clean and spacious as well. That said, their furniture could do with a bit of updating, which is the only downside for me. The front desk staff was very helpful as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and it was THE best location. Easy to walk to Jackman and McRoss (best patisserie), Salamanca markets, ferry to MONA, TMAG, a range of restaurants. The staff (especially Michelle on the front desk) were so helpful and friendly. The kids loved the indoor heated pool and spa and thought that was one of the best things ever. We stayed in the split level room for four and it had great views and was really comfortable. A very well appointed kitchenette made it very easy as well. Parking was easy and free - in the hotel carpark. A great stay!

Room Tip: It was great fun to have the split level room. The bathroom is on the top level but that is no drama...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Salamanca Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salamanca Inn

Address: 10 Gladstone Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Hobart
#7 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#11 Business Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Salamanca Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salamanca Inn is a 4.5 star all suite hotel located on the doorstep of the iconic Salamanca Place on the colourful waterfront of Hobart. Indulge in the historical ambience of this area, lined with plane trees and 1830s sandstone Georgian warehouses converted to Hobart’s best restaurants, cafes, bars, galleries & speciality shops. All of Hobart’s famous landmarks are within a short stroll of the hotel including, historical Sullivans Cove & Battery Point, Salamanca Market (Saturday only), St David’s Park, Parliament House, and the city centre. Salamanca Inn offers the intimacy of a boutique hotel, but with the facilities of a much larger establishment. This includes the licensed bar and restaurant, 24 hour reception, swimming pool & spa, dry cleaning service, undercover & secure parking, laundry, wireless broadband internet, conference rooms and secretarial services. All suites offer a superior level of comfort featuring contemporary spacious open plan living area, Fully Equipped kitchen, luxurious bathroom, beautiful Tasmanian Oak and leather furnishings, Tasmanian Artwork, full size desk and new release movies. Two bedroom suites offer a mezzanine floor and private balcony. One Bedroom suites contain personal computers with access to wireless broadband and 46 inch LCD TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Salamanca Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salamanca Hotel Hobart
Salamanca Inn Hobart, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salamanca Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.