We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salamanca Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Salamanca Inn to your Saves list
Salamanca Inn
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Gladstone Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Brisbane
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed for a week at The Salamanca Inn and would definitely recommend it. The location was brilliant..an easy walk to all the Salamanca attractions, restaurants, Battery Point, the docks to watch the Sydney-Hobart boats come in etc. A 15 minute walk to the city. The room was light, airy and clean. A great little kitchen to do our own breakfasts. Complimentary washing machines and dryers (and detergent - a nice touch!) on each floor. A heated pool for the kids to let off some steam. Staff were friendly and helpful. Not the most comfortable bed, a bit squishy, but that is probably the onlysmall negative for us. A Tasmanian wine or two and you hardly notice!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    134
    21
    5
    1
See reviews for
75
115
4
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in a studio appartment in December 2011. The room was large, recently renovated & tasteful. Service was wonderful - early checkin & late checkout. We could walk everywhere & were minutes from Salamanca Place & town. The breakfast was averege but was included in the tariff. Definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

We only stayed for one night but wished it was longer! The staff were friendly and attended to our every need. and the service was exemplorary. We sampled room service which was well presented and as good as eating in a restaurant. Comfortable beds and quality fittings in the room. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

We stayed in a queen suite early December. The layout of the room is good and the kitchen well equipped. Generally quite clean although an overhaul of the stained leather sofa, coffee and dining tables, and an old looking bed cover are urgently needed. The location is simply great and is just a couple of minutes walk to the Saturday fair, restaurants and pubs nearby. Service at the facility was generally good and front office staff, polite and helpful. No complaints, overall.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, NSW, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

Recently stayed for 4 nights in November in a studio apartment and was very impressed with both the location and rooms. As we were there on a Saturday it’s an excellent location for the markets with lots of great restaurants just on its doorstep. The apartment was ultra-modern with lots of room, beautiful full kitchen with dishwasher, leather lounges and flat screen TV.
The deal included a hot breakfast daily and it was large and very tasty, with excellent and friendly service. Our stay in at Hobart at the Salamanca inn was defiantly one of the highlights of our Tassie holiday.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

At a meeting I attended, a request for no uncooked cheese was requested. Not prepared, after waiting for more than half an hour, starving and having shakes and agitated, finally got a single sandwich, the cook accused me of being rude to his waitress for saying I was really starving!! Not a good experience!!

Room Tip: Dont order meals, you might be waiting a while, then be abused by staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

I was quite impressed with the Salamanca Inn on a recent visit. The rooms are clean and spacious, the staff warm and friendly. The hotel is located only steps away from wonderful shops and restaurants. Being there on a Saturday provided an opportunity to visit Salamanca Market and it wasn't far to carry home our finds. I would certainly stay at this property again and I would recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Salamanca Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salamanca Inn

Address: 10 Gladstone Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Hobart
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#9 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#10 Business Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Salamanca Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salamanca Inn is a 4.5 star all suite hotel located on the doorstep of the iconic Salamanca Place on the colourful waterfront of Hobart. Indulge in the historical ambience of this area, lined with plane trees and 1830s sandstone Georgian warehouses converted to Hobart’s best restaurants, cafes, bars, galleries & speciality shops. All of Hobart’s famous landmarks are within a short stroll of the hotel including, historical Sullivans Cove & Battery Point, Salamanca Market (Saturday only), St David’s Park, Parliament House, and the city centre. Salamanca Inn offers the intimacy of a boutique hotel, but with the facilities of a much larger establishment. This includes the licensed bar and restaurant, 24 hour reception, swimming pool & spa, dry cleaning service, undercover & secure parking, laundry, wireless broadband internet, conference rooms and secretarial services. All suites offer a superior level of comfort featuring contemporary spacious open plan living area, Fully Equipped kitchen, luxurious bathroom, beautiful Tasmanian Oak and leather furnishings, Tasmanian Artwork, full size desk and new release movies. Two bedroom suites offer a mezzanine floor and private balcony. One Bedroom suites contain personal computers with access to wireless broadband and 46 inch LCD TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Salamanca Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salamanca Hotel Hobart
Salamanca Inn Hobart, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salamanca Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.