We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic, excellent location and excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lenna of Hobart

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Lenna of Hobart to your Saves list
Lenna of Hobart
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Runnymede St | Battery Point, Hobart, Tasmania 7004, Australia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Romantic, excellent location and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We spent three days in Hobart recently and have done so many times, however this was the first time we had stayed at Lenna and I ask myself; why hadn't we stayed here before? It was gorgeous! We had the king suite which had great views, was roomy and very comfortable. The building itself is heritage listed, which makes for a romantic and ambient atmosphere. Lenna is located very well; within walking distance of the main attractions of Hobart itself in Battery Point; the waterfront, the main attractions including the Salamanca market, the museums, the shops and a large array of restaurants , old world pubs, and fish & chipperies. Art and craft is in abundance here in the historic building nearby housing original artisan's shops. The hotel is located on a steep hill, so you need your walking shoes if you plan to walk into the town, which only takes a couple of minutes, but then Hobart is hilly! The only criticism of Lenna, is that there were no pictures on the walls in our room, which could have added to the ambience. Also, the lift broke down when we were there and someone was stuck in it!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    85
    22
    5
    3
See reviews for
27
99
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Very nice room, good facilities, free parking, close to Salamanca. We had a very pleasant stay, All staff were very nice and helpful , the room was very comfortable , clean and very well furnishes- up to date décor.

Room Tip: Many different rooms and prices, ring the front desk and discuss your requirements- staff are very f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and i have just spent 4 nights at Lenna of Hobart Hotel.
We found this a most convenient location right at one en of Salemanca Place. The rooms were spacious, well appointed and very clean. For a little over $200 per night it was good value for money.

Room Tip: We liked the ground floor for easy access to the street and parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear GrahamMcGregor,

It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay here at Lenna, thank you for posting a review.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Hobart.

Kind regards,

Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A stone's throw from Salamanca market, and stroll to Battery Point, beautiful old grounds with large clean rooms. Great service. Half the rooms face out over the river. 20min taxi costs ~$55 from airport.
Rooms however have thin doors as we were next to the lift and could hear it "dinging" away, similarly could hear other guests walking outside the door. Windows also similarly not sound proofed well with free entertainment of drunken singing on a Saturday night not really appreciated.

Room Tip: Ask for harbour facing room (nice views but noisier).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear travellingurolfellow,

Thanks for taking the time to review us.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay however we are sorry you found the rooms to be noisy. Last year we installed double glazed windows in all rooms which has greatly decreased noise however our central location near restaurants and nightlife means sometimes you do get the odd noisy group of people around.

We are glad you enjoyed your Harbour View Room and were able to take the time to look around the Lenna mansion and grounds, it really is something special.

Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to see you again.

Kind regards,

Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nicely situated at the end of Salamanca hotel. Nice, spacious rooms, friendly staff: what more do you need? We liked this hotel that is close to the lovely Streets of Battery Point and close to the harbour.

Room Tip: We had a room with harbour view, which we would recommend!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hi AmsterdamEnjoyer,

Thanks for your review.

It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay at Lenna. With its quaint old cottages and narrow streets Battery Point is certainly one of my favourite parts of Hobart so I am pleased to hear you enjoyed exploring the area.

Hopefully we will see you next time you are in Tasmania.

Kind regards,

Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights for our 12th wedding anniversary. Gorgeous hotel, grounds, friendly wonferful staff who surprised us with a bottle of wine. Our room was huge, clean and lovely. Thankyou Lenna! Will definitely be back!

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this review, 1 week ago
HI Linda D,

It’s lovely to hear you chose Lenna for your wedding anniversary and I am pleased we were able to help make it a memorable one!

Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,

Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for 3 nights in the Penthouse. It was stunning, the view has got to be one of the best in Hobart and it is really beautifully appointed, everything we needed was there. We were reluctant to go out to explore the sights even though the location puts you right in the middle of the action in Salamanca. The staff were friendly and prompt with any of our requests, check in and check out was seamless. We loved our stay and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hi 58Lyn,

Thank you for reviewing our luxurious Lenna Penthouses.

It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay and were able to make the most of all the apartment has to offer. We would have to agree that the views are hard to beat, especially with the Penthouses floor to ceiling windows and wrap around balcony. I am glad you found everything you needed, we certainly try to ensure that this is the case with continuous upgrades and improvements to the amenities.

Thanks again for posting a review, we look forward to welcoming you back next time.

Kind regards,

Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lenna of Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lenna of Hobart

Address: 20 Runnymede St | Battery Point, Hobart, Tasmania 7004, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hobart
#9 Business Hotel in Hobart
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#10 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lenna of Hobart 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on Hobart's waterfront amidst the colour of Sullivan's Cove and historic Battery Point and just a stones throw away from fashionable Salamanca Place and city centre. The stately National Trust mansion was built in 1874 whilst the accommodation wing, adjacent to the mansion provides a welcoming combination of traditional elegance and modern facilities. The guest accommodation wing comprises fifty spacious en-suite hotel rooms offering well-appointed living and superior comfort facilities including queen size beds with most rooms providing wonderful views of the magnificent harbour, majestic Mount Wellington or surrounding parklands and Hobart city. The Lenna King suites offer elegance and space overlooking the harbour & Constitution Dock. Atop there are two deluxe rooftop penthouse apartments which are the ultimate luxury indulgence with 360 degree views of Hobart. The luxurious and exclusive Lenna Penthouses undeniably represent the ultimate indulgence in apartment living. Situated on Salamanca Place and overlooking Hobart's picturesque waterfront and the many lifestyle attractions, including markets, craft shops, cafes, restaurants, art galleries and the historic precinct of Battery Point. The alluring 360-degree panoramic views of Hobart's harbour and mountains from the rooftop apartments are simply stunning. They feature 2 king bedrooms and 2 bathrooms with the added flexibility of a third bedroom/living area of 35 square metres if required. The two apartments occupy the top floor of Lenna and can be offered together to form a spacious 5 bedroom 4 bathroom residence with an expansive and luxurious indoor and outdoor living space of 430 square metres that is exclusively yours. Lenna Penthouses offer state of the art furnishings, comforts and technology you would expect of a superior five-star plus apartment. All rooms are fully air-conditioned with individual climate control for each room. To find Hobart's best dining experience look no further than Alexanders Restaurant, winner of many food and wine awards. Alexanders provides a modern international menu using the finest Tasmanian produce complemented by an extensive wine list featuring Tasmanian wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lenna of Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lenna Of Hobart Hotel Hobart
Lenna Hotel Hobart
Hobart Lenna Hotel
Lenna Of Hobart Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lenna of Hobart, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.