We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful building, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lenna of Hobart

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lenna of Hobart to your Saves list
Lenna of Hobart
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Runnymede St | Battery Point, Hobart, Tasmania 7004, Australia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful building, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I stayed here for business on my first trip to Hobart and Tasmania for that matter! And was amazed by the untouched beauty of the old buildings in Salamanca and the hotel.

The staff were friendly and most helpful! The main building is well maintained with a great atmosphere, however the area where the rooms are leaves something to be desired for. It is seriously out dated and looks like it stepped out of a cheesy old movie from the 80s.

The rooms are spacious with nice big windows and gorgeous views. With no air con (that I could find) the room was quite hot when I arrived due to the low sun blasting through the windows. I ended up opening the door for a while which is not ideal, but it worked.

I ordered room service for a few nights and found the serves to be large and reasonably well priced, not to mention extremely delicious.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Hi ItShoudldBClean,

Thanks for the review and for your kind words.

I am glad you enjoyed staying with us here at Lenna. Thank you for your feedback mentioning our staff; we really pride ourselves on our level of customer service so I will be sure to pass your comments on.

The Lenna mansion is certainly a beautiful old building. It was built in 1874 and is where you find reception, Alexanders Restaurant, the Chandelier Bar, our function rooms and McGregor’s lookout. The newer wing, where all the accommodation rooms are located, was built in the 70’s when the residence was converted into a hotel. Now that we have finished refurbishing all the rooms we have plans to start upgrading all other areas of the hotel next year.

Our rooms are certainly large for hotel-style rooms and although we do not have air conditioning, we do have double glazed windows which can be opened to let the fresh air in. We also have fans in all rooms to help with air circulation on the hotter Hobart days.

Thanks for the feedback regarding the high quality and value of your room service meals. This menu is relatively new so it is always good to hear what people think of it.

Hopefully we will see you again next time you are in Hobart.

Kind regards,

Florence S
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    82
    18
    3
    2
See reviews for
35
93
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

This hotel is central to everything and the quality of the hotel is excellent. We'd highly recommend the doublt-decker bus trip that takes in a snapshot of Hobart and it's surrounds - great value for money as the ticket is valid for 3 days.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Hi Ann H,

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I would have to agree that Lenna’s location is excellent, right next to Salamanca Place and the waterfront area, and the double-decker bus stop is just around the corner!

Thank you for your positive feedback and we look forward to seeing you next time.

Kind regards,

Florence S
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Nice location, nice room. But the hotel was a bit cool - not embracing. I guess a bit too officious for me. The building is quite stately. The location was handy for tours from the harbor as well as walks in the city.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Gumbydoc,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for your positive comments regarding our rooms and location. It is good to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

The Lenna mansion was once a private residence, therefore it lacks the large, open spaces of some other hotels and instead has a more homely feel to it. I am sorry that you found the hotel to be cool and officious; we pride ourselves on being a small, boutique hotel with a warm, inviting atmosphere and excellent customer service.

Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to see you next time you are in Hobart.

Kind regards,

Florence S
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Noise transfer crazy , you can hear next doors tv , bathroom noise , doors shutting very unpleasant such a shame for a such a wonderful outlook and quiet position in Hobart .I tried the restaurant but it was a cold night and the restaurant was cold , asked for fire to be turned on ending not being tunred on properly and a gas smell developed , so it was turned off and sat through dinner in a jumper jacket and scarf .......Oysters were great , fish disappointing over cooked , poor vegetable quality and potatoes with skins and eyes left on , a same has I have noramlly had very good food in Hobart .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear ausj13,

Thanks very much for your feedback and we apologise that you didn’t have an enjoyable stay at Lenna of Hobart.

Our apologies for the noise you experienced from the room next door and for the impact this had on your stay. We generally find the hotel a quiet place and take a proactive response to any noise issues in the hotel to ensure a comfortable stay for all guests. Your comments have been addressed with our maintenance department and we have already taken steps to prevent the noise from doors closing.

We were sorry to read that you didn’t enjoy your visit to Alexander’s restaurant. We generally receive very positive feedback about our restaurant and over the last few months we have made a number of changes to our food and beverage department in order to further enhance our operation. We have raised the comments with our Executive Chef and will look at reviewing the items you have mentioned particularly with our summer menu due to start in a few weeks. Unfortunately during your visit we did have an issue with our gas heating and this has since been rectified, we apologise for this inconvenience.

Again, we thank you for you feedback. If you wish to discuss any of these issues further please feel free to contact me directly. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Florence S
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I've been staying at the Lenna a few times each year now for the past 15 years or so. That's an indication of my level of satisfaction with this lovely hotel set in a beautiful part of the lovely city of Hobart. Excellent staff, great views over the harbour, stylish, elegant rooms (recently refurbished, and a little more classy than your typical hotel/motel room) and convenient location are just some of the features the Lenna has going for it. Whilst being located a short 15 minute walk to the city (not the best feature of Hobart anyway), the Lenna is just around the corner from the historic Salamanca Place with its Saturday markets, great shopping and lots of restaurants and bars, and is adjacent to the harbour with Constitution Dock, interesting scenery, more restaurants and the takeoff point for many of the local tours.
You'll love it!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Hi TerryY43,

Thank you for the great review!

I am so pleased that you keep coming back to Lenna of Hobart after all these years. It is nice to get some feedback from someone who has been staying as long as you have.

I will certainly pass all your comments on to the team I look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Florence S
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Lenna in Hobart. Great location just aroung the corner from the Salamanca Market. Enjoyed the local pubs along the strip. In particular Jack Greens - it was a favourite.
The hotel staff were very helpful and check in and out not a problem.
Would recommend this hotel. We did have a great deal through wotif.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Hi doc2293,

Thank you for your review.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Lenna and made the most of our excellent location. We always try to provide the highest level of customer service so thank you for your comment regarding our staff, I will be sure to pass this on to the team!

Next time you come to Hobart remember to check out our website or give us a call as we always offer the best deals direct.

Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Florence S
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights 17th and 18th October when visiting Hobart and the MONA gallery. We’d made a last-minute booking and Hobart was busy with conferences, so there was only a standard Park View room available. But it was lovely – refurbished, quiet, comfortable bed, gorgeous bathroom with amazing heated tile floor, and we had fast, free Wi Fi in our room. We were given vouchers for 20% off in the restaurant, but didn’t eat there because there were so many other choices around nearby Salamanca Place and Battery Point. This is a beautiful historic main building, with the rooms in a more modern wing. The gardens and park at the back are a restful oasis so close to the Salamanca Saturday market. I booked online direct with the hotel and received an email confirmation immediately, and an email follow up and welcome the day before our trip. This was good value for money, a lovely restful stay for 2 nights and very welcoming

Room Tip: Standard Park View room was away from street and car park, so very quiet. All rooms have been refurb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Hi MelbourneWriter,

Thanks again for taking the time to write us a review.

It is always great to receive such positive feedback from people who enjoy staying with us.

We certainly hope to see you next time you are in Hobart, and maybe next time you can try Alexanders Restaurant too!

Kind regards,

Florence S
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lenna of Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lenna of Hobart

Address: 20 Runnymede St | Battery Point, Hobart, Tasmania 7004, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Hobart
#9 Business Hotel in Hobart
#9 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lenna of Hobart 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on Hobart's waterfront amidst the colour of Sullivan's Cove and historic Battery Point and just a stones throw away from fashionable Salamanca Place and city centre. The stately National Trust mansion was built in 1874 whilst the accommodation wing, adjacent to the mansion provides a welcoming combination of traditional elegance and modern facilities. The guest accommodation wing comprises fifty spacious en-suite hotel rooms offering well-appointed living and superior comfort facilities including queen size beds with most rooms providing wonderful views of the magnificent harbour, majestic Mount Wellington or surrounding parklands and Hobart city. The Lenna King suites offer elegance and space overlooking the harbour & Constitution Dock. Atop there are two deluxe rooftop penthouse apartments which are the ultimate luxury indulgence with 360 degree views of Hobart. The luxurious and exclusive Lenna Penthouses undeniably represent the ultimate indulgence in apartment living. Situated on Salamanca Place and overlooking Hobart's picturesque waterfront and the many lifestyle attractions, including markets, craft shops, cafes, restaurants, art galleries and the historic precinct of Battery Point. The alluring 360-degree panoramic views of Hobart's harbour and mountains from the rooftop apartments are simply stunning. They feature 2 king bedrooms and 2 bathrooms with the added flexibility of a third bedroom/living area of 35 square metres if required. The two apartments occupy the top floor of Lenna and can be offered together to form a spacious 5 bedroom 4 bathroom residence with an expansive and luxurious indoor and outdoor living space of 430 square metres that is exclusively yours. Lenna Penthouses offer state of the art furnishings, comforts and technology you would expect of a superior five-star plus apartment. All rooms are fully air-conditioned with individual climate control for each room. To find Hobart's best dining experience look no further than Alexanders Restaurant, winner of many food and wine awards. Alexanders provides a modern international menu using the finest Tasmanian produce complemented by an extensive wine list featuring Tasmanian wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Lenna of Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lenna Of Hobart Hotel Hobart
Lenna Hotel Hobart
Hobart Lenna Hotel
Lenna Of Hobart Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lenna of Hobart, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.