We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical and elegant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hadley's Orient Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hadley's Orient Hotel to your Saves list
Hadley's Orient Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Murray Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Historical and elegant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Staff were so helpful and welcoming. We stayed for 5 days, and had grabbed the special prepaid rate with breakfast and wifi. Hotel is a classic example of the historical beauty of Hobart. In the middle of the CBD, 5 min walk to everything. The rooms are elegantly furnished, and serviced with pride. Our room had a huge pillow top bed and the size of the room was great for quiet pit stops in between tourist activities. The hotel is so beautiful, you could spend a whole day just exploring the architecture. The restaurant was very reasonably priced and being in Hobart, the food was just beautiful.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    55
    25
    14
    4
See reviews for
14
62
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in December 2014. The hotel is from a past era and probably
appeals to some who like this type of hotel. The room was large and clean but gloomy. There was no waste-basket in the room although there was one in the toilet. There were very few clothes hangers in the wardrobe - fewer than six. Buffet breakfast was adequate with hot and cold food but they were always the same during the three mornings we were there. The hotel is in the central area with lots of restaurants and a few supermarkets nearby. The over-rated Salamanca Market on Saturdays is within walking distance. Overall, a good hotel to stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the higher floors - less noise from the bar nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great location - a few blocks walk to Salamanca Place and the ferries, one block to the shops, one block to tourist info. The hotel had everything we needed - family room with ensuite and large comfy beds, large room, bath, windows opened. Furnishings, sheets, towels all good quality. We were on the 3rd floor and it was pretty quiet although the church opposite had a lot of bell ringings the weekend we were there. (Absolutely beautiful church and worth a visit.)
We had breaky in the hotel breakfast area a couple of days which was nice and great value, and another day at nearby Daci & Daci which reminded me of European patisseries and was fabulous. And the day we decided to catch the bus to Mt Wellington and walk down, we had to eat dinner in the hotel bar as we couldn't make it any further by that stage. (And that was after a radox bath!) The food in the bar was pretty typical pub food but done well and I enjoyed my hamburger.
Just a note of warning, the walk down Mt Wellington was serious! Took 2.5 hours with one small rest, stunning views. The path was very steep and rocky at the top and my knees ached after 15 mins. The path flattened out after about 1.5 hours into a contrasting rain forest environment. We caught the local bus from the bottom. The next day 2 of the 3 of us were so stiff we couldn't walk up the hotel stairs!
The hotel staff were friendly and courteous; there were quite a few newbies.
The only negatives were the room was a little hot overnight due to the wonderful warm weather and I had a fight with the air conditioner in the middle of one night. (Not the night after we walked down Mt Wellington, which was the best nights sleep I have had in 12 months!!!)
Overall, fantastic value for money!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As expected of a historic building, it gets dark and TVs can go off suddenly. Nonetheless, staff were friendly and helpful, and rooms were spacious. Just a little down the road and you reach the Elizabeth street shopping zone, with lots of shopping option and woolworths there too. The Sunday market & Salamanca are also walkable. Unless you are traveling out of Hobart city, otherwise you are better off saving the few dollars from car rental. By the way, there's no carpark nearby and the only options are streetside parking with somewhat heavy traffic in the day.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear XYZP-SG,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Hadley’s Orient Hotel and taking the time to write your review. We are so pleased that you found your room spacious and the staff friendly and helpful. It sounds as though you took full advantage of our central location, within walking distance to most of Hobart’s attractions.
It would be much appreciated if you could contact us on feedback@hadleyshotel.com.au to further discuss your comments; ‘historic building, it gets dark and TVs can go off suddenly’. We would like to investigate these comments but will require your room number before we can proceed further. If you have any concerns during future stays with us please don’t hesitate to contact reception, open 24 hours, as they are able to rectify most problems immediately.
We do offer secure, under-cover parking in Trafalgar Car Park located 270 metres from our property. Guests are welcome to pull up in front of the hotel to unload their vehicles and check-in. Guests requiring parking will be issued with a proximity card which will give them 24 hour access to the car park. On departure, guests can leave their card in a drop box located at the exit of the car park to save them returning to the hotel. Car parking is charged at $15.00 per day.
Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards,
Hadley’s Orient Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We only got to have dinner at Hadleys, however it was a nice experience and set in a beautiful atmosphere with fantastic service, great food & drinks. Highly recommend the steaks and the desserts were to die for, I believe the High Tea is also a great experience and worth booking if you have the chance. We had a look at the rooms as we were already staying at the woolstore and found the new updates and decor was entirely in tune with such a grand hotel and would recommend staying in this location.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear GlenDawson,
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your dinner at Hadley’s Orient Hotel.
We hope to see you again next time you are visiting Hobart.
Kind regards
Hadley’s Orient Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband I stayed overnight, everyone was very nice, the bed was extremely comfortable, it had the charm of an old hotel, and close to shops and restaurants, highly recommend if staying in the city.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Cathy E,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and your recommendation to other trip advisor readers. We are pleased you enjoyed our central location, the charm of this historical hotel and found your bed extremely comfortable. We do hope you will return to Hadley’s Orient Hotel when you are next visiting Hobart.
Kind regards
Hadley’s Orient Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here at the last minute after my previously arranged accommodation fell through. I was really surprised at how well-appointed and central it was – and the tariff was more than reasonable, it was a bargain, including continental breakfast, free wifi and complimentary bottle of wine on arrival (upgrade to full breakfast buffet was only $7). Bathroom toiletries were of the highest standard – I got my room made up on the second morning just so I could get some more! Service was friendly and professional and the room was very tastefully decorated and spacious. The real standout was the bed – the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in in a hotel – the bed topper was amazing, soft AND supportive! I slept like a baby and woke refreshed both mornings. I was in the heart of the CBD, a 5 minute walk to Salamanca and the waterfront, and just as close to the shopping district. I could easily walk to the Mona ferry and to beautiful Battery Point. My only niggle would be – despite all the other excellent value – was that there was no complimentary drinking water, and small bottles were a little overpriced (anyone trying to find a convenience store open after 8pm in Hobart will know what I mean). Other than that, a great historical hotel, full of charm and character. I'll definitely be staying next time I visit Hobart and recommending it to everyone I know.

Room Tip: I'm not sure what tip to offer but I had a great room looking out over Murray Street on the seco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear sunbad,
We are so pleased we were able to accommodate you at the last minute after your previously arranged accommodation fell through. We certainly appreciate your feedback and we are thrilled to hear you’ll be staying with us next time you visit and will be recommending us to everyone you know.
We are delighted to hear that you slept like a baby and woke refreshed on both mornings, during your stay, thanks to our new beds and comfortable bed toppers. Since fitting all of our newly restored rooms with new beds, bedding, pillows and blankets, we have received so many positive comments. Our bed toppers are filled only with the highest quality small feather and down and are aptly named ‘The Cloud’.
Every accommodation room is supplied with 2 x 600ml bottles of water in the bar fridges, available for purchase at $2.50 each. We are sorry to hear that you felt these items were a little overpriced. For future stays, the tap water in Hobart is quite suitable for drinking should you not wish to purchase the supplied bottled water.
Thank you again for sharing this review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Hadley’s Orient Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hadley's Orient Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hadley's Orient Hotel

Address: 34 Murray Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hadley's Orient Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hadley's Orient Hotel Hobart is the one of the oldest boutique hotels in Australia. Originally constructed by convict labour in 1834, this National Trust listed hotel is a unique place to stay in the heart of the city. The property has been fully restored to reflect the Victorian era under the guidance of heritage experts. Hadley's Orient Hotel offers 71 guest rooms and suites, an onsite bar serving light meals, guest lounge, Traditional High Tea available daily (bookings essential), conference and event space, 24 hour reception including concierge services and complimentary WiFi throughout the property. The property is just 20 min from the airport and 5 min walk from the business and government centre of Hobart, Salamanca Markets, Constitution Dock and CBD shopping. Located right in the heart of the city, directly opposite the beautiful St Davids Church. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hadley's Orient Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Hobart Hadleys Hotel And Apartments
Grand Accor Hadleys Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hadley's Orient Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.