We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old style charm and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hadley's Orient Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hadley's Orient Hotel to your Saves list
Hadley's Orient Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Murray Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Old style charm and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

On arrival at Hadleys for a four day quiet and relaxing holiday we were impressed with the friendly and helpful staff. The reception staff went out of their way to arrange alternative and upgraded accommodation for us when they realised that the original room allocated within our specified booking was not suitable.They stressed the point that we needed to be comfortable during our stay.We found all staff to be courteous and obliging as they looked after us in a timely and efficient manner. We would not hesitate to return to Hadleys when next in Hobart.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear john s,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Hadleys Hotel and taking the time to post your review. We do appreciate your very kind words about our staff and your feedback will certainly be shared with the entire team. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you the next time you are visiting Hobart.
Kind regards,
Hadleys Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    94
    31
    17
    6
See reviews for
30
99
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mackay, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Love love love this hotel!!! This is my kind of hotle...old world elegance, spacious fire places, leather chairs chandeliers as against all the concrete square boxes that pass for hotles nowadays.
We booked a suite (not expensive) and could t believe the HUGE space we had!! leather chesterfield , dining table a balcony overlooking the street, HUGE bed fabulous pillows ...we could seat 12 in our room!!! We felt like royalty! Breakfast buffet was wonderful in the elegant dining room. meals in the bar (can be eaten at candlelit tables) were great vaue at $15. If you like old fashioned charm dont go past this place!! Round the block to everything including Information visitors centre Salamanca Markets and docks. Will not stay anywhere else if we return to Tasmania

Room Tip: Splash out and book a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear 2Eliza_12,
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the elegance and charm of Hadleys Hotel. How wonderful that you felt like royalty! We do hope you have the opportunity to return to Hadleys Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Hadleys Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

This place looks sensational and is in the heart of the retail area of Hobart central. The foyer and common areas are sensational and whilst I was there the piano was playing and that just added to the atmosphere. My room was clean and tidy and had all ammenties. If you are not fussy it is fine. It was small though as was the bed. For 2 it maybe a squeeze. The car parking is a not very convenient located a block away. You will love the location and I stress it is clean.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear DirtiSanche3,
Thank you for your review. It’s great to hear you enjoyed our location, foyer, common areas and the atmosphere created by our resident pianist. Our guests do enjoy relaxing in the bar, at the end of the day, listening to the live performance. Thank you for mentioning the cleanliness of your room. Our housekeeping team work hard to ensure every room is clean and tidy, with well stocked amenities. They will certainly appreciate your comments.
Reserved car parking spaces are offered in a public car park located 270 metres from the hotel. Parking is secure, under-cover and accessible 24 hours a day. Charges do apply. Many of our guests comment that a car is not required, due to our central location, and take the opportunity to walk to the many attractions within the area.
We do hope you will come back again and I would recommend booking a Superior Queen Room or a Suite for that extra bit of space you missed on this stay. For future stays simply inform our Reservations team of your needs when booking and they will be happy to allocate your room accordingly.
Kind regards
Hadleys Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Our 7th stay at Hadleys Hotel and once again we were not disappointed. The staff go out of their way to make your stay welcoming and pleasant. It doesn't matter that the rooms and corridors are a bit creaky or the cramped lift rattles, that's what makes this old gem of a place so charming and full of character. Breakfasts are wonderful and the history of Hobart and the Hotel itself is conveyed with the wonderful photos around the hotel walls. This place has the grace and charm that is lacking in so many of the newer glass and chrome hotels that are springing up.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Jean J,
Thank you for again choosing to stay at Hadleys Hotel and taking the time to post your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Kind regards
Hadleys Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We had a great stay at Hadley's Hotel in Hobart. The staff were really helpful and friendly and the room was quiet and clean. It is an old hotel with creaky floors and rattling windows. I think it added to the charm and I really liked the fact the Roald Amundsen stayed in the same hotel after being the first person at the South Pole.
However, when we arrived by car, the staff said we could park for up to 15 minutes right in front of the hotel in the loading zone to check-in and bring our bags to the room, since parking is a bit off-site. After returning to the car, I noticed a parking ticket for $70 for parking the vehicle in a loading zone.
I mentioned it to the reception staff and they said that it happened before and after calling the city council they usually drop the charge. However, I talked to two different city council employees and both mentioned that Hadley's should not recommend guests to park in a loading zone in front of the hotel, since it is for commercial vehicles only. However, the hotel staff was nice enough to call the city council in my behalf, but were unable to reach an agreement. After a bit back and forth with the city council on my part they finally cancelled the ticket, unfortunately without the help of Hadley's Hotel.
This incident unfortunately dampened what was an otherwise lovely stay. My recommendation is to not park in front of the hotel, whatever the staff might say and just enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear joheine,
Thank you for your review and taking the time to speak with me over the telephone recently. We are so pleased to hear you had a great stay at Hadleys Hotel and found our staff friendly and helpful and your room quiet and clean. Our staff suggest to all guests, who arrive by car, that they are welcome to park in the no-parking zone, at the front of the hotel, to unload their bags and check-in. They are then directed to our off-site, secure, under-cover parking located 270m down the road from the hotel. We do not recommend guests park in the loading zone as this needs to be kept clear for deliveries and visiting commercial vehicles. The reception staff you spoke with was under the impression you received your parking fine while being parked in the no-parking zone. It was when she spoke to the council, on your behalf, she was informed you received the fine for parking in the loading zone. The council also advised that it is the driver’s responsibility to read the signage before parking to ensure you are parking in the correct zone. That’s certainly a great outcome for you that the council decided to cancel your parking fine!
Kind regards
Hadleys Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Our group was having a meeting here a room had been put aside, on calling to book I said our 2 children would be attending as well a room that would accommodate all of us was recommended. yes the room was great, we had a 2 bedroom suite, very good price. the staff were all friendly and helpful at all times. The building is an old treasure, so you would expect creaks and a slow lift, the carpark is located in a council park and a little inconvenient. My enjoyment of the hotel and service surpassed this. Overall I enjoyed the ambience of this magnificent building and location was superb.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear mazza2110,
Thank you for posting your review on trip advisor. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Hadleys Hotel and we hope you will come back to visit us again soon!
Kind regards
Hadleys Hotel Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wistow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Hadleys in February on two occasions - a two night stay followed eight nights later by a one night stay. On arrival we had been booked into a superior room, but had been given a standard room. The staff admitted the error but had no superior rooms to give us. The standard room was small with poor décor and smelt musty. Also the room had not been serviced properly (tea cup dirty, milk in fridge had been opened and used, one towel missing). As compensation we were given free breakfasts on both mornings and were upgraded on our return to a Suite. We have also since received a refund on our two nights, although the difference for those nights was only £23 (£11.50 per night).
Although we enjoyed the luxury of the suite, the bar of the towel rail came off, striking my wife's toe and causing injury. On reporting this to reception the staff member said: "No worries, I'll get maintenance to fix it." and offered no apology or concern about the injury.
Hadleys clearly has considerable potential but is badly in need of refurbishment. Also, while we were dealt with considerately by management, there is clearly a training issue with the staff. For these reasons it currently represents poor value for money and I cannot recommend it until these issues are addressed.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here avoid standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear cbweaver,
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback on trip advisor and your recent email. As I mentioned in my reply to you dated 20th March, please accept my apology for the injury to your wife due to the towel rail striking her toe. I have discussed with our Maintenance Department and the towel rail has been repaired. I have also discussed with our Front Office Manager the staff members reaction and comments. We take pride in exceeding expectations and pay careful attention to suggestions which can help us improve and will be looking into further staff training.
I understand you spoke with the Front Office Manager on your first visit when you were placed into a Standard Double Room instead of a Superior Queen Room as per your reservation. Unfortunately, we were fully booked on this particular night and we were unable to move you to another room. The Front Office Manager advised you received complimentary breakfast during your stay and reimbursed the monetary value difference between a Standard Double and Superior Queen Room. On your second stay, a complimentary upgrade to a suite was organised. It was understood you were satisfied with this outcome. We do apologise for any inconvenience caused throughout your stay.
We are pleased that you see the potential in Hadleys Hotel and I can confirm that we will soon begin some restoration works on, not only, our accommodation rooms, but around the public areas of the hotel. Since taking over management last September, we have installed new televisions into all rooms, replaced various sundry items such as; kettles, irons, ironing boards, alarm clocks, telephones and lamps. Complimentary Wi-Fi is now available to all guests and our housekeeping department is no longer outsourced to an external company, but operates under Hadleys Hotel Management. We will soon be replacing beds and bedding and re-carpeting throughout the entire hotel. The bathrooms will receive upgrades through new tap wear, fixed glass shower screens and re-grouting of tiles. We envisage taking Hadleys Hotel back to her former grandeur and charm with an emphasis on the historical and heritage significance of the building.
I would like to extend an invitation to you to come back to Hadleys Hotel to experience all of these exciting changes. Should you be returning to Hobart, please don’t hesitate to contact me direct and I will personally arrange your reservation and confirmation. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to Hadleys Hotel.

Kind regards
Hadleys Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hadley's Orient Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hadley's Orient Hotel

Address: 34 Murray Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Hobart
#13 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#15 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hadley's Orient Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hadley's Orient Hotel Hobart is the one of the oldest boutique hotels in Australia. Originally constructed by convict labour in 1834, this National Trust listed hotel is a unique place to stay in the heart of the city. The property has been fully restored to reflect the Victorian era under the guidance of heritage experts. Hadley's Orient Hotel offers 71 guest rooms and suites, an onsite bar serving light meals, guest lounge, Traditional High Tea available daily (bookings essential), conference and event space, 24 hour reception including concierge services and complimentary WiFi throughout the property. The property is just 20 min from the airport and 5 min walk from the business and government centre of Hobart, Salamanca Markets, Constitution Dock and CBD shopping. Located right in the heart of the city, directly opposite the beautiful St Davids Church. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hadley's Orient Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Hobart Hadleys Hotel And Apartments
Grand Accor Hadleys Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hadley's Orient Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.