We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night, great sleep” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hobart

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hobart to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hobart
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   156 Bathurst Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Hobart)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 2, Save 10%!
Ranked #23 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Launceston, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“One night, great sleep”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The staff were friendly and always willing to help.
The bed was one of the best i have slept in !
Great location, short walking distance to shops and pubs/clubs.
This place i would stay at again in a heart beat !

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    65
    40
    17
    6
See reviews for
21
62
5
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Slept one night on the bed.
It was like sleeping on a sponge cake !
I slept on the floor the next night.
Much better.
The location was good.there was a Sunday market nearby and close to everything.
But not much open at night...maybe thats just hobart
Parking was ok

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear india1710,
Thank you for the review. I am sorry that you did not like your bed. We have recently replaced all our beds with a top of the range brand and they have proved to be very, very popular. However, I am pleased that the rest of your stay proved to be good for you.
Regards,
Janine Livingston
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room that we stayed in was spacious and clean. The Nespresso machine with complimentary capsules in the room was a major plus. The bed was so comfortable that it made one reluctant to get up.

However, the hotel is located a little distance away from the city and at the top of a slope, which made it tiring to lug the luggage to the hotel. But once we got to know the area, it was easy to figure our way around.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear jagxfs80,
Thanks for the feedback; many guests are telling us they love the Nespresso machines which make such good coffee. Hoping to welcome you back one day.
Regards,
Janine Livingston
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for three nights on recent trip to Tasmania. Good base in Hobart, Within walking distance of Salamanca, Elizabeth street, the pier. Shamrock pub is just next door, which was good access for $10 meals! Nothing fancy about the rooms, clean, functional. The free wifi was not very stable though.

Room Tip: We stayed at Level 1 which was quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear ChinPongLee,
Good to hear we were good for your purposes. We recently upgraded our free WiFi in all rooms to top speed NBN so I am surprised to hear about problems there; we’ll test the system right now.
Regards,
Janine Livingston
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Though the hotel was a little far from the city, everything was within walking distance and we managed pretty well when we got to know the area. We somehow got upgraded for free to a privileged room and it was spacious and had a Nespresso machine with complimentary capsules. The bed was very comfortable. Hotel staff are friendly and helpful. It's a great hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear foogmin,
It’s good to hear we fitted the bill for you in all respects; come back soon.
Regards,
Janine Livingston
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My partner and I were only passing through for one night in Hobart we come down and stay a few times a year but always try different places and whoever can fit us in but we chose (best western hotel) simply because the pictures looked great and and it was alleged 4 star but to my disgust just to list a few of the issues; the hair dryer wouldn't work, I had to tighten up the shower head because when I turned it on it literally sprayed the whole bathroom and myself, the bathtubs looked as if they needed scrubbing with jiff or another cleaning product as it looked grimmy and discoloured. A lamp wouldn't work and 2 power points wouldn't work so we had to pull out the only lamp that worked to charge our phones. My question is why do we have to pay for a rated 4 star hotel but it was lucky to be 2 star for us let alone the amenities that wouldn't work?

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Maddison K,
I am very sorry that there were problems with your stay. We do have staff available 24/7 to fix any housekeeping and maintenance problems and we would have been more than happy to assist if we had been contacted, though we should have got it right first time. I hope you might be prepared to give us a second chance next time you are in town.
Regards,
Janine Livingston
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were only in Hobart for one night, so we wanted somewhere central and had parking.
We were pleased we chose the Best Western for our stay.
For the price, we were very happy. Parking was included as well as breakfast in the rate.
The hotel was centrally located and we walked quite a bit.
We had dinner at Constitution Dock, and it was a good stroll for us.
The room was great. Comfy king sized bed.
Breakfast was also good considering it was not an extra. Only one fault was the pre cooked eggs. The scrambled were not nice, and the poached were unfortunately hard. But othern than having an egg station, everything else was very good. The staff were all fantastic. All smiles from check in, to the barman, and the breakfast staff. Would stay again for sure.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear MissPixieLix,
It's always nice to get happy guest feedback like yours. I hope we will be seeing you again next time you are in Hobart,
Regards,
Janine Livingston
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hobart

Address: 156 Bathurst Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Hobart)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Hobart
#16 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hobart 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Hobart (Formerly Mercure Hotel Hobart) is located in the city centre, only two blocks from the main shopping mall. The hotel features local artwork in a contemporary setting, while the 140 rooms have recently been re-decorated to create a modern fresh feel and offer either city or mountain views. It is only a short walk to Salamanca Place on Hobart's historic waterfront, an area well-known for the many restaurants, cafes, bars and the famous Saturday market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hobart Hotel Hobart
Accor Hobart
BEST WESTERN Hobart Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hobart, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.