We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent cusotmer service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hobart

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hobart to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hobart
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   156 Bathurst Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Hobart)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 2, Save 10%!
Ranked #22 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent cusotmer service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stayed at the Best Western Hobart in July for business and I have rarely stayed anywhere that had the most consistent high level of customer service. All the staff were extremely helpful, always with a smile. This is what made the stay so pleasant. The hotel itself is quite good and I was in a refurbished room which was nicely furnished. The bar and restaurant were also quite good. It is a short walk to the main shopping area and a bit further to Salamanca Place. There are other hotels closer to the main activity but for a standard hotel with exceptional customer service the Best Western provided very good value.

Room Tip: The refurbished rooms on Level 5 are quite good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear jbacMelbourne,
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that our friendly team impressed you. Be seeing you again I hope.
Regards,
Janine Livingston
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    65
    40
    17
    6
See reviews for
21
62
5
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed at the Best Western Hobart on the weekend. Unfortunately we found the check-in process lacking in detail as we were not told anything about check out time or breakfast or food options at the hotel. We were literally given our room key and sent on our way.
The room itself was clean and tidy and the bed was comfortable.
We went downstairs to the bar for a drink that night and we went to the restaurant for breakfast in the morning. The bar/restaurant is lovely and modern and has had a decent renovation apparently. The breakfast buffet was $15pp plus $3 if you want a decent coffee. I recommend you pay for the coffee as the one they have available as part of the buffet is undrinkable. The food was average and it seemed to be lacking. The poached eggs were rock hard and the mushrooms were cooked in a creamy sauce which seemed better suited to a dinner meal than breakfast. Pastries, fruit, juices and noodles were also available. They had English muffins as well next to the toaster however they weren’t cut open nor were knives provided at the toaster, something worth changing I think.
We would stay here again however I think we’d skip the breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear NatandAdz,
I am pleased you had a comfortable stay. Thank you for the suggestions about our breakfast, which we have taken on board. I hope we will see you the next time you are in Hobart.
Regards,
Janine Livingston
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Luke and Tracey at the front of house have the best customer service that I have come across in Hobart. Paddy and Eloise in the bar/ Embers were sensational with their service and friendliness. The food was awesome and I heavily suggest a stay or visit for a bite to eat.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Mark L,
Thank you for those kind words. I hope we will see you back for another delicious meal in Embers very soon.
Regards,
Janine Livingston
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Fairly modern clean hotel.Decent size rooms with very comfy beds..Easy walk to CBD. Underground parking (Fee) although some spots a bit small or awkward. Good Breakfast.selection
Did not have occasion to use restaurant.On previous stay were upgraded to 2 room suite,pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Peter T,
It's always nice when guests come back and stay with us again and again. I am very pleased you are becoming a regular valued guest; we appreciate it.
Regards,
Janine Livingston
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Great beds (Very comfortable) and good location with very friendly staff, older property but good value for money. Stayed on business trip but would come back if on my own trip. Hotel is in the middle of Hobart and within easy walking distance to city sights and places to eat and shops.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear GaryBGeelong,
Thank you for those kind words. I'm glad you liked our lovely new comfy beds and that we will be seeing you again in the future; come back soon.
Regards,
Janine Livingston
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

The hotel, whilst old is tidy and in a good location. The food in the restaurant was ok albeit bland in taste. The breakfast was good with plenty of choice.

The room was basic, the bed was very comfortable but the pillows were lousy. The walls are very thin which meant that one could hear everything in the rooms around one.

Some people even were arguing until 3am which is very annoying

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Hi, Tim W,
Thank you for that feedback. I'm sorry you were disturbed at night. We have 24 hour service here and we can act on reports of late night noise as soon as we are informed. We hope to see you again sometime.
Regards,
Janine Livingston
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed at this motel thinking it was a Mercure. How wrong we were. It has changed names, but nothing else has changed. Dated, old and very 1960s. Bathrooms need urgent work. The restaurant is beautifully presented but the menu needs work. Over. 45 minute wait for a duck pizza with 4.5 pieces of duck on it on a night with only 17 persons dining. The choc dessert looked like a breakfast chocolate muffin that was microwaved heated and had strawberry jam tipped over it. Peter in the restaurant is an amazing host and ensured we were wined and dined. Reception staff were nothing to write home about. Asking questions and having responses given of "yep" and "nup" is not good enough.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Ozeboy24,
Thank you for the review. Since we took over this hotel from Mercure we have been undertaking extensive renovations. I am sorry we have not reached your room yet. I am glad you liked the refurbished restaurant but I am concerned about your comments about your meal, which will be investigated. I hope you will be able to give us another try next time you are in Hobart.
Regards,
Janine Livingston
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hobart

Address: 156 Bathurst Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Hobart)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Hobart
#15 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hobart 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Hobart (Formerly Mercure Hotel Hobart) is located in the city centre, only two blocks from the main shopping mall. The hotel features local artwork in a contemporary setting, while the 140 rooms have recently been re-decorated to create a modern fresh feel and offer either city or mountain views. It is only a short walk to Salamanca Place on Hobart's historic waterfront, an area well-known for the many restaurants, cafes, bars and the famous Saturday market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hobart Hotel Hobart
Accor Hobart
BEST WESTERN Hobart Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hobart, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.