We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a clean Hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hobart

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hobart to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hobart
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   156 Bathurst Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Hobart)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 2, Save 10%!
Ranked #22 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not a clean Hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This Hotel is very dirty, I had a dark and gloomey room...no security features for the buildings...The whole building feels like the 1960's...very old, and dated. The location of the building is not bad and it all the building walls are super thin(I could hear others in their rooms)

Room Tip: If its for $60 a night its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Sunny B,
Thanks for the review. I'd like to apologise for any problems you had. We have just taken over this hotel and are working very hard to bring it up to Best Western standards. I do hope you will return sometime soon; I'm sure you will see a big improvement.
Janine Livingston
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    65
    40
    17
    6
See reviews for
21
62
5
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in early August having booked via the ACCOR site in June. Unbeknown to us Best Western had taken over the running of the hotel from 1 August so there was some embarrassment when the taxi pulled up in front of the Best Western with us telling him he had the wrong hotel and he insisting he was in the right location. Good work ACCOR for not letting all your customers know!!! ACCOR had even sent us out a welcome message from the Mercure on 3 August.

On to the hotel. As this was our first stay it was not clear to me that anything had changed apart from the signage. Hotel had 2 lifts. We had a room on level 5 (top floor) that had "Privilege" on the door. The room was on the smallish side and a little dated but reasonably comfortable and very clean. Bed was fine as were the pillows. Lighting to read in bed was fine but lighting for the overall room was very poor. No safe. Room had a small outside balcony but the sliding door was not a good fit so it rattled in the wind and let some of the cold air in. Luckily the heating was working fine. Door to the room and door from bedroom to bathroom in bad need of some oil - very squeaky.

Bathroom was very small but functional. Shower, which had very good pressure, was in the bath and the screen that went half way across the entry to the bath worked well in keeping the shower water inside the bath.

Wifi was an additional cost.

Breakfast was a reasonably array of cereals, cold and hot food although for some strange reason the corn flakes tasted stale.

Staff were generally pretty friendly and helpful. I understand that many of them were the former Mercure staff.

Hotel is located about a block from the main shopping centre and about a 10 to 15 minute walk to the waterfront and Salamanca Place. There are some gentle undulating hills to navigate. Airport was 15-20 minutes away by taxi, which cost about $45.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear westy54,
Thank you for your review and your valued comments. Best Western has recently taken over this hotel from Accor and we are busy making improvements so this property comes up to our standards. I am glad you liked the location and our friendliness and we hope to see you again in the future. I’m sure you will enjoy the upgrades we are making.
Kind regards,
Janine Livingston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We booked this accommodation through Jetstar, where it was listed as "Mercure Hobart" so were surprised when we arrived at the address and found a tired Best Western Hotel. It reminded me of the family roadtrips I did as a child, stopping at small country motels along the way. The room itself was clean and reasonably sized, but in need of general renovations and updating. The breakfast was also quite basic and not worth paying for if you don't have it included in your accommodation rate. The main positive of this hotel was that it was centrally located and easy for us to get to local eateries and to the Salamanca Markets.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear StripeycatSydney,
Thank you for your review and the kind words about our location and cleanliness. You are correct about the ownership change; Best Western took over this very week. We are working very hard on the areas you noted as ripe for improvement and have already begun upgrading and modernising all rooms as well as enhancing our breakfasts. We hope to see you again in the future and I know you will see a great improvement.
Regards,
Janine Livingston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hobart

Address: 156 Bathurst Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Hobart)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Hobart
#15 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hobart 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Hobart (Formerly Mercure Hotel Hobart) is located in the city centre, only two blocks from the main shopping mall. The hotel features local artwork in a contemporary setting, while the 140 rooms have recently been re-decorated to create a modern fresh feel and offer either city or mountain views. It is only a short walk to Salamanca Place on Hobart's historic waterfront, an area well-known for the many restaurants, cafes, bars and the famous Saturday market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hobart Hotel Hobart
Accor Hobart
BEST WESTERN Hobart Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hobart, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.