We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Somerset on the Pier, Hobart

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Somerset on the Pier, Hobart to your Saves list
Somerset on the Pier, Hobart
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Elizabeth St Pier, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia (Formerly Oakford)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Plan in Advance and Save!
Ranked #24 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Ideal Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

The location of the hotel was fantastic close to everything, Salamanca Place, great restaurants and cafes, as well as having a spectacular outlook on to the water. The service and staff were warm friendly and very accommodating to the needs of our family group. The only negative would be the rooms and the noise that could be heard from the other rooms on either side. Not a major concern particularly when you are not in the rooms all the time. Hired a car and found ample parking each evening on our return. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Somerset on the Pier, Hobart, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear 626Krystyna,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with Somerset on the Pier Hobart. It is wonderful to read that you and your family had an enjoyable time with us and were able experience the beautiful views of the harbour from our unique location. We will be sure to pass on your encouraging comments to the Guests Services Team; they will be pleased to know they made your stay more enjoyable.

From all the team at Somerset, we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    172
    72
    35
    17
See reviews for
80
170
11
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We enjoyed our two night stay at the hotel. The location is ideal for food and transport especially Salamanca and the MONA ferry. There were quite a few ferries leaving from close by also. I didn't find the front desk staff cheery when we were arrived to share in our excitement but they were friendly and lovely when we checking out. I enjoyed the views from our room and loved the loft style arrangement .We expected a little more for the executive but it was cozy and clean. It needs an injection of something modern and fun but we enjoyed the room, the magazines and the selection of reading materials were fantastic. I would stay here again but probably get a room with a balcony :)

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Somerset on the Pier, Hobart, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Zeddypink,

Thank you for sharing with us feedback on your stay at Somerset on the Pier Hobart. It is lovely to read that you enjoyed our loft-style apartments and waterfront location. We feel very fortunate to be in such a unique position on Elizabeth St Pier; the view of the harbour is truly beautiful!

We appreciate your comments regarding the furnishings in your apartment. You may be pleased to know that the décor is scheduled to be upgraded this year, for if you choose to stay with us again.

From all the team at Somerset we hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

This hotel has a superb location for Hobart - the east facing views are of the yachts in the harbour basin (if you take a balcony room). Lovely to sit on the balcony in the morning watching the sun rise over the harbour. Good location for Salmanca Mkts and restaurants. Note - parking is limited and hotel bays were used by the locals. We never got a hotel parking bay in 2.5 days.
Room design is novel - upstairs bedroom and living area downstairs, I liked the separation of living from sleeping. This does mean a trip downstairs to the bathroom. The winter sun warmed the room each day, and meant we never used the heating. (In summer the room may be hot)
The downside is:
1. The hotel is ageing - the bathrooms are old, but the bath shower was good pressure!
2. The service is below par for a hotel that charges $300/day. The front desk staff need a make over and service training.
3. The hotel can be noisy - walls are paper thin, you can hear the TV in the next room, the water running or the couple arguing across the hall!

Room Tip: If external noise bothers you, ask for a room at the end of the pier - away from the restaurants. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc G, Residence Manager at Somerset on the Pier, Hobart, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear JC_Sydney_11,

Thank you for your recent feedback.

Im glad to hear you loved our cenrtal pier loaction, we are certainly very lucky to be loacted in such a beautiful spot in Hobart.

Im very surprised to hear your feedback about our customer service, my team are very passionatte about this and always recieve amazing comments from our guests.

Please be rest assured we are in the finaly preparation stages of our refurbishment which will be completed this year.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BUNBURY
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

This hotel is well located within only a few minutes walking distance from the main business and shopping precinct as well as popular tourist areas. Its position on the pier provides an excellent view over the water and boat harbour. The rooms are well appointed and include all the facilities needed to do your own catering and laundry if required. Supermarkets are available nearby to purchase any food items. The only downside we found was with the positioning of the TV in the bedroom. Strangely, it was located on a shelf which was obstructed from view from the bed by the wardrobe. Only about half of the wide screen TV screen could be viewed. This could easily have been remedied by fixing the TV to the wall at the foot end of the bed. There is ample space to easily allow this. If management follow up suggestion, we would give it an 'excellent' rating.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 55 at the end of the pier and found it nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Somerset on the Pier, Hobart, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear DAVID H,

Thank you for taking time to provide Somerset with a review of your recent stay. It is lovely to read that you enjoyed our location, found our staff friendly and appreciated the space and facilities our apartment provided you. Thank you for your feedback in regards to the bedroom configuration and television placement; we do appreciate it when guests provide ways we can improve our product for us to investigate. We will keep it in mind with any future updates to the property.

If you are every in Hobart again, we do hope to welcome you back to Somerset.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redland City, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

No room service on sunday unless you ask on saturday. Its not a problem as they put a notice in your room while yiu are out on saturday. Showers And general noise through walls. Great location. beautiful view of harbour. Handy location.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Somerset on the Pier, Hobart, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Ed P,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay at Somerset. It is lovely to read that enjoyed our beautiful location overlooking the harbour, we feel very lucky to be in such a unique spot on Elizabeth St Pier. You may be pleased to know that Somerset on the Pier will be commencing a refurbishment of our apartments towards the middle of the year, if you choose to stay with us again.

Thank you Ed P, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

This is a wonderful hotel, close to restaurants, tourist attractions, Salamanca market and other shops. The staff were very helpful and friendly which made us feel very welcome. On the down side parking was a bit tricky.

Room Tip: If you want a belcony make sure you request one as the rooms at the end don't have any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Somerset on the Pier, Hobart, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Amanda M,

Thank you for sharing your review of Somerset on the Pier Hobart with our Trip Advisor community. It is lovely to read that you enjoyed our central location in beautiful Hobart as well as finding our Guest Service Team friendly and welcoming.

We value your feedback regarding the restricted parking; due to our central location parking is very limited in Hobart. While it is too late for your latest visit, if you chose to stay with us again please feel free to contact our Guest Services Team who would be only too happy to assist with alternative parking options close to the property.

If you are every in Hobart again, we do hope to welcome you back to Somerset.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

My partner and I stayed here for a week to celebrate my birthday. I'll admit I was hesitant after reading the reviews about noise but we were there from Tues-Sun and we did not find noise to be a problem at all. I suppose this must only be an issue during major events.
Location was the best, you are right at the water so you can take any day cruise, you are 5min from Salamanca and 5min to the CBD.
The room was fresh and tidy, I personally loved the loft style bedroom although I understand this might be a problem for people with mobility issues.
I really appreciated the washer and dryer and was impressed that we were provided washing powder and dishwashing powder. (I know this sounds like a given but I travel a lot for work and most apartment style hotels charge for these items)
FREE WIFI was as also appreciated, I was able to research and book our adventures online from the comfort of the hotel.
Every interaction we had with staff was outstanding, from reception to cleaning staff. We were greeted with a warm smile and a good morning/afternoon whenever we walked past.
My only complaint was the parking, we hired a car for a couple of days and the parking wasn't always available (but it was free), the nearby parking was 2hrs only which was a little inconvenient.
You wont regret paying extra for the balcony. We spent so much time sitting on our balcony watching the boats come in, tasting local wine and cheese, we even made our own seafood platter one night. I wish I was still there.

Room Tip: The premier rooms have a great private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Somerset on the Pier, Hobart, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Jenny787878,

Firstly Happy Birthday! We are so pleased to read that you and your partner had a fantastic time celebrating your birthday in beautiful Hobart. We feel very fortunate to be in such a unique position on the water; and we agree what better way to relax than on your own private balcony.

We appreciate your comments regarding the limited parking at our property; due to our central location parking is very restricted in Hobart. Though it is too late for your current stay, please feel free next time to contact our Guest Services Team who would be only too happy to assist with alternative parking options close to the property.

We would be honoured to pass on your comments to the Guest Service and Housekeeping Teams that you found the service they provided outstanding, they will be proud to know they assisted in making your birthday holiday memorable.

Thank you Jenny787878, from all the team at Somerset we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Somerset on the Pier, Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset on the Pier, Hobart

Address: Elizabeth St Pier, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia (Formerly Oakford)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Somerset on the Pier, Hobart 4.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somerset on the Pier is an award-winning transformation of an early 1930s pier building, incorporating clean, striking lines of modern architecture with the historic exterior of a waterfront landmark. Each residence features unrivaled panoramic water views of the River Derwent, Hobart’s waterfront and historic Sullivans Cove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Somerset on the Pier, Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset On The Pier, Hobart Hotel Hobart
Somerset On The Pier, Hobart Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Somerset on the Pier, Hobart, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.