We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a couples getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Somerset on the Pier, Hobart

Save Saved
You added Somerset on the Pier, Hobart to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Somerset on the Pier, Hobart
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Elizabeth St Pier, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia (Formerly Oakford)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 3 Nights & Save 20%
Ranked #19 of 47 hotels in Hobart
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for a couples getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here recently, couldn't fault the place, perfect location for food and bars, beautiful views and easy to find. The bed was extremely comfortable, the staff were all lovely and very helpful (my husband wanted to go running and was given a map with several routes highlighted and explained). Would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somersetonthepier, General Manager at Somerset on the Pier, Hobart, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Lestari01,

Thank you for your feedback and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Somerset on the Pier.

We look forward to welcoming you back when next you travel to Hobart.

Yours sincerely
Justin Geddes
Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    147
    61
    32
    12
See reviews for
71
146
9
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My mother & I had a great visit to Hobart & this hotel is really well located for seeing the dock & salamanca areas by foot. There are lots of great restaurants scattered wroung both these areas.
Parking is located outside at the end of the pier.

2 things were a problem for us at this hotel & we have brought them to the attention of the staff there.

1. Very minor - but the join between the 2 single beds in the main room to make a King size was lumpy & uncomfortable to sleep on (not a problem if you sleep on one side - but very annoying if you spread out over the entire bed or have your other half with you)

2. the "transfer fan". The switch for this fan is near the door when you enter your apartment. We were not notified that it existed on check in and it was already switched to ON. This fan transfers air between the lower & upper story of the apartment & is seriously noisy - especially at night. My mother actually wore earplugs for both nights of her stay. We discovered the switch on the morning we checked out! Prior to that I would have given a terrible review as it sounded like noisy air-conditioning units on the roof.

Also the bathrooms are a little dated. Not a biggie but they don't seem to fit in with the rest of the aparments and again the fans in these are noisy. The upstairs bathroom had the fan attached to the light so if someone went to the loo in the night they would wake the other up.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somersetonthepier, General Manager at Somerset on the Pier, Hobart, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Bridget M,

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay at Somerset on the Pier.

We are sorry that you found your bed uncomfortable. Our king beds are actually king split beds and are very common in hotels. The joins between the beds shouldn't really be noticeable. We have replaced the large majority of beds in our apartments during the year so perhaps you had an apartment with an older mattress. If you could advise your room number we will be able to check this. We are planning on replacing the remaining beds over the next 6 months as part of our regular refurbishment.

Our apologies that you weren't aware of the transfer fan. We try to give guests as much information as possible on checkin, however, it is not possible to cover everything and additional information is contained in the guest compendium located in each room. I am sorry that we were not made aware that you were having issues with the fan during your stay as it is something that could have been very easily resolved.

Thank you for your comments on our bathrooms, whilst not modern they are practical and this is something we are currently addressing with our owners in order to bring them up to standard with the rest of the apartment.

Again we thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely
Justin Geddes
Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich Qld
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We had three lovely nights here. Lovely views across the boats from our balcony. Very handy to everything. We had a hire car and parking is limited but once we had a park we did not need to move it as we were so close to Salamanca markets, Battery Point, shopping, restaurants and Red Bus stop. The rooms are good but if you are with a second couple remember it is a mezzanine floor and the second bathroom is downstairs. The walls are a little thin and noise does travel. Don't get a room at the city end as these are above a bar / restaurant. Our room was closer to the Derwent River so we avoided this problem.

Room Tip: Balcony is a good idea in warmer months. Ask for room at harbour end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somersetonthepier, General Manager at Somerset on the Pier, Hobart, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your feedback and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at Somerset on the Pier.

When you next stay with us if you are wishing to book a balcony apartment please mention that you are after one of our permier apartments as all of these have balcony that you can sit out on and enjoy our beautiful views.

Somerset on the Pier is located in one of the main tourist areas in Hobart and the building also houses some restaurants and a conference center. Whilst generally a quiet location from time to time there is a vibrant atmosphere around the waterfront precint.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely
Justin Geddes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnsonville, East Gippsland, Victoria
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We organized a balcony room in Somerset on the Pier. Great view and ideal location for photography. Location was also close to Salamanca market. The staff have been very professional and friendly. They have certainly gone out of their way for us to have a happy stay. Room was nice and clean and fresh. We cooked in the kitchenette. Had a dishwasher and also large sized fridge. Also came with a washing machine. TV and Telstra internet reception was good. The stairs would be a problem if you are not able.
We had a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Lovely good quality linen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I spent two nights in Unit 2, no balcony, but looking straight out onto the little tall ship, Windward Bound and across the water to Aurora Australis.
Previous reviews said the walls were a bit thin and the TV reception was worthless - I thorougly agree - but that aside, its a beautiful position.
Next time I'd pony up the extra for a balcony.
Its a short walk um Elizabeth Street to the airport shuttle - no probs.
Have coffee and cakes at Daci & Daci - excellent
Try breakfast at Cafe Retro.
Customs House public bar is so friendly - really enjoyed chatting to a few folks there.
try a pizza outside under the heaters at Cargo on Salamanca Place.
Also Somerset is right next door to the Mona Ferry.

And there's the T42 bar & restaurant and the Asian Gormet restaurants on the pier as well as a Fish Frenzy.

Its a minute's walk to Mure's on Constitution dock.

Room Tip: Choose a balcony room - the fresh air and extra space is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Somerset is in a prime location in Hobart, and the hotel has gorgeous rooms, but our stay was very uncomfortable. The hotel advertised that they had air conditioning, but the AC in our two story suite didn't reach the upstairs at all. It was in the 30's Celcius outside and about the same inside. We ended up sleeping on the floor downstairs where it was cooler. For the price we paid, it should have been a more comfortable experience.

Room Tip: Get a 1 story suite if you can in the summer months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights with Mum and my 2 yo daughter. We were booked into Somerset on Salamanca but when I arrived to book in I was excited to learn we'd been upgraded to the Pier. Fabulous location in a 1 br apartment overlooking the marina. Salamanca markets were only 100 m away. The kitchenette was great and I was so glad of a DVD player for my daughter. Lovely and quiet. Handy to many great seafood restaurants. The staff were very responsive and couldn't do enough for us. Would def. stay again .

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Somerset on the Pier, Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset on the Pier, Hobart

Address: Elizabeth St Pier, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia (Formerly Oakford)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Somerset on the Pier, Hobart 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somerset on the Pier is an award-winning transformation of an early 1930s pier building, incorporating clean, striking lines of modern architecture with the historic exterior of a waterfront landmark. Each residence features unrivaled panoramic water views of the River Derwent, Hobart’s waterfront and historic Sullivans Cove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Somerset on the Pier, Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset On The Pier, Hobart Hotel Hobart
Somerset On The Pier, Hobart Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Somerset on the Pier, Hobart, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.