We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend stopover” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Macquarie Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 47 hotels in Hobart
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great weekend stopover”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

I stumbled across the Old Woolstore when looking for cheap deals for a last minute weekend trip to Hobart. Looked good from a price and location point of view but I was really surprised at the value we got: from the on-line booking that was a piece of cake to the cleanliness, great room and facilities and very friendly staff. The best is the location, a short block to the waterfront and an easy stroll to Salamanca Place (market and all that). We also had a drink at the bar (great service) but did not eat there - so cannot comment on the food.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    243
    288
    89
    24
    6
See reviews for
89
278
30
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

We stayed at the "Old Woolstore Hotel" from the 14th - 21st August and could not have been happier with our choice, the staff where excellent and the accommodation was clean and comfortable. This place gives you a choice of rooms depending on what you need and the design of the rooms has been well thought out. Excellent place to hold a conference/meeting. Food was excellent and being in the heart of Hobart could not ask for more.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

My conference was at the Old Woolstore and my hosts booked my wife and I in this hotel. The staff were all nice and efficient, but largely only servers and desk staff. No concierge or anyone similar to help with your stay and no manager apparent at any time. The noise from the street was horrendous. The room was spartan and cold with no decor or ambiance whatsoever. It did have a washer and dryer and kitchen and might be a good choice for a family trying to be economical. However, one stop over to the Grand Chancellor across the street (where some of my conference activities were also being held) was all it took for my wife and I to immediately check out and move over there. We were scheduled for 5 nights in the Old Woolstore, but couldn't last beyond 2 nights. Stay at the Grand Chancellor across the street. same location and price (or even less) with a HUGE difference in quality.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

Arrived in Hobart with partner and family to enjoy all of the festivities surrounding The Taste festival in Hobart. We chose The Old Woolstore for its terrific location, central to all the action. We were pleased with every aspect of the hotel. Great service, clean and pleasant rooms, friendly and helpful staff and affordable. Couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

I stayed at the Old Woolstore hotel for just one night. I read the reviews and thought all sounded fine and it was. The locations is great. 5 minutes to the waterfront, 10-15 minutes walk to the shopping areas/Salamanca Square

The room was a great size, amenities were good-there was even a dishwasher in my apartment (plus washer/dryer). I thought the DVD was a great touch, especially being a single traveller who happened to have a copy of 24 with her! Everything was clean and well maintained. I did not use any hotel facilities other than the internet in the business room ($5 still per day so you can go on and off as much as you like in that period). I ate the cooked buffet breakfast ad it was of an excellent standard ($17, or $12 for cold buffet)

The only not so great part was the staff disposition. Constant chattering at check in about social lives and how tired one member was. Not really what I want to hear! Staff were helpful when asked questions though (such as where the nearest supermarket was and how I could get hold of the airport shuttle bus (much cheaper than a taxi $15 one way versus $45 in a taxi one way)

I would not hesitate to stay here again and highly recommend to everyone!
Hobart was a great place to visit too-very beautiful and so peaceful

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2009

I stayed here for 2 nights.
The upside: good value buffet breakfast, 10 minute walk to Salamanca market,studio rooms are large, check in was quick and efficient, rooms are clean,good water pressure in the showers.
The downside:average, whilst the reception area was lovely, the rest of the hotel and rooms are so sparten that they feel cold and empty, tiny televisions.
Overall, the hotel was good to stay at with no specific complaints, but I have seen people describe it as luxurious, with laminate cupboards in bathhrooms and blue sinks, 30cm T.Vs, this is not my idea of luxury.However, it is very clean and spacious.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2009

Stayed for business to attend a conference at another hotel. As usual the Woolstore was perfect, with rooms that were spotless, good food, and helpful staff (though the young woman managing breakfast on 30 April needed to take her happy pills or perhaps needed to get some sleep before coming to work). I have stayed here on several occasions over the last few years and know that the place is almost faultless, hence my return business. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel

Address: 1 Macquarie Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Hobart
#6 Family Hotel in Hobart
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#9 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thinking Hobart? Think The Old Woolstore!Hobart's multi-award winning Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel has built a reputation among travellers as one of Australia's most welcoming and relaxing inner-city hotels. Renowned for spacious rooms and friendly hospitality, the property is centrally located a block from Hobart's waterfront and just a gentle stroll to Salamanca Place with its legendary market, restaurants, bars, galleries and waterside festivities such as the annual Taste Festival.Accommodation consists of a unique choice of fully serviced apartments and hotel rooms; the decor is contemporary and rooms immaculately presented. Apartments are fully self contained offering both laundry and kitchen facilities- perfect for preparing the gourmet produce you will likely collect on your travels through Tasmania!Hobart's best kept dining secret, Stockmans Restaurant, specialises in farm-fresh local produce and opens for breakfast and dinner daily. The Baaa Bar's blend of the old and new is the ideal place to sit back and relax with a glass of Tassie wine at the end of a day spent exploring the local vineyards and indulging in our world-famous offerings.All guests staying at the property can enjoy complimentary parking and use of the onsite gymnasium, guest lounge and business centre. Reception and room service operate 24/7. High speed internet access is FREE to all guests and is available in all rooms and most public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Old Woolstore Apartment Hobart
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.