We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, comfortable room.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel to your Saves list
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Macquarie Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great location, comfortable room.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Great location, 2 minutes walk to Constitution Dock and Salamanca. Plenty of restaurants and bars nearby. Very spacious and clean room. We had a studio apartment which was huge compared to many I've stayed in.

Efficient, friendly staff.

We ate out so can't comment on room service or restaurant, but it looked nice :)

Room Tip: We were on ground floor so no view. Higher rooms would have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie K, Director of Sales at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thanks for the 5/5 review Steve C.
Lovely to read you had a great stay with us and enjoyed our central location. Hope to see you again if you return to Tasmania.
In regards to you room tip we are a block behind the waterfront so tend not to sell the view but if you stay again feel free to ask for a higher floor to enjoy some of the views of the Hobart area.
Cheers,
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    333
    97
    26
    7
See reviews for
101
318
36
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

I have stayed more than once at this hotel - why?
It is conveniently located, it has a range of accommodation to suit both overnight guests and those wishing to stay longer and thus may want to cater for themselves. Individual dietary requirements can be catered for in room and in the restaurant. Parking is provided. Rooms are well furnished and internet access is available at minimal cost. For those wanting to hold a dinner, conference etc there are facilities to do so. The event manager is easy to work with and efficient.

Room Tip: Decide if you wish just accommodation or want self catering facilities included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie K, Director of Sales at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Hey Tassie-ite,
Return visit – great! We always love to hear from a repeat guest and so nice to see you mention why your stay with us a positive experience.
Our rooms are spacious and we offer free parking and Wi-Fi for all guests. As you mention we have a great events team onsite that are happy to help facilitate any sort of event you may have in mind.
Thanks again for the review,
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

This Apartment hotel is located in a terrific part of Hobart for exploring the wharves and Salamanca. They have a bar and restaurant which has 24 -hour room service - essential when two airlines somehow manage to ensure my partner and I arrived not only late, but hours apart from each other which meant separate dinner times. The rooms are spacious and clean, lovely toiletries, full kitchens, laundry in bathroom, separate lounge, free wi-fi. Excellent value.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie K, Director of Sales at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Hi 1602Bernadette,
Thanks for your review of your recent stay with us. Sounds like you had a bit of a tough start to your time in Hobart so I am glad to hear the services and facilities at our property allowed you to have some comforts when you both arrived.
Thanks for the positive comments of the rooms, sounds like you were in an apartment which is great for any visitor with all facilities offered.
Hope you enjoyed your time in Tasmania and would love to see you again.
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

I stayed there for a week recently as coach of a sporting team. The hotel is very well situated, close to everything you need. There were 2 teams in all, which meant 4 mini buses and I was most pleased that we were able to park these each day with no problems. The first thing I noticed was the friendliness and efficiency of the staff. We were in our rooms in no time. As the week went on nothing was too hard for the reception staff and cleaning staff. They were always polite and very helpful. We ate in the restaurant twice, the food was good and the organisation for our group was first class. The rooms were fine for our party, comfortable and clean. Showers had hot, strong water, something I value.
I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie K, Director of Sales at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thanks for the nice review after your group stayed with us. We welcome sporting teams and are pleased to hear you found the friendly staff service one of your first impressions.
We provide coach parking when it is available and it’s always nice to hear how much you appreciated the space.
Great to know the group enjoyed the comfortable facilities and all needs were well met, hope the teams had a successful week of matches whilst they were here!
Cheers,
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

My wife and I stayed in a Studio Apartment for 6 nights in August 2014. Accommodation was very good and we enjoyed a lovely breakfast each morning. We found the staff pleasant and obliging. When our daughter joined us for the last couple of nights, an extra bed was very quickly arranged and delivered to our apartment. The hotel is well located and in easy walking distance of the Hobart waterfront and Salamanca Place. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie K, Director of Sales at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Hi Bill P,
Thanks for the 5/5 review of your visit to The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel. Lovely to hear you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us, the Studio Apartments are well-appointed for those staying for either short or longer stays.
Glad you found our team was helpful arranging extra bedding for your daughter when she visited, our friendly staff are always happy to assist with any extra requests where possible.
Hope to see you again.
Regards,
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

In July I stayed here with my family (2A, 2C) in a 2 bed apartment (which was fantastic). So when I had to return to Hobart this week for business, I decided to stay here again, rather than the usual places I stay.

This time I choose a hotel room which suited me perfectly.

Good points:
- king bed
- free wifi
- free parking
- nice toiletries
- a bath (it is hard to find places with a bath so this is a huge plus for me!)

Bad points:
- had to switch the aircon off as it was a little noisy (but I am a light sleeper)

Had dinner in the restaurant - yummy, and also breakfast which was pretty standard for a hotel (but at least the poached eggs were soft - something that it nearly impossible to find at a hotel buffet!)

Overall, great value for money and I'll be back if visiting Hobart again. Previously I have stayed at the Lenna and the Davey Zero.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms require a bit of a walk to get to, so if you have lots of luggage use a trolley!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie K, Director of Sales at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Hi malomax,
Thanks for your review that you've posted after you two visits with us for leisure and business. Always nice to hear from return guests.
Our free Wi-Fi and parking are certainly handy for those like yourself that are travelling on business. Note your comments regarding the noise of the air-conditioning and have passed this onto management for review.
Great to know you enjoyed our Stockmans Restaurant during your stay, and good to know you would not hesitate to stay with us again.
Regards,
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

First time staying in Hobart and the woolstore was close to everything we wanted to see. Very handy. The room we had was heading toward the dated side of things bit still very comfortable and spacious with a lovely view.
We asked a staff member (jessica I think) for a recommendation on where to go in a Friday night and her suggestions were spot on! We had an excellent evening but unfortunately didn't get to thank her. She is an asset.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie K, Director of Sales at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Hi lauramaree11,
Hope you had a memorable time as your first visit to Hobart, we’d love to have you back!
We certainly note your comments regarding the rooms and understand each guest have their own view. Glad you found the rooms spacious and enjoyed the outlook.
Our front of house staff are very knowledgeable regarding local places to enjoy a night out, I will be sure to pass these comments onto Jess!
Cheers,
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel

Address: 1 Macquarie Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Hobart
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#7 Family Hotel in Hobart
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thinking Hobart? Think The Old Woolstore!Hobart's multi-award winning Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel has built a reputation among travellers as one of Australia's most welcoming and relaxing inner-city hotels. Renowned for spacious rooms and friendly hospitality, the property is centrally located a block from Hobart's waterfront and just a gentle stroll to Salamanca Place with its legendary market, restaurants, bars, galleries and waterside festivities such as the annual Taste Festival.Accommodation consists of a unique choice of fully serviced apartments and hotel rooms; the decor is contemporary and rooms immaculately presented. Apartments are fully self contained offering both laundry and kitchen facilities- perfect for preparing the gourmet produce you will likely collect on your travels through Tasmania!Hobart's best kept dining secret, Stockmans Restaurant, specialises in farm-fresh local produce and opens for breakfast and dinner daily. The Baaa Bar's blend of the old and new is the ideal place to sit back and relax with a glass of Tassie wine at the end of a day spent exploring the local vineyards and indulging in our world-famous offerings.All guests staying at the property can enjoy complimentary parking and use of the onsite gymnasium, guest lounge and business centre. Reception and room service operate 24/7. High speed internet access is FREE to all guests and is available in all rooms and most public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Old Woolstore Apartment Hobart
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.