We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Distinct charm Woolstore.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel to your Saves list
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Macquarie Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Distinct charm Woolstore.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Old Woolstore surely has a distinct charm. Enjoyed my stay. Huge big room. No complaint about the tiny window as view to the harbour would have certainly been blocked by the buildings on the road even it was big. But who needs a window for a two night stay after visiting MONA when your mind is still seeing those images.....

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie K, Director of Sales at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Hi jahar2014, thanks for the 4/5 review.
Glad to hear you enjoyed the original charm of The Old Woolstore and found the room was suitable.
Excellent to hear you went out and visited MONA during your time in Hobart, it is certainly a unique place that we recommend to all who visit.
Regards,
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    335
    99
    26
    7
See reviews for
102
321
36
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mackay, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Just spent a week at the Woolshed Apartment Hotel in Hobart. Great staff including the room service/cleaner staff - very friendly and obliging , Absolutely no view - the Grand Chancellor blocks the view to the harbour and the apartments near the road are noisy. We stayed in a studio apartment in the 'new' section. Cheap price, 1 block walk to the harbour/restaurants and 2 blocks to the Salamanca markets. Good for business travellers - but if you want a stay to remember with olde world ambience mixed with modern décor - aim for a place with harbour view and authentic décor like The Henry Jones Art Hotel. Expensive - but they would offer the modern Hobart experience. At the Woolstore - VERY hard beds, bar fridge only, TINY shower, leaking toilet, very noisy fan/light in the bathroom. Clothes dryer that kept stopping until reported and fixed, minimal plates, glasses etc. But great location and plenty of parking.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the older section of the hotel to get some ambience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie K, Director of Sales at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Hi Dale A,
Appreciate you making the review of your week long stay with us at the hotel here in Hobart.
With our hotel a block away from the water front we do not sell our views to guest but we do offer a great location within easy walking distance to the CBD and Hobart waterfront.

We recognise that bedding is a personal preference and sorry to hear you did not enjoy the bed during your stay. Please note we do also offer mattress toppers upon request.

Thanks for your comments on the room and I would hope you passed these issues on as soon as you found them to be of a problem. Our 24 hour reception is always willing to help and we have staff onsite all the time to assist with any maintenance issues.
Thanks for the positive comments on parking and location.
Regards,
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This hotel is located just north of the main wharf area with only a short stroll to town and Constitution Dock. A nice ten minute walk along the waterfront to Salamanca Place.

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment and we got a super deal. Shop around. The apartment had a good sized kitchenette and a full laundry with washer and dryer. The bed was comfortable and the whole unit was very clean. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, we had a late afternoon flight and they happily stored our baggage for us.

The downstairs bar is very cozy, but adequate. Full buffet breakfast was served in the restaurant and was $20 and there was quite a good selection, although no chef on duty to cook omelettes etc, although good value for the price level. The continental breakfast also had plenty of choice for $17. Easy access from hotel to freeway when catching taxi or shuttle as is on the way to the bridge. Didn't use the restaurant for dinner.

I highly recommend The Old Woolstore and I will definitely stay here again if I can get a good price on a room. This would be a good place to use as a base during your family stay in the Hobart area due to the kitchen and laundry facilities which could save a family on a budget plenty of time and money.

Room Tip: All floors well serviced by speedy lift however these are at the north end of the main building and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie K, Director of Sales at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
BobandWendy151,
Thanks for the comprehensive review! Pleasing to hear you enjoyed the location and the facilities at the hotel.

Thanks for the comments on friendly staff and the buffet breakfast available, glad you enjoyed the range offered.

Nice to know you would not hesitate in recommending us and we would love to have you stay with us again.
Regards
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Firstly the staff did NOT want to be there, so that was going to be a problem. we got the keys to our room and again problems, Leave windows open all day to get rid of smell, but it still lingered after we shut the window. must admit nothing really to write about other than the service was dreadful and the rooms smelt, they are the standards that the star rates do apply to surly ? the room was quiet a good size, view from our balcony ( which was extreamly small) was over looking a brick building,........BUT!!!!! breakfast was ok for a 3 and a half star hotel. also l think the swimming pool was up the street a little way as for a spa ????????

Room Tip: dont expect to much from the staff, simply very unhelpful and a little curt if you asked a question...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie K, Director of Sales at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Hi Mary 1949,
Thanks for taking the time to post a review. It is disappointing to hear you had such experience with our staff, our friendly team offer exceptional customer service and are always willing to help. I am sorry to hear you were not satisfied with the service standards you received. I would love to hear more about your time with us, please contact me at feedback@oldwoolstore.com.au

Our Apartment Hotel is a block back from the Hobart waterfront and we do not sell our views to guests. Our balconies are small in size but we only promote these as a Juliet balcony which provides guest the option take in the surrounds.

We offer complimentary passes to the Hobart Aquatic Centre which is a short walk from the hotel with spa baths available in our Executive Spa Apartments.
Regards
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

My partner and I stayed at the Old Woolstore after getting a great deal on Wotif. We had an apartment with views towards the Derwent river. The location of the Old Woolstore was central, only short walks to Salamanca and the CBD. We will definitely be staying here again when we visit Hobart next. Customer service was friendly, room was spotless and it was quiet even with a busy street below. We were on the eighth floor. Bed was a little bed hard for our liking but a minor issue.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie K, Director of Sales at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Hi Kate W,
Thank you for choosing to write a review on The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel and wonderful to hear that you will stay with us again next year. We recommend that when booking next time, check out the deals on our website.
Thanks,
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed there in a two bedroom apartment bit tired but very clean, very surprised as advertised as one bathroom with extra toilet this turned out to have a very nice vanity as well worked extremely well for two couples. Very close to restaurants and Salamanca Wharf, would stay there again.

Room Tip: Suggest if you want a really dark room with no outside light coming in choose apartment 13.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie K, Director of Sales at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Hi Penny B,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your stay with us. Great that you found the two bedroom apartment clean and that the additional facilities were suitable for two couples. To those reading this review our 4.5 star Apartments are AAA rated.

Lovely to hear you found the proximity to the wharf area ideal and I hope you made the most of your time down here exploring the Hobart surrounds. Great to know you’d stay with us again.

Referring to your room tip interesting to note that none of our 2 bed room apartments are apartment 13, if you’d like to clarify this please contact me at feedback@oldwoolstore.com.au
Thanks,
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Whilst we didn't use a lot of the amenities offered by this hotel during our recent stay, services and facilities that were offered looked good value and quite comprehensive. Room was immaculate, service was friendly and there was free movies and complimentary biscuits and nice toiletries. Next time we'll try room service.....

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie K, Director of Sales at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Hi Maria,
Thanks for your wonderful review of The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel. Very pleasing to receive great comments from guests.

Would love to see you again for another stay.

Regards,
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel

Address: 1 Macquarie Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Hobart
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#8 Family Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thinking Hobart? Think The Old Woolstore!Hobart's multi-award winning Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel has built a reputation among travellers as one of Australia's most welcoming and relaxing inner-city hotels. Renowned for spacious rooms and friendly hospitality, the property is centrally located a block from Hobart's waterfront and just a gentle stroll to Salamanca Place with its legendary market, restaurants, bars, galleries and waterside festivities such as the annual Taste Festival.Accommodation consists of a unique choice of fully serviced apartments and hotel rooms; the decor is contemporary and rooms immaculately presented. Apartments are fully self contained offering both laundry and kitchen facilities- perfect for preparing the gourmet produce you will likely collect on your travels through Tasmania!Hobart's best kept dining secret, Stockmans Restaurant, specialises in farm-fresh local produce and opens for breakfast and dinner daily. The Baaa Bar's blend of the old and new is the ideal place to sit back and relax with a glass of Tassie wine at the end of a day spent exploring the local vineyards and indulging in our world-famous offerings.All guests staying at the property can enjoy complimentary parking and use of the onsite gymnasium, guest lounge and business centre. Reception and room service operate 24/7. High speed internet access is FREE to all guests and is available in all rooms and most public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Old Woolstore Apartment Hobart
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.