We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but in need of a refurb” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel to your Saves list
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Macquarie Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location but in need of a refurb”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for the MoFO festival and it was great to be close to the action. Our 2br apartment was perfect for our group of 3 friends but the apartment's walls are paper thin and ventilation in the bathroom could have been better. Overall, clean but dated... But for the price, can't complain.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWSmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hi Jojopiz, glad you enjoyed the location and that the 2BD apartment was perfect for you and your friends. We are actually undertaking a refurbishment program now with kitchens and bathrooms the main focus. Hopefully you will return for Dark MOFO in June or again in Jaunary next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    388
    110
    28
    8
See reviews for
117
375
44
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Located in walking distance to Salamanca and the city, this offers a good restaurant and bar area for the evening.
With many local attractions within 10 mins from the hotel, lots of good restaurants, local shops are close by, with many gift and antiques as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWSmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and also for your feedback Lee H - we hope to welcome you back again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stopped by for a one night stay in early January having driven from Strahan. We were heading to the east coast and wanted to break up the drive. We were a party of 4,2 adults, 2 teenagers and this place suited our needs perfectly. We opted for the two room apartment which had a mezzanine floor above the lounge for the kids. It was quaint but fine.We had no problems parking but got in quite early.These apartments are perhaps a little bit dated but perfectly adequate and in a very interesting building. The position was just fantastic. A minute or two by foot to the docks, to an array of restaurants and a few minutes more to Salamanca and Battery Point. A very good base to explore Hobart on foot. Price seemed okay to me given there were 4 of us.
Mike, Melbourne,Vic

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWSmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thanks for your review Mike T, we hope to see you and your famly back in Hobart again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zephyr Cove, NV
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The hotel/apts. were nice, but nothing special. Some of the selling points is it has a washer/dryer, it is in a good location within walking distance to the harbour and the fun Salamanca district. The staff are very nice and helpful; when I checked in they said there was a charge for the 3rd person, when I showed them my reservation showing 3 people and the total price, they said the agency made a mistake. The women at the desk said she would have to check with her manager and she left us a note saying they would not charge us the additional fee. No arguments, to hassle, they just did the right thing---it was greatly appreciated. I would recommend this place if you want a no frills, basic accomodation, with all the aforementioned pluses with a good staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWSmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thanks for the review luckyriolnNV, I am pleased our location, staff and laundry facilities were appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed for two nights in a one bedroom apartment. The apartment had many good points such as two lounges, good kitchen and a lovely king bed. It was clean and comfortable but on the other side I have stayed at much more modern establishments for the price of this apartment. In fact better apartments with a breakfast included. The worst thing was whilst the television had Foxtel etc the picture was atrocious and looked like snow on the top of Mt Wellington. I don't sit and watch TV but when I do watch the news etc I do like to see what I'm watching.
The staff were friendly and this place is very clean and professional so I'm not complaining. It is in a good location but if you wish to be near Salamanca Place you have a long walk ahead of you.

Room Tip: Have a look before unpacking your bags.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWSmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Phil and Cathy,

Thanks for your feedback, we are glad you found the apartment clean and comfortable. Please accept our apologies that you had issues with your television reception during your stay - this is certainly not usual. Occaisionally guests do 'adjust' settings inadvertantly but this is something which can be easily fixed by one of our team members; for future stays please feel free to contact reception 24/7 with any questions/issues and we will do our best to assist right away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This was our last stop on a wonderful first trip to Tassie.

Based on the price, and the location (two streets away from the gorgeous Salamanca Bay), I was pretty happy with this hotel for one night. The free parking is also a bonus.

For those who can afford more, I would recommend looking elsewhere, as the rooms themselves are a bit tired.

That said however, the interior of the hotel is pretty interesting, we liked all the historical simulations around the lobby and hallways.

Also, being in the centre of the city, you still manage to get a great, quiet nights sleep.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWSmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We're pleased you enjoyed the location, free parking and history our hotel offered - and of course that you got a quiet, good night's sleep!

We are currently undergoing a refurbishment program to lift the look and feel of our apartments, hopefully you will choose to stay with us again so you can provide your feedback on these changes when you next return to Hobart!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Great location but hotel was very disappointing. Chose it based on reviews of friendly helpful staff and lots of parking - found both to not be the case. Friendly staff must have been on holidays because the staff we encountered simply couldn't be bothered helping us at all. Parking OK if you get back early to ensure a spot. Restaurant extremely poor - nil service and poor quality of food. When we arrived at 4pm there was rubbish and dirty glass outside our room. Whole place looked neglected. After such a great trip around Tassie, this was a disappointing end. Over priced too - look elsewhere!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWSmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear 746ballfamily746,

We are sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. If I could address each issue individually:

Staff - The first two weeks in January is perhaps the busiest time of the year for us but this is absolutely no excuse for unfriendly service. Please accept our sincere apologies. I would really appreciate further details of your experience so I can address your concerns with our team. If this is not too much trouble, I can be contacted on 03 6235 5355 (please ask for Kelly) or by email: k.luck@oldwoolstore.com.au.

Parking - Firstly, it's important to note we offer parking free of charge to all in-house guests. With 140 car spaces we have more onsite parking than any other CBD hotel, however we do not have enough spaces onsite if every room is occupied and each is travelling with a vehicle (which has never happened!) To combat this, we offer our guests parking vouchers to the near by Market Place Car Park at no charge. So even if both of our onsite car parks are full, our guests will always be able to enjoy complimentary parking.

Restaurant - again, if you would be kind enough to provide further information I can address with both our Food & Beverage Supervisor and Chef.

Glass outside room - Room Service operates 24 hours a day at The Old Woolstore and whilst regualr tray runs are conducted, we can not control when a guest will choose to place trays/empties in hallways once they are finished (I can only presume this was left by a neighbouring room).

746ballfamily746, I hope you will choose to contact me so we can improve on your experience for future guests.

Kind regards,
Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel

Address: 1 Macquarie Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hobart
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#7 Family Hotel in Hobart
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thinking Hobart? Think The Old Woolstore!Hobart's multi-award winning Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel has built a reputation among travellers as one of Australia's most welcoming and relaxing inner-city hotels. Renowned for spacious rooms and friendly hospitality, the property is centrally located a block from Hobart's waterfront and just a gentle stroll to Salamanca Place with its legendary market, restaurants, bars, galleries and waterside festivities such as the annual Taste Festival.Accommodation consists of a unique choice of fully serviced apartments and hotel rooms; the decor is contemporary and rooms immaculately presented. Apartments are fully self contained offering both laundry and kitchen facilities- perfect for preparing the gourmet produce you will likely collect on your travels through Tasmania!Hobart's best kept dining secret, Stockmans Restaurant, specialises in farm-fresh local produce and opens for breakfast and dinner daily. The Baaa Bar's blend of the old and new is the ideal place to sit back and relax with a glass of Tassie wine at the end of a day spent exploring the local vineyards and indulging in our world-famous offerings.All guests staying at the property can enjoy complimentary parking and use of the onsite gymnasium, guest lounge and business centre. Reception and room service operate 24/7. High speed internet access is FREE to all guests and is available in all rooms and most public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Old Woolstore Apartment Hobart
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.