We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing end to a wonderful Tassie holiday” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Hotel Hobart

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges Hotel Hobart to your Saves list
Rydges Hotel Hobart
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Argyle and Lewis St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Sydney, Austraia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Disappointing end to a wonderful Tassie holiday”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in room 47 for 3 nights with my partner. We were both shocked at how run down and unclean the suite seemed. I nearly cried when i walked in as this trip was a present to my boyfriend and we had stayed in some amazing accommodation in Launceston and Coles Bay just prior.
The entire suite is in desperate need of love and attention---grotty ceilings in the downstairs bathroom; scuff marks on curtains, walls and blinds; dirt behind fridge and on floors; noticeable stains on carpets. The bed in the main bedroom was too short to accommodate us comfortably (we are not even excessively tall!). There is also nowhere to comfortably sit in the lounge room- some old tatty chairs. My boyfriend chose to sit on the floor as the sofa was so uncomfortable. The "gym" shouldn't be advertised as one since it comprises of a few pieces of old cardio equipment thrown into the sauna & outdoor bathroom area. Put it this way, if you were leaving a rental property in this state, you wouldn't get your bond back!
The positives: the suite is spacious if you are travelling with a family; the pool is lovely; most staff were very friendly and helpful; the room service dinner we ate was delicious; free parking is handy; downstairs shower was good (upstairs one was unusable due to poor water pressure).
Honestly, would not stay here again or recommend to anybody unless a major refurb is completed to address the above issues.
Natalie

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Kent_Rydges, Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for the feedback, it is disappointed to read your comments regarding your stay and I assure you they have not been taken lightly. Our housekeeping department have been in this room and thoroughly cleaned the areas mentioned. On the positives you are right in saying that the hotel caters perfectly to families, with loads of complimentary car parking, large rooms, a pool, gym, sauna and the restaurant is kid friendly. I hope you have still taken some positive memories away with you from your trip to Tasmania.
All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    95
    85
    53
    59
See reviews for
67
126
20
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at Rydges in Hobart for two nights early January, during the heatwave. Our room was airconditioned and a very comfortable private layout for our 18yr old daughter and ourselves to share. The views from our windows, over the football oval, to Hobart below were beautiful. A pool in the grounds was an unexpected extra.The full breakfast that was included in our room rate was generous in choice and quantity and provided a hearty springboard for our day's activities. Free onsite parking is also a bonus. Having visited Hobart several times before we would certainly recommend Rydges to other travellers. It would seem wise however to check you have an airconditioned room with views when booking as there seems to be a variety of room types.

Room Tip: Airconditioned with Hobart city views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Kent_Rydges, Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for the feedback, I am glad to hear that the hotel catered to all your family’s needs during your recent stay. It is always satisfying to have our guest depart the hotel on such a positive note and wanting to share that experience with others. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to Hobart.
All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at Rydges Manor in early January 2013 when Hobart (and Rydges) was booked out . there is a main and presumably original Manor house with reception , the large restaurant , bar and lounge and meeting rooms and some accommodation
Additional 2 strorey wings have been added and we had a large suite comprisng bedrrom on entrance , newly furbrished bathroom and comfortable sitting room with rather tired furnishings.A "semi-kitchen" area includes sink, small microwave and crockery for 3.
There was some noise from the unit above. TV reception was variable but air con worked .

The restaurant at this Hotel is praised locally and dinner was excellent and well priced and breakfast (not included in our rate) allowed flexibility between full, continental and a la carte.There is a modest sized pool and small gym. Loads of free parking a plus compared to down town .

Rydges has disitant views over the city to water and hills which is very pretty at night

The negative for us was the 2.2 km uphill walk from the city with very limited bus service but taxis were readily available at $10 per trip, Good restaurants and cafes on Elizabeth Street are close Yes the Hotel is dated but that can also be described as traditional and personable in contrast to the sterility of some chain hotels. The staff were friendly and coped with the extremely busy holiday traffic

Room Tip: Perhaps an upstairs room would avoid any overhead noisefrom the room overhead
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Kent_Rydges, Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for the feedback. Our Executive Chef takes great pride in his work and appreciates your comments regarding your restaurant experience. As you mentioned we are not right in the city centre but is a light downhill stroll gets you into town pretty quickly, plus we have more than ample parking available for all types of vehicles. I am glad you have enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back the Rydges Hobart in the near future.
All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Sorell, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at Rydges two nights ago - first time in a long while, we had been told that it had undergone a refurbishment. Still the same; tired and dated and grubby.
No aircon, good opening windows but no screens so we spent the night sweltering.
Not cheap either - $169 for the two of us - I stay in Hobart regularly and I know this is a high rate for a double. I tried to use my Rydges Priority Member card but was told that only applied if you booked on line. Coincidentally, the online was cheaper anyway so I got stung twice.
I asked about the air con and was told that are in the superior rooms only.
I gave it another go but wouldn't bother again. Recommend to save your energy and go elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Kent_Rydges, Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Being a Priority Guest Rewards member you are right in saying that the best available rate is online on the Rydges website for our Priority Guest Rewards members. As you mentioned the air conditioners are in the superior rooms only, therefore if a different category has been booked it would not have air-conditioning, unfortunately due to the hotel running high occupancy over that period we were unable to offer you a superior room, maybe on your next visit.
All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Arriving on the hottest day in Hobart's history to discover there was no aircon wasn't the introduction we had hoped for but leaving that aside, our Manor King room was a good size and meant that our daughter had a comfortable pull down queen bed. Decor is very dated and much of the room was looking a bit tired with the bathroom definitely needing updating.

We didn't eat in the restaurant because there are plenty of much better (and cheaper) options just a few minutes away in the city (Garagistes - great coffee and Spanish Eggs)

Overall, the rates are pretty reasonable even if it's not a 5 star experience

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Kent_Rydges, Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thanks for the feedback. You are right in saying that our Manor King rooms are a good size and can cater up to 4 people. It is a shame that you did not dine in the Manor restaurant as I think you would be pleasantly surprised, with our local Executive Chef using local produce and the RISE at Rydges concept for breakfast. Hopefully on your next visit you will pop in for a bite, look forward to seeing you then.
All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We spend 2 or 3 nights in Hobart between Christmas and New Year every year now to enjoy the Taste Festival and just generally enjoy what Hobart has to offer that time of year. We have chosen Rydges as our accommodation as we find it is great value and the Manor Twin or King Rooms are perfect for us a family of four. These rooms consist of a bedroom which our girls sleep in and a living room with a pull down queen bed for us.

I have to admit that the rooms are somewhat dated and not always in perfect condition, but what can you expect for the excellent rates. The place is always clean, and we just like the feel of the place. However we did have a bit of an issue with the mattress on the pull down bed, it was a bit past it's use by date. Still had a good sleep though.

I can't understand people saying this place is overpriced. We have already booked for next year, 3 nights for a total of $411 for 4 people with buffet breakfast every day, and that includes new years eve. Other places charge astronomical fees on new years!

While the position requires driving to the city and the docks, it only takes a couple of minutes. And there is always parking available, unlike some places near the docks.

The staff are always friendly and helpful. On one stay when there was a problem with our booking and a bit of a delay, they were extremely apologetic and gave all 4 of us free drinks in the lounge bar while we waited.

This is our default place to stay every time we come to Hobart, and no doubt will continue to be for a while yet.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Kent_Rydges, Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
I must say you have chosen one of the best times of year to visit Hobart with the taste festival on and the warmer weather, Hobart is buzzing. I personally thank you for choosing to stay with us and for returning this time at the end of the year. It looks like you have booked our stay a minimum 3 nights special and got in at a fantastic rate. I appreciate the positive recognition of the staff and I will be sure to share the feedback with them. Let’s just hope that sunshine sticks around for a bit longer yet... looking forwards to welcoming you back soon.
All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This hotel is in a quiet location yet only a short drive back to Hobart harbour. The bed was super comfortable and while some of the decor is dated, we really enoyed the homely atmosphere. We also enjoyed a great steak at the Hotel restaurant, where the staff were really personable.This isn't a 5 star property yet we enjoyed our night here better than our previous accommodation. Elizabeth Street restaurant strip is just around the corner too.

Room Tip: Spacious rooms looking across the playing field next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges Hotel Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Hotel Hobart

Address: Cnr Argyle and Lewis St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Hotel Hobart 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Federation style hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rydges Hotel Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hobart Rydges Hotel
Rydges Hotel Hobart Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Hotel Hobart, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.