We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart to your Saves list
Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Salamanca Place, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Plan in Advance and Save!
Ranked #29 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ideal location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

My fiancé, parents and myself stayed in these serviced apartments. This ideal location made it easy to visit and see the sites of Hobart and the harbor. Onsite parking was tight and constantly full. The service needs some improvements as we had to ring and request cleaning products with some sections of the apartment being ignored and not cleaned. Overall these we recommend these apartments to other travelers.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Benjamin H,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with Somerset on Salamanca. It is wonderful to read that you found our location in Salamanca assisted you and your family being able to experience all the sites and excitement of beautiful Hobart. We appreciate your comments regarding the limited parking at our property, due to our central location parking is very restricted in Hobart. Though it is too late for your current stay, please feel free to contact our Guest Services Team who would be only too happy to assist with alternative parking options close to the property if you choose to stay with us again.

We are also disappointed to read the housekeeping service did not meet your expectations, please accept our apologies. We will be sure to follow up your comments with our Housekeeping Supervisor, to ensure it won’t happen again in the future.

Thank you Benjamin H, we appreciate the time it took for you to provide us with your valued feedback.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Somerset on Salamanca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    32
    17
    7
    3
See reviews for
19
21
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
meaganl78
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed here for two nights. We arrived at the apartments only to realize there was no reception for the apartments and we had to walk a good 10-15 minutes to the other somerset on the pier to check in and get our keys. Quite annoying. Besides that it was clean, quite and in an excellent location.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear meaganl78,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback of your recent stay at Somerset on Salamanca. It is lovely you enjoyed the central location of our apartments in Salamanca Place, we feel very lucky to be in such a unique spot in beautiful Hobart.

We are disappointed to learn you had difficulty checking into your apartment, we do try to make every effort to let guests know that our 24-hour reception is located at our sister property - Somerset on the Pier Hobart. By sharing facilities it allows us to provide guests such as yourself, with access to additional services and amenities to ensure a relaxed and enjoyable stay.

If you feel comfortable providing us with how you booked we will be able to review how we house the information in this forum, please email us at frontoffice.sop@the-ascott.com , as we would like to make sure we review the information we are providing.

If you are every in Hobart again, we do hope to welcome you back to Somerset.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Somerset on Salamanca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Echuca, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed here for four nights on our honeymoon, the room was great, the bed was okay, being a joined king is never the best comfort wise but we found it fine and managed a couple of late mornings. Sadly I found that the bathroom was not very user friendly, the shower head being so ridiculously small made it very hard for my new wife to wash her long hair, as well as the glass shower screen being absolutely useless as the water streams out onto the bathroom floor creating a very unsafe slippery surface. The view of the building next door is a shame as it takes away the waterfront but as far as location it is absolutely unbeatable with the line of sensational restaurants and eateries along Salamanca Place and so close to the Elizabeth Street Pier, and the waterfront attractions etc. The off site check in needs to be addressed as if not for our taxi driver we would not have known. The staff were very polite and obliging, our room safe was inoperative but was swiftly rectified by maintenance. Parking onsite is very limited (a permit from Somerset on the Pier is required for display) but we managed along with a bit of off site parking in Salamanca Place, just watch out for the council parking officers, they are red hot!!! Overall we were quite pleased with this place and would not hesitate to return, the whole Hobart experience is one to behold - a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Bob D,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your honeymoon at Somerset on Salamanca and congratulations on your nuptials! We feel very privileged you chose to stay at Somerset on Salamanca during this special time. We also appreciate you providing the great tip to our TripAdvisor community on parking options aswell for our Somerset properties in Hobart.

We are disappointed to read however the bathrooms didn’t meet your expectations. Do let us know next time you are staying with us, as we can request a room type which may be more to your liking in regards to the bathroom configuration.

From all the team at Somerset, we hope had a wonderful honeymoon and hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Somerset on Salamanca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed as a family in a two bedroom apartment. Check in is off site but is in a great location with convenient on site parking and accessible to some really great restaurants. Good amenities and very clean. We would stay again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear BrianE1969,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay at Somerset on Salamanca Hobart.

We feel very privileged to be so close to the beautiful waterfront in Salamanca and it is pleasing to read you enjoyed our location and had a pleasant stay with us. We agree Salamanca has some of the best restaurants in Hobart!

We hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Somerset on Salamanca Hobart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

At first we want to book Somerset on the Pier. Unfortunately that one is fully booked. We then pick this one. We stayed at the 2 bedroom deluxe. Optimal size well equipped good location easy access. Pantry is bit small if cooking for a full meal it would be a challenge. Salad and simple pasta would be fine with cold cut, cheese and wine is the best option.

It's just refurnished with strong paint smell which made the stay not too pleasant. A complete contrast with the fresh air in Tasmania!!

Room Tip: Prefer the 2/F than the G/F and sea view is better than the city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne G, Senior Marketing Manager at Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear AnnisaTong,

I am sorry to read we could not accommodate you at Somerset on the Pier but I am glad you were still able to stay with us, at the spacious Somerset on Salamanca.

We were recently undergoing maintenance to improve the décor of the property, we apologise if the paint smell hindered your enjoyment of your stay.

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review for Somerset on Salamanca, we hope you choose to stay Somerset again.


Warmest regards,


Joanne G
Senior Marketing Manager
Somerset on Salamanca Hobart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Arrived to be greeted with an overpowering horrible smell of fried lamb wafting throughout the apartment.....sheets and towels stunk of fried lamb....our clothes and hair reeked of lamb from some inconsiderate idiots in-house barbecue the night before!!! carpet dirty, beds concave and uncomfortable.... Could not be given another room and we couldn't find another hotel for the night Hobart packed with lots going on....revolting experience! Will not stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc G, Residence Manager at Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Maria A,

Thank you for your feedback.

My sincere apologies that this occurred. I was made aware of this upon your arrival and instructed one of my guest service officers to put an air purifier in your apartment to eliminate the smell. We had a guest try to have a BBQ in an apartment which caused this issue.

Hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future so we can ensure you have an enjoyable stay.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Location SO close to Salamanca Markets which are a must-do if you're in Hobart on a Saturday. I contacted Management prior to booking to ensure the 2 bedroom unit would be suitable for our stay as we were travelling with our elderly mum who needs wheelchair assistance. Although the apartment was not actually designed for wheelchairs, it was ideal for her with an ensuite with a walk in shower and plenty of room (as she can take a few steps). Staff went out of their way to ensure our stay was comfortable, allocating a ground floor unit close to the entrance. The only drawback for us was the parking as 'first come, first served' basis. We were fortunate to have been able to get parking each evening, but we would have had a problem if there had been no spaces left as Mum really can't walk more than a couple of steps and the area is quite hilly and not really conducive to wheelchair pushing. For disabled guests, it would be good if a car parking space could be allocated and confirmed. Apartment was very clean, kitchen well appointed and furnishings quite tidy and clean. We too found the beds in need of updating but we have read that new bedding is on its way! We had a bit of a view of the harbour which was wonderful when mum got tired and just wanted to sit with a cup of tea looking out at the lovely view. I would highly recommend this property for its location and the way Management went out of their way to assist us with our requests. We're booking in again this weekend for a couple of nights and will always stay at this (or their sister property on the Pier) when in Hobart. Well done!!!

Room Tip: Travellers with some mobility issues can make a request and will be heard and assisted. Ground floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne G, Senior Marketing Manager at Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear wilsoncm65,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with Somerset on Salamanca , it is our pleasure making sure you enjoyed your stay with us and we could make it as comfortable as possible for yourself and your family.

We have allocated you a designated parking spot for the entirety of your next stay this weekend, do let us know if we can be of any further assistance before you check-in again.

We will certainly be looking into keeping a designated disabled spot moving forward, as it is a wonderful idea.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Warmest regards

Joanne G
Senior Marketing Manager
Somerset on Salamanca Hobart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart

Address: 8 Salamanca Place, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hobart
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historic Salamanca Place, home to the famous Salamanca Market and within Hobart’s magnificent and exciting waterfront, Somerset on Salamanca is your ideal residence for comfort and convenience. Wander around the city only moments away and take in the classic architecture of Hobart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset On Salamanca, Hobart Hotel Hobart
Somerset On Salamanca, Hobart Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.