We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart to your Saves list
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Davey St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Expensive but excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed there only for five days but wished we would've stay longer. Location is perfect, facilities are fantastic, staff is super-friendly, decoration is neat, food is delicious, we went to the gym and indoor swimming pool everyday. Of course, everything is expensive: accommodation, food, internet, movies, etc. The only thing you don't have to pay for is parking.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    476
    134
    31
    18
See reviews for
157
416
61
263
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Robina, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We have a child with dietary requirements and the kitchen staff were fantastic. They made our stay in Hobart wonderful. It has an amazing position and is close to the cbd. Caters for conferences very well.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed here in August 2013 for a conference. Situated in a great spot, close to everything. We stayed on the 14th floor with a water view which was lovely. Unfortunately it was noisy from the pedestrian traffic beeper and cars outside:( Room was very clean but does need a face lift. Great atmosphere in the bar downstairs but unfortunately I didn't like the brekkie. Due to the size of the conference the lifts 3 of them, but only 2 working, were very slow. The staff were very good and helpful.

Room Tip: I think perhaps mountain side might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We have just enjoyed a wonderful weekend away in Hobart. While I loved at the smaller more exclusive hotels I was sooooo happy with our choice. I think this hotel has thr best views in town. It was excellent priced accommodation - awesome view, bed and pillows very comfy and perfect location

Room Tip: Ask for one with harbour view - it is worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed last night, had a 'Superior Mountain view room' on floor '20' (which is really 13 floors high) - top floor, stunning views of the city and mountains, with a very large window to soak in the view. nice furniture and decor and nice bathroom. The staff were very kind and helpful, (reception lent me a charger for my phone) - First time in Hobart, will be my first stop for any future visits. - Just one thing, like 99% of other hotels they charge ridiculous prices for breakfast ($29)

Room Tip: Choose the superior room, I didn't see the older rooms but the refurbished rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Beautiful lobby, bar and restaurant. Rooms very clean and comfortable with a variety of pillows :-) Great view of the harbour. Within walking distance of Hobart City and Salamanca. As we were there for a karate tournament didn't get the chance to use the pool or gym amenities so can't comment on those. Initial booking done by Karate Victoria, but I had booked an additional night after that. Received phone call to say I should have checked out, even though I had received email confirmation of extra night. Had to cancel the rest of my day at the tournament to return to hotel and sort it out. By the time I got there, they had found my email - didn't bother calling me to tell me this and save me the trip back! Their attitude was as if they were doing ME a huge favour letting me stay an extra night even though it was their error.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

On business in Hobart Wednesday 5th Sept to 6th Sept 2013 and stayed at The Grand Chancellor.
From the moment I entered the building, the service by all staff (be they Reception, Porters Cleaning, Restaurant and Bar), was one of complete friendliness, politeness and a genuine willingness to help.
All smiled and greeted you - very warm, welcoming and friendly- can't say I have experienced this atmosphere in a long time. Especially loved the way the cleaning staff looked you in the eye, smiled and asked how your day was going. The staff should be commended (give them a pay rise :) )
The room was first class and on level 18, extremely clean and the view over the harbour was sensational. The cleaning staff even found my missing cuff link, called me and posted it home to me. I stay at many large city hotels and this one beats them all hands down!
I am now organising a holiday just to go back and "chill out" with my wife and enjoy this place.
I have in the past read comments that have been negative about the hotel, but I would most certainly just discount them - I can’t actually think of something negative to say about this place.
Tip: Make sure you ask for a harbour view high up in the building – you won’t be disappointed.

Room Tip: Tip: Make sure you ask for a harbour view high up in the building – you won’t be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart

Address: 1 Davey St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Hobart
#3 Business Hotel in Hobart
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart 4.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the waterfront in central Hobart, Hotel Grand Chancellor provides you with the ultimate in accommodation with majestic views over the Derwent River, Mt Wellington and the city.Just a stone's throw from the city as well as all of Hobart's many tourist attractions, Hotel Grand Chancellor is the ideal base for your Tasmanian holiday or business trip.All rooms are 32 Sq m in floor space and furnished with a king or two double beds and completed with a MODERN contemporary décor to suit all traveller alike. Ensuite marble bathrooms are spacious and include a bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hobart Grand Chancellor
Grand Chancellor Hobart
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.