We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff and hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart to your Saves list
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Davey St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff and hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I stayed here for two nights while in Hobart.

The hotel was a lovely place to return to at night and the view over the harbour amazing even though I only paid for a hill view room I got the sea view.

I used the pool which was clean and well set out.

The staff were so helpful and considerate that I felt like I was some sort of important person!

Room Tip: Of course the rooms with the sea view are nicer and if you pay more you can book one but if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    417
    126
    26
    14
See reviews for
131
355
52
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We recently organised a conference here which was over 2 days with 220 delegates. I personally didn't stay at this hotel but others who did were pleased with the accommodation.

As far as a conference venue, it worked very well. Location is fabulous and you get glimpses of the views all day long as you wonder between sessions. The main conference room was set up classroom style and it worked very well. The staging team was excellent - we had no issues at all with presentations and technology. The expo was held in another large room and again the process of set up and take down was smooth and seamless. The food during the day (we had our conference dinner elsewhere) was excellent with some delicious curries and hearty food. The staff were very helpful and polite both in the conference area and in the reception and bar.

The only disappointment was that the bar did close at around 12:30am after the conference dinner which is the time when everyone has headed back to the hotel and are ready for a couple of quiet drinks before bed. It may have been a licencing issue, but it would have been good if management had extended the opening hours for this one night.

An excellent conference overall and I would recommend this venue for a well organised and professional experience.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Recently spent a few nights at this hotel for a conference. It provided what you would expect of a large hotel of this standard. Service was good, rooms quite nice and well appointed and the overall hotel facilities (business centre, function facilities, gym, pool, etc) were all very good.

The location of the hotel is excellant, right near Constitution Dock and within easy walking distance of many restaurants, shopping, etc.

Overall, a very nice hotel to stay at coupled with a great handy location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Couldn't fault the hotel. Comfortable beds good size rooms and great view. Heated indoor pool, sauna and gym were an added bonus. Easy walk to markets. Cheap parking. Had dinner ok but didn't meet expectations of photos and hotel write up.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

There is no denying this hotel's outlook and location, the views over the working harbour of Hobart are stunning but it comes at a cost, it is right smack on the main road into Hobart and on level 11 (although it says level 11 it is about 4 floors up!) the early morning noise is intrusive - perhaps higher floors would not be so noisey. The rooms are of good size but lack any soul. I am not a big fan of light pine coloured timber nor huge desks in rooms - they do a lot of corporate and conference groups I guess. Underneath the TV there was an attempt to hide all the many cords in a wooden box but this is not working and looked very messy - same in a friends room. The bathrooms are also dated, left behind from the 80's Sheraton marble look with a totally useless exhaust fan. The kingsize bed was very very firm but surprisingly I slept well on it. If I thought the bed was hard then the two armchairs were concrete! They were not in any stretch of the imagination comfortable. Still the view makes up for its failings - and the cleanliness of the place cannot be faulted. Would not enjoy staying here though in one of the rooms at yhe back sold as mountainview rooms.

Room Tip: Go as high a floor as possible and pay the extra for a harbour view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for four nights in a Mountainview room. Our room was upgraded at checkin which was pleasant suprise. The room was clean and spacious, the king sized bed was very comfortable. Our only concern with the room was the lighting which was quite dull in both the room and bathroom and hard to read in bed using only the bedside light. We found the staff to be friendly and courteous. We had breakfast at the hotel daily as it was nice and warm on the cold mornings, had a good range of food on the buffet, friendly staff and a lovely view overlooking the habour. The enjoyed walking around the habour from the hotel to eateries and galleries at Salmanca Place and it was central for our boat trips to MONA and Bruny Island. We would stay at this hotel again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This was probably the cleanest hotel we have stayed in - no signs of anyone staying before us. It looked to be very recently renovated. Comfy King bed. Friendly reception staff, great location. The views from the water view side would be lovely - we had a mountain view room. Hated the car park! Would definitely recommend this hotel!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart

Address: 1 Davey St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Hobart
#3 Business Hotel in Hobart
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart 4.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the waterfront in central Hobart, Hotel Grand Chancellor provides you with the ultimate in accommodation with majestic views over the Derwent River, Mt Wellington and the city.Just a stone's throw from the city as well as all of Hobart's many tourist attractions, Hotel Grand Chancellor is the ideal base for your Tasmanian holiday or business trip.All rooms are 32 Sq m in floor space and furnished with a king or two double beds and completed with a MODERN contemporary décor to suit all traveller alike. Ensuite marble bathrooms are spacious and include a bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hobart Grand Chancellor
Grand Chancellor Hobart
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.