We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart to your Saves list
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Davey St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great central location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This hotel is in a great location with magnificent views of the harbour and Mt Wellington. It's central to Salamanca markets, art galleries and pubs and cafes. The rooms are comfy, well appointed and spacious. Staff friendly. A guest laundry is also very handy.

Breakfast in the restaurant could do with a revamp and reorganization. The staff haven't quite got entry right, resulting in long queues to get in and we had to ask 3 times one morning for coffee. Also pricey for what you get. Better off going to the cafe next to the Henry Jones Art Hotel (which is awesome by the way, but too expensive for our budget).

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    476
    134
    31
    18
See reviews for
157
416
61
263
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I am sure there are a lot of charming boutique hotels in Hobart, but for location and the view over the harbour, the Hotel Grand Chancellor is hard to beat. However, it is quite pricey (by my standards at least!). I stayed here for a conference recently and thoroughly enjoyed both the hotel and Hobart itself. My room was on the 12th floor with great views of the harbour and marina. Hotel staff were extremely helpful and courteous, the room was well-appointed and a generous size. Definitely recommended if in your price range.

Room Tip: Ask for harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This was our second stay here and this time we had a waterfront view on the newly refurbished 14th floor. Worth every cent for the waterfront view. Could have just stared out of the window most of day! Just beautiful!! The room was comfortable, clean and the staff were helpful and welcoming, starting with the wonderful young porter who took our bags up and the lovely housekeeping staff. We arrived a couple of hours early and were expecting to just leave our bags, but were pleasantly surprised to be given our room early. We cannot fault our 3 night stay. Very happy. Only 1 gripe - no bathrobes or slippers - but a very minor point.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

A great place to stay in Hobart, with respectful privacy, and you could easily forget you had neighbors. Great views from every floor, lovely stylish decor, and great facilities. You are right there on the waterfront, and as close to the CBD as one could get! The bar was cozy and comfortable, and the formal dinner function we attended while we were there was very well catered for. I stayed with some family members who were part of a group from interstate and overseas. Everyone we spoke too, thought their experience at the Grand Chancellor Hotel was highly commendable.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the city rather than the water, and were not disappointed. A room with a water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Grove, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The GC is probable one of the best hotels I've stayed at. The views are spectacular (even on the rear side they're not to bad) and the bed and pillows were so so so comfortable. Unlike some inner city hotels, there wasn't any traffic (external) noice - or (internal) hall way noise. I can't wait to go back, and as a regular business traveller... I don't often say that.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Seems the hotel has had a revamp, I stayed here a few years ago and it felt very tired. It's now a light bright clean and cheery. Friendly staff good sized clean comfortable rooms

Good gym with all you need, right on waterfront with good runs.

Only downside.....forget room service. Cold and barely edible! But there are many great restaurants in town

Room Tip: Go high......sea view is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondi, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed in a 17th floor mountainview room for 2 nights. The hotel is located right across for the docks and in walking distance to just about everything in Hobart. The King bed was very comfy and the bathroom great - powerful, hot shower and large mirror that did not fog ! Underground Hotel parking was cheap and easy to get to. Our only complaint was one applicable to many Aussie hotels : no free internet.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart

Address: 1 Davey St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Hobart
#3 Family Hotel in Hobart
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart 4.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the waterfront in central Hobart, Hotel Grand Chancellor provides you with the ultimate in accommodation with majestic views over the Derwent River, Mt Wellington and the city.Just a stone's throw from the city as well as all of Hobart's many tourist attractions, Hotel Grand Chancellor is the ideal base for your Tasmanian holiday or business trip.All rooms are 32 Sq m in floor space and furnished with a king or two double beds and completed with a MODERN contemporary décor to suit all traveller alike. Ensuite marble bathrooms are spacious and include a bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hobart Grand Chancellor
Grand Chancellor Hobart
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.