We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“waste of time” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery

Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery
Dunn Place, Hobart, Tasmania 7001, Australia
+61 3 6165 7000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 46 Attractions in Hobart
Type: Art Museums, History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Art that inspires you. Cultures that connect you. Stories that move you. The Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery is a Tasmanian Government organisation.
Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“waste of time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Too much focus on old history and doesn't really explain the FULL history of events which made Tasmania what it is today. There was no guidance and we had the feeling that the whole thing had just been thrown together. They were trying to modernise the museum and instead turned it into a farce with limited focus on the settlement. Many of the Tasmanians there were complaining they felt guilty but the lack of focus on there culture. The new art exhibit they had there was terrible made no sense at all. Also the security guards or supervisors follow you round like your going to steal something.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath U, Communications Officer at Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to TMAG. We're sorry that your experience was not what you hoped, and will pass on your feedback to management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    71
    25
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wallan, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“very good staff definitely a must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Staff we're knowledgeable and very glade we visited here, the history was well presented very clean, well spread out, guided tour available but can do it yourself !

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath U, Communications Officer at Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review of TMAG, and our staff in particular. We're really pleased you enjoyed your visit, and look forward to welcoming you back whenever you're next in Hobart.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Surprisingly very interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I thought this would be a bit ho hum, but found it very interesting. Partly because it is part museum and part art gallery, so the exhibits are eclectic and more encompassing. I normally would go to an Art Gallery so found the museum parts of this fascinating.... I loved seeing the Tas Tigers, so sad. The only exhibit I found difficult was the Antartic one which seemed to be too busy visually for comfort. There was lots of comfortable sofas and chairs to sit on which I found welcome. We had a very light lunch at the cafe too - nothing to write home about, but nothing wrong with it either. The museum had some fabulous "tool kits" for children to wear whilst they were there... Well done Museum Curators!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath U, Communications Officer at Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your visit to TMAG. We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us, do come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great collection, kids well looked after”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The TMAG is set in a beautiful old building and is fantastic inside having recently been refurbished. Entry is free but a donation is recommended.

A kids 'tool kit' belt was loaned to our 3 year old. Brilliant idea! It contained a pencil and sketch pad, finger puppets, binoculars and other bits and pieces. While we enjoyed wandering through the collection our toddler was able to stop and draw or amuse herself with the other contents. There were chairs and benches in almost every room. Had it not been for the tool kit, we wouldn't have been able to stay as long as we did.

The collection is deceptively large and you could easily spend many hours there. We enjoyed seeing the Thylacine display in particular.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath U, Communications Officer at Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review of TMAG! We're so glad you enjoyed your visit, in particular our Museum Toolkit. We look forward to welcoming you back whenever you're next in Hobart.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Free and interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This museum is definitely worth a visit. Housed in the old storehouse, the exhibits are across three floors and include an excellent display about Indigenous-European race relations when Tasmania was first settled. Entry is free and the museum also offers guided tours.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath U, Communications Officer at Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your visit to TMAG. We're so glad you enjoyed your time with us - do come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery also viewed

 

Been to Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.