We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love lost” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Drifters Internet Cafe - CLOSED

Drifters Internet Cafe
33 Salamanca Place | Shop 9, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
+61 362246286
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Restaurant details
Hobart
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Love lost”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I had lunch at Drifters with a friend this week. What a disappointment. I have been a regular at this cafe for the past 5 years and loved it's homely style, crumbs on the seats and great value lunch specials. A quiet oasis tucked away downstairs, with convenience of internet connection and wifi for the online bunch.
However, new owners, the boats on the ceiling are gone, and it is a tired yawning cavern without the previous style. The menu does not differ much, burgers, breakfast, pizza but the price has gone up (I paid $12 for less than what I used to get for $8.50) and there is less on the plate. So much could be done with this place, a real missed opportunity.
Sadly, I will move on to Dr Coffee or Banjos next time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    3
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Fading love”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Drifters has been there forever and has always been an old favourite from the time our kids were babies (now teenagers). Its hidden away but well priced (although not as well priced as it used to be perhaps) compared to the other higher profile eateries surrounding. However, there're are changes afoot, and I'm not sure thay are fore the better over the short term. The decor used to be clutterded and homely but is now sparse, highlighting the wear and tear of the room. The food is still good but basic and lacking in any those little extras that make a difference. If you are after basic food without the 'Salamanca experience' then this is a good quiet place to sit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I love Drifter's, it's a favourite lunchtime haunt as the menu is cheap and cheerful, good service and tasty quick food. Great for a quick sandwich or coffee.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good coffee personal service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Have eaten here a couple of times but usually make it a stop for take away coffee. It's a great alternative to the other commercialised places in the area. Here you are always treated personally and made feel at home.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“nice nautical theme”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

I had lunch here on my February trip, it's kind of beguiling, you can either enter at the end of this cute little arcade off Salamanca or the side street at the other end of the cafe. I had a toasted sandwich and it was nice but you know, what can you do with a toasted sandwich that makes it distinctive from anywhere else? What makes Drifters stand out is the decor, it's very charmingly and tastefully done out in a nautical theme, with a mini-sail or large yacht model hanging above the counter and a couple of life savers on the walls I think etc. With its prime Salamanca location, it's very sensitively tailored to both the tourist market and the local culture what with the yachting activity on the Derwent and consequently exhibits just a touch of that characteristic Tasmanian quirkiness and charm.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Drifters Internet Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drifters Internet Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.