We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This pleasant hotel was good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fountainside Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Fountainside Hotel to your Saves list
Fountainside Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Brooker Avenue, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“This pleasant hotel was good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We chose this hotel based on recommendations in the Hobart forum from the local TA Destination Experts.

It was very reasonably priced and well located. The free onsite parking was good. Our room was comfortable and clean. The staff were very pleasant. I was impressed with gluten free and non-dairy options offered in the breakfast. We'll be back here on our next trip to Hobart.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    317
    37
    5
    4
See reviews for
112
462
63
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We chose this hotel partly because it was one of the cheaper ones so close to the wharf. What value for money! We were on the top floor so little to no traffic noise. Very comfortable, nicely presented, clean room and good service. Free on-site parking very handy. Cheapest mini bar I have ever seen and breakfast was plentiful and good quality.
We would definately stay again.

Room Tip: Top floor superior king room is worth every cent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Had a night here recently and the hotel is in a good locality about a 5 minute walk to nearby Constitution dock. The service was good and the rooms very spacious and clean. The rooms are nice decorated and it has a big tv with fox tv. Parking is free and on site. The only downside is there is no gym if your into that sort of thing. Good city hotel and reasonably priced.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We were so impressed with this hotel. Yes it is beside a roundabout, but lets face it, its Hobart not Paris so the traffic wasn't that bad. We had one of the noisiest rooms (14) and we slept very well (including our 5yr old) The rooms are basic but very clean and comfortable, with nice toiletries. The mini bar is excellent value and so is the breakfast we had. Yes the breakfast is basic, but there is plenty of it and we found to be quite good quality and well cooked and tasty (and we've eaten a few hotel brekkies over the last few yrs), so we were very happy. The bread was delicious. It is close to everything that it needs to be close to and the staff were lovely. Would stay here again with no hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I stayed here for a night and the Hotel is good for those wanting a basic room with no trimmings.

The restaurant meals were cheap but so was the tasteless steak I ate. Being close to Salamanca I would recommend that you eat out.

Would I stay again..probably not. It did the job but the hotel needs a facelift and modernising.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barwon Heads, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Booked the Fountainside Hotel for our weekend in Hobart because of all the fantastic reviews both on Booking.com and Trip Advisor. Were not disappointed as all the positive comments were spot on! Rooms are tastefully decorated with everything you need, minibar with supermarket prices and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. For $11.80 each the buffet breakfast is wonderful value and the hotel is very centrally located, as easy walk to the waterfront and Salamanca Market. We also had a hire car and there was plenty of on-site parking, you could easily come on go as you pleased - no waiting for the valet to retrieve your car each time - and there was no time that there wasn't a park for us (and the hotel was fully booked). Really can't find anything negative to say about our stay at the Fountainside Hotel! Excellent value hotel right in the middle of the city! Don't be fooled by the older outside exterior. We'll certainly be back, next time we'll be taking our kids too as they also have family rooms as well!

Room Tip: Some of the reviews said that they found the traffic noise from the adjacent roundabout excessive, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice on my travels to Hobart. The price is great and the rooms are clean and well maintained. The well priced minibar is fantastic! We always got the breakfast in the morning, it was easy, cheap and delicious. The staff are always very friendly, it definitely feels a lot more like a private hotel than a big chain. The first time we stayed we were far away from the elevator and it was quiet and private. The second time we were right in front of an elevator and next to a bigger family room. The second time gave a lot of noise and definitely didn't feel as private. However I still recommend this hotel to everyone for value and comfort. It is within walking distance of the main part of the city as well as Salamanca Square.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fountainside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountainside Hotel

Address: 40 Brooker Avenue, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hobart
#4 Best Value Hotel in Hobart
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#4 Business Hotel in Hobart
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fountainside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal address in Hobart for both business and leisure. Walk to the CBD, Historic Waterfront and Salamanca and it's an easy drive to all main attractions in Southern Tasmania. Quiet 4 star rooms with luxurious beds, and air-conditioning for a great nights sleep. Broadband internet, Austar, offstreet parking, breakfast and dinner prices available for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fountainside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountainside Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fountainside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.