We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fountainside Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Fountainside Hotel to your Saves list
Fountainside Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Brooker Avenue, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
hobart
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A gem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

I stayed at the Fountainside Hotel Hobart with a touring group. On first impression of the building our hearts sank. " Not another Tacky hotel". How wrong we were! The rooms are well thought out and very spacious,and spotless with great views. Like many we were concerned about noise from the busy road but even my friends on lower floors could not hear the traffic due to soundproofed rooms. More surprises came our way when we discovered the bar and mini bar prices and the homely atmosphere, not to mention the yummy fully cooked help yourself breakfast . We did not have dinner at the hotel, however other guests informed us that we should. All the staff were friendly and always smiling and helpful, even when arriving as a group unannounced for late night drinks we were made to feel at home. This Hotel was the accommodation highlight of our tour. Unpretentious , Comfortable , Friendly and a joy to come home to after a busy day. And yes the beds are too comfortable. They do need to deal with the lift, but it gets you there and anyway we thought it was rather fun. A great stay. Thanks Fountainside and staff.

  • Liked — great rooms with sensible prices. Friendly and homely
  • Disliked — no complaints
  • Stayed July 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    317
    37
    5
    4
See reviews for
112
462
63
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2008

I have been staying at the Fountainside Hotel in Hobart and have been extremely impressed with the service here. The staff are friendly and professional and nothing seems too much for them in terms of helping you. A fantastic manager and very comfortable rooms. Just a couple of examples of how they go the extra distance. They switched over the pre-programmed Austar channels for me so i could watch a sports program I was dying to see. They organised for my washing to be done even though it was outside the times advertised in their compendium. Small things may be but they made a big difference to by stay here after being on the road for the last two weeks. Excellent first rate service! Five stars.

John Young
CBSR

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2008

After reading a few reviews before leaving home we decided to take a chance and book a couple of nights with the option to leave if we had to. The hotel (for the price) far exceeded our expectations. This experience is what travelling should be like and it is obvious that it is owned or managed by people who really feel and care about people.
The rooms were excellent, great bed and bathroom; the mini bar is just wonderfully stocked and supermarket priced, the meals were lovely (sort of home cooked style) and an absolute bargain for what you get. Breakfast kept us going nearly all day.
Staff were an absolute delight from the receptionists to the cleaners.
Don't be put off by the outside appearance as I believe that it was an old 60's hotel that is being slowly renovated . Fountainside Hotel are what every hotelier should aspire to be like. In the end its about people...and their big mouths or their walking feet.
I would never go anywhere else in Hobart. Why pay silly prices...this is the one.
We extended our stay an extra couple of nights..luckily they had a cancellation.

  • Liked — nice rooms and fair prices for food and mini bar
  • Disliked — first appearance of the building made us worried that we had chosen something not as good as thought
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2008

A lot better than we were expecting!!
Beautiful room with a king size latex bed (heaven) and huge shower.
A little bit of traffic noise. Great central location and always parking available. Staff excellent. Mini bar prices very reasonable.

Highly recommend for the price.

  • Liked — The bed
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Victoria
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2008

Old hotel but newly refurbished. Rooms are fresh and roomy and bathroom a delight. The bed was huge and very comfy.

Old lift could do with an overhaul, very clunky and noisy for those rooms near by.

Breakfast was simple and very good value. Dinner was deliscious and excellent value.

Staff at dinner (one for whole of restaurant) was under the pump a bit at start of sitting and didn't take too lightly to any extra requests such as drinks by guests but still found time to chat to friends and even make a phone call.

Overall good value and great location.

  • Liked — quality of the rooms
  • Disliked — service staff
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2008

For a touring holiday in Tassie, we pre-booked 2 nights at Fountainside. When we decided to arrive a day earlier than planned, the staff happily accommodated our request, and even gave us the same rate for the 1st night, even though Wotif was showing prices about $30p/n more expensive.

As per other reviews, the rooms are excellent. Quite big, KING bed and very clean and modern. The mini bar rocks!! With some beers for just $1.90 AUD.

Great location, was a easy walk into town, or down to the docks.

Parking is private park around the outside of the hotel, however we never had a probelm finding a spot.

We throughly enjoyed our 3 nights, and it would be the first place we would book into on our next visit.

  • Liked — Mini Bar and King size beds
  • Disliked — Old Lift
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2008

My wife and I just got back today from 4 nights at this hotel. We loved it! It is well situated and easy to find. We got the top floor and found the noise from the street to not be a problem except when the hoons came by! The lift was old but worked fine. The bed was HUGE - I got lost quite often! All services were great and we loved the restaurant - the meals were good and well priced. Breakfast is a gem! Great pricing and you get all you need for a buffet.

The prices of the items in the bar fridge, as detailed by other reviewers, were fantastic - none of the rip off pricing that other hotels engage in. There was only one downside - the shower. The taps were on the other side of the shower so the hot water took ages to get to the rose. And the rose was a problem - despite many attempts to alter the stream, it was a pain in the backside plus controlling temperature was a real chore - but I eventually got it right.

Otherwise we had a great time and I thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Value for money
  • Disliked — Shower & restricted car park
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fountainside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountainside Hotel

Address: 40 Brooker Avenue, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hobart
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#4 Business Hotel in Hobart
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fountainside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal address in Hobart for both business and leisure. Walk to the CBD, Historic Waterfront and Salamanca and it's an easy drive to all main attractions in Southern Tasmania. Quiet 4 star rooms with luxurious beds, and air-conditioning for a great nights sleep. Broadband internet, Austar, offstreet parking, breakfast and dinner prices available for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fountainside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountainside Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fountainside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.