We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd go back there tomorrow...5 STARS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wrest Point

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Wrest Point to your Saves list
Wrest Point
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   410 Sandy Bay Rd, Hobart, Tasmania 7005, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 2, Save 10%
Ranked #18 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Gippsland Victoria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I'd go back there tomorrow...5 STARS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

After travelling South from Launceston towards Swansea, we arrived at our pre-booked holiday house at Dolphins sands...what a dump...hot, smelly, dirty hole...we all agreed to leave and travel to Hobart, (which was our next destination for the following day anyway) and take our chance on finding some kind of half decent accomodation, arriving in Hobart we drove around for a while before spotting the Casino...by this stage it was almost dinner time, we were hungry and tired so i called the Wrest point for a room...staff member was lovely..."yes we have a room for 3 with a Harbour View no worries!!" Pull up out front and valet tells us they will get someone out to help with our luggage and park the car..."how much?" we asked..."nothing, its free!!" Cool, we checked in...took 5 minutes...went to our room...gorgeous harbour view...nice comfy and clean furnishings, immaculately clean and modern bathroom...even had free use of the Health room...saltwater pool, spa, sauna, gym...Free Foxtel/Austar...11am checkout too!! Lovely courteous staff...each time we called down for our car it was there by the time we got outside!! Great service...best $224 spent (for 2 adults 1 teenager)....will definately be back :)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    187
    91
    36
    13
See reviews for
54
191
26
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

We stayed here in January 2009. A bit far from Hobart CBD but Sandy Bay was a nice area. Some exterior areas of the hotel were old looking despite that its a 4 star hotel. A bit drab. We did a bit of walking around the inside and outside of the hotel. Was ok, probably won't stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

Pros
- Large waterfront location with most rooms having expansive views of the harbor
- Close location to many restaurants and shops nearby
- Casino for 24/7 entertainment
- Since this is a casino, lots of restaurants, bars and eateries, even one that closes at 5am
- Food at Pier One and Riverview Snacks and the Buffet were very good
- Large rooms
- Helpful Concierge

Cons
- The MOST ridiculous wait for elevators, during the morning hours, people had to wait on average 15-20 minutes for elevators!!! This is completely unacceptable. The reason is that the hotel has 17 floors, and only two very slow elevators that serves it. During morning rush hour, one of the elevator is usually blocked for luggage transfer for groups, meaning one elevator for the entire hotel. I have seen very frustrated faces as the elevator doors open every floor and each floor the elevator is already full. Many people chose to walk it out, even if they are staying at the 10th floor, because you can't even go up the elevators, since people on floors 10th were smart enough to ride the elevator up before going down. I had to wait 10 minutes for an "up" elevator, then wait for it to stop at every single floor going up and down, and finally reached lobby in another 10 minutes. This is extremely unacceptable.
- Very slow service at Pier One. Took 50 minutes from ordering to delivery of appetizer
- Decor very old and worn, the room decor feels like it came from late 1980s and it does smell a little old, and the lobby decor wasn't particularly inviting as well. The old and vintage decor extends to the casino... a major renovation is much needed
- Bathroom amenities limited

Generally, recommended because I don't think there is a better hotel elsewhere. Hobart is such a small city.. there aren't any Marriott or Sheratons here, but the tradeoff is extremely beautiful scenery and nature, and most importantly, the friendliest people I have ever met. Honestly, I was so struck by how warm the Tasmanian and even Australian culture is! I would say that the people I have encountered in Tasmanian are friendlier and warmer than Asians and Americans, even if I am an Asian myself.

Stayed February 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

I first stayed at this hotel more than 20 years ago when it was reasonably modern. The problem is it still looks the same.

Tired rooms, drab décor, old cathode ray TVs (the smallest I have seen for years) packaged into what looked like a country motel room with a double and a single bed.

If you are desperate to gamble and want a good view, this is for you. If you want good amenities, go somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

Doting staff............helpful and courteous ............made our stay that much more pleasurable.
Helpful with tips of where to go and visit and give you directions.
Cannot fault at all..................brilliant!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

Stayed for two nights and it was good! Check in and check out was fast and efficient. Staff friendly. The room was spacious as there were three of us, beds were comfy, cleanliness was good. For the price we paid, it was worth the value! It is about 7mins drive to central hobart and Salamanca area as well as Battery Point. It cost us about $11 per ride from the hotel to Salamanca and the city. The conceirge dude was very helpful. We decided to have breakfast and ordered the full cooked breakfast, a bit pricy but it tasted yummy! Didnt get to see the casino as we had very limited time there. One confusing moment though, housekeeping half finished our room...it wasnt a big deal for us tho but it made us wonder why our double bed was done while the other single bed wasn't. (yes, we stayed in a room with a double bed and one single). Overall, i will come back to stay again!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

I booked this hotel as it was close to the University of Tasmania. The directions to our room were so complicated it took us several attempts to find it. ("Take the foyer lift to the Mezzanine level follow the green carpet about 40m then turn L, then R, then L through double doors into another corridor to a lift and take it down to the first floor, turn left and your room is along there!") At least the room was quiet. The hotel was full of senior citizens during the day and my daughter commented that she was the youngest person there by at least 50 years!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wrest Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrest Point

Address: 410 Sandy Bay Rd, Hobart, Tasmania 7005, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#13 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wrest Point 4.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience an absolute Hobart waterfront destination at Wrest Point; with spectacular river and mountain views, many fantastic dining experiences - including the award winning 17th floor Point Revolving Restaurant - a range of entertainment and genuine Tasmanian hospitality. For accommodation in an amazing location, great service and quality food and wine, look no further than Wrest Point. Choose from 4 Star Water Edge Rooms or superb 4 1/2 star Rooms and Suites in the famous Wrest Point Tower that capture stunning views of the river, majestic Mount Wellington, Hobart city and surrounds. Equal access rooms are available on request in the Tower. Wrest Point also offers a choice of 5 restaurants and 4 bars, from one of Hobart's premier dining restaurants, the Point Revolving Restaurant to the absolute waterfront location of Pier One Restaurant and Bar; to Tassie's best cocktails and live music 7 nights a week in the iconic Birdcage Bar. Other key features include: - Free Wi-Fi in all accommodation rooms - Free FOXTEL channels - Individually controlled air-conditioning and heating in all rooms - All non-smoking rooms - Solid constructed rooms for quiet night sleep - Free car parking and valet car parking service available - Saturday shuttle bus service available to Salamanca Market ($5pp return) - Free access to health club with indoor pool, gymnasium, sauna and spa - Free access to onsite tennis court and mini-golf - Comprehensive 24-hour onsite security monitoring and staff - 24-hour Reception and Guest Services Desk - Water ferry services accessible from the hotel pier - Casino entertainment - Live international and national entertainment acts Enjoy the comfort, space and wide-ranging facilities of one of Hobart's premier hotels, a range of entertainment offerings and located close to Salamanca and CBD precincts. Wrest Point is the ideal base for your Tasmanian holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wrest Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wrest Point Hotel Sandy Bay
Wrest Point Landmark Hotel
Hotel Wrest Point Landmark
Wrest Point Hobart, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wrest Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.