We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wrest point, profits over people” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wrest Point

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Wrest Point to your Saves list
Wrest Point
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   410 Sandy Bay Rd, Hobart, Tasmania 7005, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 2, Save 10%
Ranked #18 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Melbourne
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wrest point, profits over people”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I have been going to Hobart and staying at Wrest Point for the past six years. It has gone from a homely, friendly, impeccable serviced hotel with incredible views to a shadow of its former self. You could forgive its dated décor because of all the extras you used to get. The first thing you notice is how much they have cut back on staff. While you used to wait minutes for your car to be brought around, don't be surprised if you have to wait half an hour. Even the little chocolates that they sit on your pillow, were once beautiful truffles to now the cheapest nastiest, even carob is better chocolate. The lifts are slow and for most of our stay didn't work very well. These may all seem like quibbles, and they may be, however the service is noticeably worse however you pay much more for the "privilege". Room rates soared by 30%.in one year. I think this place has gone backwards and the management really need to think about what they used to offer, because as Hobart increases in popularity, other hotels will reap the benefit of those stingy managers who value profits over people.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms executive kind spa rooms, they are the best and have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew F, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to post your constructive comments on Trip Advisor. Wrest Point prides itself on delivering exceptional customer service so I was dissapointed to read your opinions in relation to our service and quality of chocolates. We also endevour to keep our room rates competitively priced. I can assure you that your comments will be given careful consideration, thanks again for taking the time to share these. Kind regards, Andrew Fox, Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    187
    91
    36
    13
See reviews for
54
191
26
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
brisbane australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Only had 2 days and 1 night here (sadly).

Room had been updated, big bath with overhead shower(high sided bath not good for people with walking difficulties).

Room is also a long walk from main Reception and has lot of stairs.

Having said that the room was really nice, with the promised water front and beach view.

Good aircon,spacious room with beautiful clean bedding, bar fridge,flat screen TV and bathroom although smallish was clean, fully stocked with soaps, shampoos etc and lots of fluffy towels.

Tried a couple of the eating areas and found them to be good value with freshly cooked and presented meals.

I do have to make comment though on some prices, room service bottle of Aussie bubbly cost close to $50 for an $8 bottle shop mid range and room bar fridge drinks really silly over the top.

Even my pokie winnings would not see me pay nearly to $10 for a small bottled beer.

As others have said the Casino is a little out of town but HOP ON bus, taxis and regular buses mean you are not isolated if you have no car.

All the staff I had dealings with were friendly ,helpful and obliging and I felt overall that it was a good stay.

Would I stay again? probably not, a Hotel in the middle of the restaurant -bar scene in the city would suit me better.

Room Tip: You really need to inform the hotel when booking if you have trouble with stairs .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew F, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
I was glad to read that you had an overall enjoyable stay and found the room comfortable - it's amazing how important fluffy towels are and I'm glad you enjoyed these. We are constantly reviewing our pricing and will take your comments into account the next time we look at these. I am sorry to hear you had problems with the stairs, there is a lift avaialble in the Waters Edge wing which you may not have noticed. Thanks again for your comments, we really appreciate your insights which will help shape future customers experiences. Kind Regards, Andrew Fox, Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Checked in for three days and was given a large room - this was a good feature of the Hotel. Buffet dinner was average, desserts were varied but the main course lacked fresh vegetables, steamed frozen vegetables I can get at an old RSL, but why at a Hotel - gosh, no!!! Something on the baked potatoes made them taste bitter, what was it??

I would not stay here again but opt for a hotel near the wharf; but if you are a gambler, which I am not, then this place may be for you, but not for me again.

Take a walk after dinner around the grounds and meet ducks and rabbits sleeping together on the lawn. Do it at night; I always love to smell the sea at light and watch the lights dance on the water in dappled colours of yellow, red and green. You'll get a great glimpse of the bridge hemmed in yellow light; the harbour at Hobart looks lovely at night.

Friendly service from all reception staff including the concierge, they cared about the needs that I had regarding tours etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as high up as they can give you to appreciate the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew F, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
The views from the gardens and Tower are indeed spectacular so thankyou for highlighting these in your review. I was also pleased to read that you enjoyed the service from our reception staff and the assistance they provided regarding your tour arrangements - I will pass this on. Your comments regarding the buffet dinner will also be passed on to our Executive chef, they are very valuable for us to know. Kind regards, Andrew Fox, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

We made a last minute booking for the 30th & 31st of December so we really had no choice but to stay there. We are by no means tight with our money & are quite fond of Novotel, crown plaza, & Hilton when we travel. For $300 dollars a night I would expect something equivalent to the hotels mentioned above but we ended up with a tiny, outdated room that Hobart should be ashamed of. This should be Hobart's pride of place casino accommodation but instead it was like a trip back in time to the 70's. The casino was empty & there's was little to choose from for dinner unless you like the brassiere. There was people smoking in our corridors & the smoke was being drawn into our rooms by the A/C. The exhaust fans in the bathroom were non existent leaving all smells floating through the room. The windows were even painted shut leaving no options for fresh air. Stay away if you can. It is only a 1.5 star if you ask me. Try the local caravan park first. It rates better.
Just a note: the burgers from room service were beautiful.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew F, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thankyou for providing such constructive comments on Trip Advisor and we certainly appreciate your honesty. Guests smoking in the corridors is a real concern and we regularly take action in order to prevent this occuring, we will continue to be as vigilant as possible to prevent this in the future. We are constantly updating our rooms however realise that they may not be to everyone's taste. Thanks again for taking the time to express your thoughts.
Kind regards, Andrew Fox, Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Stayed here for one night. Everything was excellent. From the speed on the check in , the location, room size and cleanliness and the view is spot on. Well located, plenty to do in the hotel and the surrounding areas. Very close to the heart of Hobart .

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high level with a view of the Harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew F, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to share your great experience and I am so glad you were able to enjoy our great service, spacious clean room and excellent facilities. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind regards, Andrew Fox, Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

we stayed in the tower in winter overlooking sandybay and the derwent
this venue is 40 years old but has plenty to do .
lots of bars cafes restaurants,casino sauna ,all on absolute waterfront.
and good value for money, the staff actualy care

Room Tip: stay in the tower, or forget it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew F, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Our staff really do care about providing great service and I am glad that you recognised this and were able to enjoy the waterfront aspect from the Tower accomodation. The choice of 5 restaurants, 4 bars and a boutique casino makes it great value and it was great to hear you enjoyed the facilities. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, Andrew Fox, Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We had a water edge room which had a lovely view of the water. It's not super modern, nowhere in the casino is, but didn't bother us, the room was still very lovely and free wifi bonus! We had dinner at many of the casinos restaurants (and drinks at the bird cage bar) especially our dinner at the point revolving restaurant was fabulous, excellent service!

Short drive to everywhere around Hobart but about a 20-30 min walk to Salamanca which was pleasant. Would recommend it, hope they update the whole casino with time just to bring it more into this century, but still loved it there.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew F, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Many guests enjoy our free Wi-Fi and I'm glad you did as well. The Point Revolving Restaurant team are also consistently recognised for thier fabulous food and service and it was great you were able to enjoy this as well. We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Tassie. Kind Regards, Andrew Fox, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wrest Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrest Point

Address: 410 Sandy Bay Rd, Hobart, Tasmania 7005, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#13 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wrest Point 4.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience an absolute Hobart waterfront destination at Wrest Point; with spectacular river and mountain views, many fantastic dining experiences - including the award winning 17th floor Point Revolving Restaurant - a range of entertainment and genuine Tasmanian hospitality. For accommodation in an amazing location, great service and quality food and wine, look no further than Wrest Point. Choose from 4 Star Water Edge Rooms or superb 4 1/2 star Rooms and Suites in the famous Wrest Point Tower that capture stunning views of the river, majestic Mount Wellington, Hobart city and surrounds. Equal access rooms are available on request in the Tower. Wrest Point also offers a choice of 5 restaurants and 4 bars, from one of Hobart's premier dining restaurants, the Point Revolving Restaurant to the absolute waterfront location of Pier One Restaurant and Bar; to Tassie's best cocktails and live music 7 nights a week in the iconic Birdcage Bar. Other key features include: - Free Wi-Fi in all accommodation rooms - Free FOXTEL channels - Individually controlled air-conditioning and heating in all rooms - All non-smoking rooms - Solid constructed rooms for quiet night sleep - Free car parking and valet car parking service available - Saturday shuttle bus service available to Salamanca Market ($5pp return) - Free access to health club with indoor pool, gymnasium, sauna and spa - Free access to onsite tennis court and mini-golf - Comprehensive 24-hour onsite security monitoring and staff - 24-hour Reception and Guest Services Desk - Water ferry services accessible from the hotel pier - Casino entertainment - Live international and national entertainment acts Enjoy the comfort, space and wide-ranging facilities of one of Hobart's premier hotels, a range of entertainment offerings and located close to Salamanca and CBD precincts. Wrest Point is the ideal base for your Tasmanian holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wrest Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wrest Point Hotel Sandy Bay
Wrest Point Landmark Hotel
Hotel Wrest Point Landmark
Wrest Point Hobart, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wrest Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.