We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair for a good price” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Wrest Point

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Wrest Point to your Saves list
Wrest Point
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   410 Sandy Bay Rd, Hobart, Tasmania 7005, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 2, Save 10%
Ranked #18 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Broadbeach, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fair for a good price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We were lucky enough to have this hotel as a Wotif mystery deal, so it was well priced, we just didn't find out the name until it was booked, or the room style for that matter.
The room had a double and single bed, was tired, aged and outdated. It has a lovely view overlooking the water and the staff were beautiful. They were welcoming and friendly and always smiling.
Unfortunately the rooms and ensuite are old. There was a suspicious stain on the bedspread, the walls were orange with a white roof, with the exception of the bathroom which has a white tiles/walls with an orange roof. We had to close the bathroom door simply to get to the toilet (the bathroom was about 1mx 1m floorspace with the exception of bath/shower)
The shower over the bath was not pleasant- didn't look clean and we waited until we got to our next hotel to shower.
Money needs to be spent on this hotel, from the lifts to the rooms to the carpet. If they did that, it would a lovely place to stay.
Unfortunately as it stands I would not return, but of they refurbished I would return without hesitation.
Th corridors, lifts and carper also need attention.

I would like to finish by restating that the staff were absolutely lovely.

Room Tip: Spa and children activities were no applicable in this rating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    187
    91
    37
    13
See reviews for
54
191
26
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I have stayed in many places in Hobart previously but was looking for a hotel with the wow factor and it had to be accessible for my dad who is wheelchair bound. Found a great rate for the Tower Suites and took the gamble...we have stayed at the Wrest Point previously but in their basic rooms - these I wouldnt recommend...tired, dated and basic which I'm sure is the trend of the majority of reviews for this hotel. However, if you can get a decent rate on the Tower Suites I would jump on it. There are many suite options in Hobart, but I'd doubt that many could compare with the space and views provided at Wrest Point. We had two rooms, I would agree that one of which was slightly more dated than the other (only in choice of furnishings), although both had large marble spa bathrooms, with an additional over-sized shower area. Kitchen was sufficient enough to prepare breakfast and the main living room was partitioned (if required) to the bedroom area. Two big screen TV's with Foxtel, if that floats your boat and wrap around views of the harbour/Mt Wellington.
Tennis Court, mini-golf looked in good shape, Pool needs extreme make-over but us usable. Normal spa and saunas included. The guys on Valet parking were excellent and couldnt have been more helpful, really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Tower Rooms!?!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Have stayed here twice on business. It's a cross between a hi-de-hi holiday camp and your mother-in-laws childhood bedroom. Peach walls and apricot bed linen anyone? Gaudy, dated with sulky staff and poor food and beverage choices, service and quality.

It does have a stunning view of the bay - but is a little way out of the city and I am sure there are much better alternatives. I stayed here because it's where my work functions were held - I'll avoid coming back.

Avoid

Room Tip: If you have to stay here... stay in the Tower, otherwise it's a long hike to your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed at Wrest Point in the tower for an event we had been invited to. The room was very comfortable with lovely views over the water, however it was in need of a refurbish and update - had a very 90's look about it. The TV was quite old and the remote didn't work and the timber work in the room was looking a bit worn and scratched. The food was very average and overpriced. If we hadn't been attending a function I would have chosen somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very modern,clean rooms with outstanding views.Many varied activities,sightseeing tours with many Cafes,Restaurants and trendy,classic bars providing excellent food,local wines and beers.

Looking forward to going back and enjoying a very pretty place full of very friendly and
helpful people.

Room Tip: Must get a room with a great water views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed in a "Mountain View" twin room for two nights in March with my Mum. Both were weeknights, and we paid about $145 per night. Was expecting to only see mountains, but we had an amazing view over the water also. I was really impressed with the size of the room, very spacious. The single bed I slept in was very comfortable, and Mum said her double bed also was too. The light switches were a bit confusing, but we worked it out. Plentiful supply of tea, coffee, hot chocolate, biscuits, and a very well stocked minibar (although we simply admired, and didn't indulge). Loved staying at the casino, was so convenient after a tiring day of sight-seeing to come back to the hotel, have a shower and rest, then only head downstairs for dinner - many different restaurants at varying costs, including one very cheap one with $10 meals. We loved the $5 car valet service, and all the staff were so attentive and lovely. Bathroom was fine, shower had great water pressure and very hot water. Small, old TV but we weren't there to watch TV, and it still did us fine to watch a bit of late news of an evening. Even though it is a little out of the city, we loved our stay at Wrest Point and I will definitely stay there again in the future. Mum plans to stay there again next time she goes to Tassie also. It was only a $10 taxi fare into Salamanca Place, and also only about a 10 minute walk from Coles at Sandy Bay.

Room Tip: Room 704 had great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Currently staying here for a whole week and just had to write this review before we leave.
This is a casino with supposedly nice rooms but apart from the view over the river the rest of the room is very disappointing!!!

TV is and old school 54cm box meaning you can't see half the picture. Come on people it's 2013 where is the LCD or plasma????

Bathroom is dated and shower over bath is always leaking onto floor

I've seriously had better at 2/3 star places in Sydney

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wrest Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrest Point

Address: 410 Sandy Bay Rd, Hobart, Tasmania 7005, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#13 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wrest Point 4.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience an absolute Hobart waterfront destination at Wrest Point; with spectacular river and mountain views, many fantastic dining experiences - including the award winning 17th floor Point Revolving Restaurant - a range of entertainment and genuine Tasmanian hospitality. For accommodation in an amazing location, great service and quality food and wine, look no further than Wrest Point. Choose from 4 Star Water Edge Rooms or superb 4 1/2 star Rooms and Suites in the famous Wrest Point Tower that capture stunning views of the river, majestic Mount Wellington, Hobart city and surrounds. Equal access rooms are available on request in the Tower. Wrest Point also offers a choice of 5 restaurants and 4 bars, from one of Hobart's premier dining restaurants, the Point Revolving Restaurant to the absolute waterfront location of Pier One Restaurant and Bar; to Tassie's best cocktails and live music 7 nights a week in the iconic Birdcage Bar. Other key features include: - Free Wi-Fi in all accommodation rooms - Free FOXTEL channels - Individually controlled air-conditioning and heating in all rooms - All non-smoking rooms - Solid constructed rooms for quiet night sleep - Free car parking and valet car parking service available - Saturday shuttle bus service available to Salamanca Market ($5pp return) - Free access to health club with indoor pool, gymnasium, sauna and spa - Free access to onsite tennis court and mini-golf - Comprehensive 24-hour onsite security monitoring and staff - 24-hour Reception and Guest Services Desk - Water ferry services accessible from the hotel pier - Casino entertainment - Live international and national entertainment acts Enjoy the comfort, space and wide-ranging facilities of one of Hobart's premier hotels, a range of entertainment offerings and located close to Salamanca and CBD precincts. Wrest Point is the ideal base for your Tasmanian holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wrest Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wrest Point Hotel Sandy Bay
Wrest Point Landmark Hotel
Hotel Wrest Point Landmark
Wrest Point Hobart, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wrest Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.