We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Italian Pantry

The Italian Pantry
Federal Street | Nth Hobart, Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 416 Restaurants in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The restaurent trades under The Italian Pantry but also trades under Serrarao fine foods. The food is wonderful and the service is outstanding and friendly. I know people who go again and again.The serve lunch every day and dinner friday nights which have to be booked owing to popular demand, new dining with a differance.Seating is available up to eighty people, and it is fully licenced.
Hobart
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Good food and service. A bit chilly so dress warmly. Service was prompt and polite. We will go again soon

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    12
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“VERY average..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Food was generally very good. Most of the dishes were very nice, though a little over priced considering the small serves. Bologniase was rather flavourless, so I was told.

Setting was very... different. We were seated in the back area in the shop part, literally in the aisle of the grocery section. Found this a bit weird! Also certain elements were lacking for a place with such a world-class reputation, i.e. the lack of salt and pepper shakers (we had a supermarket tube of table salt... very swish).

Drinks were the biggest let down. Fair enough, there was a fantastic selection of wine... which I do not drink. The beer was very expensive, as were the non-alcoholic drinks ($6.50 for half a glass of orange juice?!). When I asked the staff is they had any spirit drinks, like vodka lemon-lime and bitters, or a cruiser or something of that nature I was given a rather contemptuous look and informed that "we only serve Italian drinks".

Overall: clearly a restaurant intended for fine diners, not so much for family occasions. Yet the setting doesn;t reflect this? fine dining in a supermarket isle??

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful italian cuisine and pantry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

This is a great little find, not only great food at very reasonable prices but also good opportunity to stock up the pantry. One of the added extra's is the 'George and Hilary' are there most Saturdays selling their fresh seasonal produce. it is a short walk from the main strip in North Hobart but well worth the trouble - I ordered among other things the spaghetti with olive oil, anchovy, and touch of chilli - it was to die for - of course I headed out back to buy the 'RUSTICHELLA d'ABRUZZO' pasta and olive oil and have never looked back. The atmosphere is comfortable with tables and also couches.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Closest thing to an unpretentious Italian eatery outside of Italy.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

If you want authentic Italian cuisine without ridiculous ladida then this is the place to get it. All those other "Italian restaurants" take note. This is what Italian food is all about. Just like being back in Sardegna. Grazie mille Italian pantry for reminding me of home.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wish there was one in Melbourne!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

It was a blustery old day in Hobart and we felt like some comfort food. Headed here as we'd read good things about the cafe and shop. We were warmly greeted, a change to a menu item to suit a veggie was easily done and service was naturally friendly. Good portions of pasta at $14.50 is cheap as far as I'm concerned ($20+ for the same in Melb). Our desserts were warmed doughnuts filled with custard and chocolate (or you could have plain). So light and just beautiful. Wish we had somewhere back home like this. A big part of its charm is the fact that's hidden away in the back streets. Parking was easy and free. Oh and I should mention the grocery store is fun to browse. The cheese room is amazing! Next time I'm in Hobart, I'll be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Italian Pantry also viewed

Hobart, Tasmania
 
Hobart, Tasmania
Hobart, Tasmania
 

Been to The Italian Pantry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Italian Pantry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.