We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and a friendly welcome.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Asian Gourmet on the Pier

Asian Gourmet on the Pier
Elizabeth Street Pier, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
+613 6224 4428
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 477 Restaurants in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good food and a friendly welcome.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

I can't understand some of the negative reviews of this restaurant. Admittedly we went on a fairly quite Tuesday night, but we found the service to be friendly and efficient; the Malaysian owner even came to our table for a welcoming chat. The food was delicious, plentiful and fairly priced compared with other restaurants we have visited in Australia. The menu includes Thai, Malaysian and Chinese dishes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    43
    17
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Food was fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Great water views, service fantastic
I had the calamari husband had noodles good was very tasty
Went to go back for dinner and totally booked out

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Dined there in September 2012, food and service excellent, Dined again February 2013 ,m enu choices much smaller eg. no fish available on menu and service terrible even at 6.30 pm on a Saturday evening. Initial drinks were offered and then no offers refills after that. Staff spent their time chatting together at the food service area instead of checking tables for drinks and satisfaction etc. Suggest that there are much better asian choices in Hobart,

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Asian??? Hobart??”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

I agree with a fellow reviewer melbournevisitor that it's highly expensive. Bland, well I don't share that same view.

The issue with hobart is that there is lack of supply, some demand. Pushes prices up. Compared to Melbourne or Sydney where there is huge supply of Asian food, food can be said to be slightly above average. Compared to another restaurant, Me Wah, Asian gourmet by the pier is less pricey.

I've been here a couple of times, one for a full banquet at our Christmas party, and the food was great. Enjoyed the food. Brought friends from the USA, and they enjoyed it too.

If you expect, real authentic Asian Malaysian food, come to my house. Can't find it in hobart.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Found the food to be average at best. The views are nice with a large amount of boat traffic. We found the pricing to be fair for the food we ordered.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asian Gourmet on the Pier also viewed

 

Been to Asian Gourmet on the Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asian Gourmet on the Pier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.