We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Eye Fillet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Child Inn

Ocean Child Inn
86 Argyle Street, Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #116 of 459 Restaurants in Hobart
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: one of the hidden gems of hobart, a great pub. definately deserves a spot on Trip Advisor.
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Eye Fillet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Both my husband and I had the eye fillet steak with pepper sauce and it was superb. At $28 for the meal and a couple of $ for the sauce it’s not bad value either. Consider booking, we only just managed to sneak in.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    14
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burnie, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Impressed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Very glad I chose this place after good trip advisor comments. Went to bar first up for drinks, which was told by a very nice gentleman to take a seat and he would deliver our drinks to our table, 10/10 first up in our eyes. The meals were spot on and took hardly any time to come out. The portion size was very generous and my pork loin chops cooked to perfection. Our friends had the battered fish, which they commented on how nice and light the batter was. All in all great friendly attentive staff, great food and great atmosphere, so do yourself a favour and add the ocean child to your must visit list.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice setting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Good friendly service, very helpful staff. Food was good in quantity and fair to good for pub style food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food and much fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

On tripadvisors recommendation my hubby and I went here. We had a great experience. Big tasty portions. Great steak. Yum diddly umbtious dessert. We nearly wept at how good the Guinness was. Irish people craving a pint of the good stuff, go here. Bruce was an entertaining host and Carl was great for a chat and recommendations of where to go next. The highlight of course was the choir out front ;) a weekly event of a Wednesday. This is a honest to goodness spot.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing food every visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I think i may have reviewed the Ocean Child before but feel i need to review them again. Every single time i eat at the Ocean Child i am so impressed by the food, it is amazing! Good honest pub food piled up on your plate. Definitely value for money here. The best thing is they have a bigger menu than just your good old fashion pub food with things like amazing garlic prawns and seafood chowder. My last dining experience i ordered veal scallopini from the specials board and it was absolutely amazing! The staff are really friendly and the prices are pretty good too. I can't wait to return for another feed :)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Child Inn also viewed

 

Been to Ocean Child Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Child Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.