We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious macarons and cakes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sweet Envy

Sweet Envy
341 Elizabeth Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
03 62348805
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 460 Restaurants in Hobart
Cuisines: Australian
Restaurant details
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Delicious macarons and cakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Too many choices. Our fav are the lemon meringue pie, lemon curd tart, macarons and hazelnut caramel brulee. We also tried the lamb and harissa roll with flaky puff pastry and packed a punch with the harissa. A gem to find in an unpretentious patisserie. Friendly staff too.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    13
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Almond croissant was disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Pain au chocolat was great as was the plain croissant but the almond croissant was very dry and quite disappointing.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Choices!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Sooo much to choose from!!! And everything goes with a coffee!!! Had pastry and cookies, excellent and very fresh!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

great cakes, macaroons - well worth a visit. a Hobart treasure and a real addition to North Hobart - love this place. And good coffee

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Tasmania, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Looked good - tasted terrible”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I had heard such great things about this place, that I decided to order a birthday cup'n'cake.
When ordering the cakes, the service was great. Teena was very helpful. They were also happy to arrange delivery of the cakes to a local restaurant nearby.
Though that was about as good as it got.
The cupcakes, while they looked great tasted awful. I ordered red velvet cupcakes, and they were dry and lacked flavour. Most were left uneaten. The icing was also way too sweet.
I provided feedback, but never received a reply (they had already been paid, so possibly weren't concerned).
Wont be returning or recommending to anyone I know.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Envy also viewed

 
 

Been to Sweet Envy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweet Envy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.