We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jam Jar Lounge

Jam Jar Lounge
45 Hamden road | Battery point, Hobart, Tasmania 7004, Australia
+61 3 6224 1447
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 416 Restaurants in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $4 - $16
Cuisines: Japanese, Coffee Shop, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Jam Jar Lounge opened in 2009, quickly establishing itself as a unique cafe/wine bar perfectly suited in historical Battery Point. Jam Jar was recently selected as one of the Top 10 Cafes in Hobart for 2014 (Tasmanian Food Guide Editor's Choice). In addition to operating as a cafe by day reviving the iconic Aussie "Jaffle" on it's breakfast menu, it also offers authentic Japanese "Ramen" noodles and a range of healthy "Bento Boxes" for lunch. Jam Jar has built a fantastic reputation for it's legendary Friday nights serving Japanese Tapas (small plates) in a wonderful 1920's jazz themed atmosphere. In response to the overwhelming popularity of Friday nights, Jam Jar is now open on Saturday and Sunday evenings. Our wine list always includes several Tasmanian wines which we change regularly. Jam Jar offers several relaxed areas to enjoy your experience including a sunny "dog friendly" courtyard, quiet library with wood fire, or front communal table for larger groups. For those who insist on privacy we invite you to book our back "shed" with seating from 6-8 people. Free Wi-Fi is available during business hours.
Singapore
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Gorgeous...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Had breakfast the other day at this quaint little restaurant. I had the home made baked beans... High recommend them. The coffee was good and I wish I had more time to go back for a meal at dinner time

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    38
    6
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke, Canada
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Double YUM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Came upon this cafe wandering about waiting for the kids to get up.
Had to go back again. It was very good indeed.
Staff very pleasant along with the surroundings.
Cute place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Japanese tapas - yum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We came across Jam Jar as there are a few other popular restaurants/cafes in the same street. Jam Jar is definitely a contender with the rest of them! Funky little cafe with a lovely little menu of Japanese tapas on a Friday night (this is the only night they are open I believe). Only downside was that the aircon was not coping with the hot weather that Hobart had while we were there and it was far too hot to stay in there, we had to cut our meal short and leave. Would be a great place to go with a group for drinks and some nibbles.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friday Night Wind Down”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We came across the Jam Jar lounge quite by accident and what a gem it is.
We had the Friday night Japanese tapas (excellent pork belly and potato and edamame mash), wine and dessert while listening to Jazz on some internet radio station they had on. Incredibly relaxing Friday evening with lovely food and good service.
We'll definitely be back on our next trip to Hobart.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Best croissants outside of France”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

In fact the croissants we had at Jam Jar were better than a lot we've eaten in France. The coffee was unbelievably good too. Would have ordered another, but the only slight criticism I would have of this brilliant breakfast spot is that the service is a bit slow. (mainly due to its popularity and size, but we would have ordered at least another 2 coffees if we thought they'd have come within 20 minutes). If ever we want a coffee and croissants in Hobart, this is the place we'd come. Hope to try the tapas too.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jam Jar Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Jam Jar Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jam Jar Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.