We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mezethes Greek Taverna

Mezethes Greek Taverna
Shop 23 Salamanca Arts Centre | 77 Slamanca Place, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
+61 3 6224 4601 ‎
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #115 of 460 Restaurants in Hobart
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Good food, good price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Ate here twice while in Hobart. Good range of food on menu and well priced. Friendly helpful service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    111
    33
    24
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne,Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Just as good four years later”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We dined at Mezethes on our last visit to Hobart about four years ago and loved it and we were just as happy this time. Great location just off Salamanca Place. Good traditional Greek food with a buzzy, busy atmosphere. Friendly and efficient service as well as good value. As this seems to be a popular venue with locals and visitors alike, reservations are recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great Greek in the Apple Isle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Well-located in Salamanca Place, and beautifully set out.
There are the traditional Greek dishes....and some Greek fusion (whatever that means).
They also promoted Greek beer (sold out) and Greek wine (sold out), so it was back to Stella and a local pinot gris.
Service was excellent with a dash of fun, and the ambience was enchanting.
Funny though, I looked around at 8.40pm and we were the only group remaining - I still wonder what that was all about.
All in all an outstanding night out in a "you could be anywhere in the world" environment.
Recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wonthaggi, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious meal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you want to eat here you must book a table, we tried to walk in off the street and were told we would have a 1-2 hour wait, so we booked a table for the following evening. It was quite cosy, and the service was average but thankfully the food was scrumptious! The service staff were excellently presented and polite but could have been more attentive to our needs, once they took our meal order, we didn't see them again. Granted it was very busy, but an extra waiter/waitress wouldn't have gone astray. Overall I would definitely go here again as the food was excellent.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“the best goat ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We love Greek cuisine and have been especially spoilt over many years with many fine Greek restaurants in Adelaide. It is very interesting to note how "regional" some dishes - especially the desserts - are around Australia.

The restaurant was very busy on a Sunday evening, so very happy we booked Saturday morning during our walk.

Staff were very attentive. Very pleasant environment.

The Taramasalata was good (too much decoration!!!!) and the Kalamari Tiganito wonderful. We also found the bread more like a sweet bun and not that complimentary to the food.

We love goat and could not go past the goat ragout special - this was the best goat ever. Congratulations to the kitchen. Most of the goat we have eaten in Greek restaurants has been flavoured with combinations of tomato, lemon, garlic & oregano. We love that combination. However this goat ragout was beautifully flavoured with cumin, garlic, turmeric, cardamon, cinnamon (based on my taste) perhaps a little honey!! - so tender - so delicious. We could fly back to Hobart just for this dish.

The dessert - Galaitobouriko and the Kataiffi were good - however my preference by far is the cream Kataiffi the Greek restaurants serve in Adelaide

a good night - thank you

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mezethes Greek Taverna also viewed

 

Been to Mezethes Greek Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mezethes Greek Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.