We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Coningham Cottage, Southern Tasmania

Sunroom
Sunroom
Sunroom
Deck with view
Lounge room
Kitchen
Bedroom onto deck
Hobart
|
Rental Home – 
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lahela11
Adelaide
1 review
“Even better than we had imagined!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Our stay at Coningham Cottage was more than we could have hoped for. Located in a quiet cove with a mind-boggling view, the house has two well-appointed bedrooms (one with that amazing view), plenty of wood for the fire, electric blankets on the beds, a sun room and all the comforts of home (dvds, cd player, books & a few basic supplies). There is solar hot water but there is also a booster switch for grey days. It was a great spot to base ourselves for a week's worth of exploration of the south-eastern region of Tassie.
We arrived in Tasmania at 7:30pm so hubby had to do without his precious "real" coffee until we could explore enough to find supplies the next morning, so I recommend coming earlier in the day and allowing time to drive to the nearest little towns (Snug & Margate) to stock up. We brought our two boys with us who are 3.5 and 10 years...they loved it but you'd need to be careful with younger toddlers as the yard has no boundaries and slopes down sharply to the road & beach below.
Owner Viki left us a lovely note and was most personable. We are keen to come back again some day! Highly recommended.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The view!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Murrays Beach
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 28, 2013
Many thanks for your review! Glad you were so pleased with our set up. I understand about your point re the TV - I weigh the pros and cons often.
Thanks also for the tips to other travellers - new enterprises are constantly "popping up" which we mightn't know about and it's good to get your feedback.
Cheers V
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
BenClaire...
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wish we could have stayed longer !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I had a great time relaxing in Coningham Cottage. The location is perfect, not far from Brunny Island, Hobart, Mount Wellington and many more surrounding attractions. The view from the cottage is very peaceful. For those of you who like cooking, the kitchen is quite big. We were there for 3 nights/4 days, we wish we could have stayed longer!! Thank you to Viki, the owner, who made sure we had a great time.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Samuel198...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Never stayed anywhere better.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Coningham was very easy to find, coming from the Hobart airport by car. Driving down the coast was a great introduction to stunning Tasmania, and the Coningham bay itself was very pretty.

Great first impressions, with a lovely, well-kept garden. The house was beautiful, airy and very quiet. The wooden floors and large rooms made for a very pleasant living environment.

We spent Christmas at the cottage and it was everything we wanted. The peace was incredible and we spent many hours sitting on the veranda contemplating the view. There was lots of space- more than we needed- and the kitchen was very well equipped (lots of utensils and large BBQ), though low water pressure made it harder to wash up. The weather wasn't great when we were there, but it didn't matter as the house was so pleasant to hang out in.

We drove to nearby Bruny Island, it was great (wildlife/wine). And a day trip to Signet was also lovely, with some of the best cross-country driving around.

It is very difficult to do justice to how incredible this location is, I just would like to say that this cottage is without comparison. We LOVED it.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Quiet, view, space, location.
Liked least: Knife sharpener, water pressure.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 6, 2013
Thanks so much for your great review!! You are welcome back anytime :-)
Hope you had a refresshing break. You missed the awful bush fires we are having - but, fingers crossed, the cottage is safe so far.

Thanks again
Viki
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
MervRea
Mt Martha, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very Relaxing - paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 for a stay in November 2012

Very clean and well catered Cottage, with beautiful views. Perfect spot - peaceful, quiet and relaxing, and still close enough to Hobart (30 mins). The fact we had excellent weather during our stay was just a mere bonus - our holiday would have been terrific anyway ! Vikki kept in touch before, during and after our stay - a great host. We will be back !

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Perth
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
rhoski
Faulconbridge, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Conningham Cottage: a Hidden Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011 for a stay in March 2011
3
people found this review helpful

Conveniently situated in a quiet lane just a few minutes drive from the nearby village of Snug, Conningham Cottage has a welcoming ambience. Neatly gardened, and with the feeling of rustic privacy, the cottage has a commanding view over the bay beyond it to the north.

Inside, the cottage lacks nothing that a holiday maker or even a long tem renter might desire. Comfort and convenience characterise all its features. Kitchen facilities are complete. The north facing glassed in sunroom at the rear invites daytime relaxation. The lounge room with its wood combustion stove guarantees restful well being should the evening prove cool. The relatively secluded neighbourhood favours night time repose.

My partner and I stayed in this well resourced cottage for one week during autumn. We found that the owner’s description of its features were accurate, truly representing what any visitor will find there. We had no difficulty deciding how we would spend our time in the district because of the abundance of tourist literature laid out in the Cottage for our perusal. Particularly we appreciated the fact that it was only a short drive to numerous local features likely to be of interest to visitors, including local shopping facilities at Snug and Kingston. Not to be overlooked was the fascinating Mt Wellington with its interesting geology and panoramic views over the estuary of the Derwent River within which Hobart sits.

Much else that draws the visitor to Tasmania was found to be within easy reach, including local food and produce (read cheese, honey and seafood), festivals in season and relaxed motoring through a landscape that never ceases to enrich and stimulate the senses. Our stay at Conningham Cottage was both an unqualified pleasure and a welcome education about much that is truly unique about Tasmania.

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 13, 2011
Thanks Ron - great review!! I'm still trying to get it up on the web site!! Maybe this will help :-)
One little correction - historically, for some reason, there's only one "n" in Coningham.

Again - I really appreciate your comments!
See you again,
Viki
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$118
/
Night
Week
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Make Inquiry
this property has payment protection
Owner
Viki R
Speaks English
Listed since : Mar 2014
Response Rate: 95 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 5 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing