We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peppermint Bay Day Cruises

Peppermint Bay Day Cruises
3435 Channel Highway, Hobart, Tasmania 7162, Australia
6267 4088
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Agree with other reviewers that this is a wonderful day trip. The boat is very comfortable and the commentary on the way to Peppermint Bay was really interesting and informative. At one point an underwater camera was launched so we had a chance to see the surprisingly colourful underwater life. The cruise is a great way to take in all of the harbour and city views as well as all of the sights down the Derwent and the d'Entrecastaux Channel. By the time we arrived in Peppermint Bay the sun had come out after a misty morning. The meal at the restaurant was fabulous - a very fine example of the best of Tasmanian produce. Woodbridge itself is a charming small village. We travelled on the Main Deck which gave us access to all parts of the boat (except for the Upper Cabin itself) including the upper viewing deck.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    18
    8
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Birthday Gift!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

A truly wonderful way to spend a few hours on the river Derwent and channel area. Andy Sarah and our Captain Peter were very informative and entertaining, the conditions on river were excellent and viewing on underwater camera was amazing! Our three course lunch was superb along with Tasmanian wines. We as Hobartians have visited Woodbridge many times by road but this trip really was a 'must do'. A very recommended trip for all! PS this was a Birthday gift for my husband....what more could you want?

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic days trip when in Hobart”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

If you are looking for a fantastic days trip when in Hobart, I would thoroughly recommend the Peppermint Bay cruise/lunch. Full marks to Sarah and especially Andy for making the day great with their service, commentary and great customer service. The launch trip was very comfortable, plenty of room to move around ( various decks) and a bar/coffee service. Great eco commentary on the way. The lunch at Peppermint Bay is to die for...nibbles and 3 courses, the soup and main being spectacular. Great atmosphere at lunch and met some great people to chat to whilst dining and drinking. Had time to wander around Woodbridge before returning. We were on the main deck - I wasn't convinced paying extra for the upper deck would be worth it..comfortable downstairs and didnt miss anything. Great value for money - would recommend for anyone to do in Hobart.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The best sightseeing tour with lunch MKR Judges would give each course a 10!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

We were looking for something to do in Hobart on Sunday before we headed back to Sydney and walked past the Peppermint Bay Cruise office. We picked up a brochure and then did a trip advisor search. After reading the reviews we thought this is a must do cruise. Let me say this is just a wonderful way to see the sights. The boat is large, plush comfy seats, warm inside, large windows so easy to see all our tour guide's points of interest spots. The arrival at the Peppermint Bay Restaurant was so tranquil. The restaurant was buzzing with activity. We were seated at our tables and then the gourmet feast began. Beautiful local produce, olive dips, tomato w/ red lentil soup, assortment of baked breads, oysters, then main course was slow roasted lamb shoulder that was the best I have ever tasted accompanied with rustic potatoes and a warm salad. This was just an incredible wholesome meal, then we had a salted caramel fudge for dessert. We got about 20 minutes then to check out the 2 local shops before heading back to Hobart. I would definately recommend this cruise and do take up the lunch option it is exceptional value. We loved it.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“What a day well spent..........”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

by hopping onboard The Peppermint Bay day cruise. What excellent value for money!!!! Staff onboard the boat were so nice and incredibly knowledgeable about the environment, marine life and the eco system. Fantastic running explanations of all kinds of different aspects of the Tasmanian natural history and the underwater camera visuals of reef at Bruny Island was very informative. The lunch at Peppermint Bay was beyond our expectations and again the same boat crew became our waiters; not much they could't do! What a great experience, make sure you get onboard. Don't miss the boat so to speak!!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peppermint Bay Day Cruises also viewed

 

Been to Peppermint Bay Day Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppermint Bay Day Cruises, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.