We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing and expensive” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Eye

Blue Eye
Under the Silos, 1 Castray Esp | Salamanca Place, Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
+61 3 6223 5297
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 460 Restaurants in Hobart
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Blue Eye is a quality seafood restaurant on Hobart's waterfront, cooking fresh and tasty local fish and seafood. It has a modern menu specialising in grilled fish dishes, seafood platters, and fish and chips.Try some local Bruny Island oysters or Spring Bay mussels to start, followed by char-grilled fish, a seafood curry, paella or real-ale battered fish and chips. The dishes change regularly depending on what fish is available.For the non-fish eater there are steaks, char-grilled to order, as well as vegetarian and gluten free dishes. Take away food is also available.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very disappointing and expensive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Having dined at this restaurant soon after it opened and been impressed, it was a very disappointing return visit. We decided to re-order the seafood platter (for two) that we had previously enjoyed. When the order came to the table we thought we had been given the wrong order. Rather than the large platter with ample selections of seafood and fish and a good salad to share (as previously enjoyed), we were presented with two separate plates consisting of one muscle, one scallop, an awful fish pie with soggy pastry, two small pieces of battered fish (greasy) a small piece of salmon (dry) and a bland small dish of rice and fish (tough) with the worst excuse for a salad we have ever seen (a sliced through piece of lettuce drowned in mayonnaise).
$120 with wine.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susiehobart000, Owner at Blue Eye, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our seafood platter when you dined at Blue Eye recently. We have changed our menu and the make up of the platter since you initially visited. The Seafood Platter that you had before was served over two courses and was $95 for two people. In order to make our menu more flexible we have split the platter into two courses - entree platter $32 and main course platter $70 for two.

The main course platter which you had ($35 per head) is a selection of main course dishes from the menu allowing you to have a try of several different dishes. It changes seasonally but currently includes a portion of our Seafood Gumbo (grilled blue eye, salmon, mussels, scallops), chargrilled atlantic salmon, seafood pie, battered blue eye and chips and iceberg, parmesan & dill salad with caesar dressing. We only use local fresh seafood.

If you had also ordered the Hot Entree Plate for two ($16 a head) (comprising of Thai fish cakes, chilli salt squid, mussels, and prawns) you probably would have had a similar platter dining experience at a similar price to what you had before. I believe this was explained by the waitress when you dined in the restaurant.

Our main courses range in price from $22 to $35 and we use only fresh local seafood, rather than any cheaper imported fish, so that we can ensure a good quality of product which showcases the best seafood that Tasmania has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    59
    23
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mothers Day Lunch - 10/10.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We had a party of 4 adults, 2 children - and all walked out with big smiles on our faces!
The kids were given crayons and colouring clipboards when we arrived, the kids meals were cooked and played with the same attention and quality as the adult menu (just smaller scale) and they were treated with polite interest and attention by staff.
This made my meal pleasant and enjoyable, which meant I could sit back and actually enjoy the delightful fresh seafood and DEVINE dessert.
I will be going back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I spent two weeks in Australia with my wife, and this was definitely the best meal we had. Just very well cooked fish and scrumptious non-fishy food that was delectable. It made us very happy!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“High expectations, but disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We had high expectations on our first night in Hobart. We selected the taste platter for 2 people. It was okay, but we were not impressed. Not a fine dining experience. Quite greasy, fatty food and not refined at all. Weird taste combinations. It was very busy so I assume other people like it. But quite a lot of children too, so probably mostly fish and chips.
The soup was great and the highlight of the meal.

We won't return - too much going on at the plates, not a delicate seafood experience.

If you like quantity above quality you can give it a try.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
“Excellent option -most enjoyable experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Four of us on a weekend visit to Hobart enjoyed a delicious dinner after seeing Adam Hills at the casino. After being refused service at 4 other restaurants we were fairly apprehensive when we walked into Blue Eye just on 10 pm and asked for a table. We were greeted enthusiastically, shown to our table and given prompt and friendly service. The decor is clean and modern with interesting art work adorning the walls. Our food choices included a yummy share platter for entree - mussels, prawns, calamari, Thai fish cakes, next were seafood pies and gumbo followed by coffees all round. We shared a bottle of Tasmanian Pino Gris and thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. It is a pity that the other four restaurants we tried were not as hospitable or flexible.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Eye also viewed

 

Been to Blue Eye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Eye, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.