We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quail,lamb fillet and duck confit with the tranquil bay as a view.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boat House Restaurant Cornelian Bay

Boat House Restaurant Cornelian Bay
On the Derwent River | Cornelian Bay, Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
+61 3 6228 9289
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 477 Restaurants in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $26
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night
Description: Right on the beach at Cornelian Bay, the Boat House occupies one of the most beautiful settings in Hobart, 5 km north of the CBD. Fabulous water views with the Tasman bridge as a backdrop, the Boat House is the perfect location for family outings to the and park, long lavish lunches, a romantic candle lit dinner for two, or any special occasion, also holding functions of up to 150 people. Recent owner since November 2013, John Demir, has 20 years experience in the restaurant industry as a chef. Now he has taken on role of front of house position as host. The contemporary Australian menu changes seasonally to encompass the freshest Tasmanian produce available.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
1,702 reviews 1,702 reviews
363 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 823 cities Reviews in 823 cities
1,781 helpful votes 1,781 helpful votes
“Quail,lamb fillet and duck confit with the tranquil bay as a view.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This is my idea of contemporary. Housed in a 1960s beach pavilion,its marvellously open-plan with floor to ceiling windows showcasing the tranquil bayside location. The cuisine is modern Australian with French style and a fusion of Asian flavours.
We had some innovative dishes,like quail steamed in soy with Sichuan pepper and a lamb fillet done in sesame oil dressing. Simply fantastic. We bypassed the desserts ,only to savour a share-plate of duck confit infused with cinnamon and served with beetroot,rocket and blood orange. We had a couple of glasses of local wines suggested by our head waiter. Excellent choices. Excellent flavours. ... and my beautiful wife complimented by the fabulous views. This was a lunch to recover from exploring Battery Point and Salamanca. Compliments to the establishment.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah G, Owner at Boat House Restaurant Cornelian Bay, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you very much for a wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    44
    8
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Latrobe, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“5 star food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We arrived late on a Friday night and the staff fitted us in. Our first visit to the restaurant, we were nicely surprised by the $38, 3 course menu. There were lots of gluten free options too. The four of us all ordered 3 savoury meals and we were all amazed by the quality and quantity of each of our meals. They were delicious! The staff were attentive and friendly. I will definitely go back again as I consider this my new favourite restaurant!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah G, Owner at Boat House Restaurant Cornelian Bay, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for your fabulous feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice, slow dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Great value on a Friday night. Food was nice, however it took 2 hours to serve 3 courses which dampened the experience a little. Service was attentive without being over bearing. The decor of the restaurant was out of the 80's, haven't been to a restaurant decked out like that since sizzlers fizzled out...

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobart
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I recently celebrated my birthday at the boat house with family on some very mixed recommendations. It completely blew my expectations out of the water, a $38 3 course menu was a hit with everyone and left us full but not so much that we are all in a food coma. A really diverse wine list that was very affordable and showcased some lovely tasmanian vineyards. The service was very attentive but not overly so, unfortunately I didn't get our waitresses name! The view was amazing timing it perfectly to watch the sun set behind the bridge! As a local I will definitely be back an excellent affordable evening out.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

A great venue only 10 minutes by car from Hobart. Monday to Friday do a great menu where 3 tasting plates are $38. Great value and everything delicious. A good wine list at very reasonable prices.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boat House Restaurant Cornelian Bay also viewed

 

Been to Boat House Restaurant Cornelian Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boat House Restaurant Cornelian Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.