We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guest Focused, Great Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Merre Be's

Merre Be's
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Merre Be's to your Saves list
Merre Be's
17 Gregory Street, Hobart, Tasmania, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 28 Hobart B&B and Inns
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Guest Focused, Great Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

I arrived at Meree Be's, it was well lit and felt welcoming. I then checked into my room to find it clean and tidy, the room was older style, but still cleen for it age. I walked into the bathroom to find a spa and small selection of toiletries. On the table were fresh flowers, which i later discovered were picked from the garden.
My breakfast was conveniently in the fridge with fresh milk and OJ and a selection of cereals were available.
The staff were extremely friendly and knowledgeable about local attractions and things to see and do.
This is great little B&B, I would reccommend this as a great place to stay in Hobart.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    2
    6
    7
See reviews for
2
15
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

We arrived to an empty house with keys taped to the door. The bathroom still had the last guests shampoo in it and there were no towels. One of the bedbases was mouldy and the bedspread smelled strongly of Febreeze. The carpet was filthy and had some rugs with trip hazard corners dotted around. The King bed would have been more comfortable if you couldn't feel the divide between the two single beds.

When we sat down to breakfast in the spacious room, the sun streamed gently through the window (a redeeming pleasure during our stay) we had cold tea because the kettle, perched on a small trolley that also houses the iron and the toaster, did not work, and the 'antique' chair almost snapped in half as we sat down. The water ran out of the taps a lovely tea colour but smelled nothing like Darjeeling. The information guide said we would have a light breakfast of bread and juice brought to our room, but in four days we only saw one small bowl of fruit. The supply of cutlery and crockery slowly dwindled over our stay as the hosts wash the dishes for you (you need to leave them piled up on the table unless you want to put them in the bathroom sink) and by the time we left, we had to take turns on the remaining cup.

Unlike others, we did meet the host, who was very pleasant and will give you the ridiculous essay of a wifi code if you ask nicely. Hint...if you see a random string of words on the back of your welcome sheet...it's the code. Unfortunately we could also clearly hear the staff working behind a door in our room. Creepy. And the whole time we were there I was glad that none of the appliances did not actually blow up (as they threatened to do) and start a fire requiring emergency evacuation because the evacuation plan was terrifyingly minimal.

The location was fantastic; there are some great restaurants in the area. The laundry facilities were a 5min walk to the laundromat and the bus to get out of the room for a day, was not far away. Definately not a four star stay, not intolerably awful, just very very disappointing.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

The location was very good, love Sandy Bay, but.....turned the spa on, and the electricity cut off. The spa was one of the original reasons we booked the room in the first place. The hot water system even without the spa couldn't fill the bath with hot water. We put a glass on an occasional table and the table tipped over. The room didn't look like the advertising. The fire in the fireplace in the common lounge room we had to put out, as the smoke was going into the bedroom behind it! I certainly wouldn't be booking this accommodation for a honeymoon. It's a room, but it's not luxury. I think the building needs some money spent on it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

During our three night stay we did not meet the host however our room was serviced every day. We were not served breakfast during our stay as advertised. We would not describe the spa as a luxury spa more a spa bath in a bathroom/toilet. As stated by Aspiring1 our room was crowded with old furniture as well. As for the television it only received four stations on rabbit ears, two of which were barely watchable due to very poor reception. We would not consider this B&B to be rated at 4.5 stars. More 2.5 to 3.0. Overall we found this accommodation to be very disappointing and misleading.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
139 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

This Victorian style cottage was built in 1901 and it is located by the main street in Sandy Bay Hobart. It was easy to find, as it is just by the road side, if it is not for the sign, we would have mistaken it as one of the house in that area. Further down the street, there are many restaurants and cafes. We didn’t even need a car to find food!

We did not see anyone when we “check in”. There were many envelopes with guest’s name on it and room keys inside and a description of our room location and how should be park our car. We were told to park our car under the walnut tree and the room is by the corner, in front of the walnut tree at the back of the house! This is funny, as if we park at someone’s back yard.

We picked up the envelopes and used the key inside to open our room. It was a pretty room – because we booked “honeymoon Suite” with a nice big “honeymoon Spa”

The room was clean but I find it a little too small. It was funny to see 2 queen beds in a “Honeymoon suite” Though the beds were comfortable. Nice and clean bed sheet. Overall the room was clean.

We love the double spa – a spa that allows 2 persons in it. Amenities were more than enough; we even provide the bubble bath gel for the spa!

There was a toaster, coffee and tea maker, refrigerator (with fresh milk, orange juice and 2 kinds of bread) in the room, therefore our breakfasts were covered!

The TV was a little old and small, although we did not even turn it on.

Because we only stayed for one night, there was no room service. The rate of the accommodation was a little high but I think almost all accommodations in Australia is expensive especially we were there during the high season. The double spa was the one that make this Bed and Breakfast unique and perhaps is also one of the reasons the price is a little higher.

We probably will still come back to this bed and breakfast.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercer Island, Washington
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

We like staying in B&B's. It is a chance to meet other travelers and to have a nice breakfast. Merre Be's is advertised as a B&B which means Bed and Breakfast. When we arrived at 6 PM, there was no-one about. The key was taped to the front door. A note was left that said the owner had medical problems and could not serve us breakfast. They would leave breakfast for us in our room. This consisted of 2 slices of bread, orange juice and plunger coffee. What didn't make sense is that there was no breakfast room to have breakfast in even if someone could be found to cook breakfast. I wonder if it was ever a real B&B. We ate at a local cafe. Our room was badly in need of some loving care. It was crowded with old furniture (I don't mean antiques), that looked like someone's discards. Some of the lights didn't work--I needed a headlamp to read in bed. We eventually met the hostess, a very charming woman. I only wish her rooms had been as charming.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2010

We booked into this B&B expecting a cooked " 'breakfast in a pleasant,friendly environment" as per their brochure and web site but were sadly disappointed with a few basic provisions left in our fridge. We had a room that needed a good clean and some repairs, including a broken floor board next to the bed as we entered the bathroom. This B&B was supposed to be 4 1/2 star rating but sadly was not though the price was quite high. It was in a good location (close to shops and restaurants in Sandy Bay )though was fairly noisy with traffic at night. We stayed 3 days but never once saw the hosts however the room was serviced daily.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Merre Be's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merre Be's

Address: 17 Gregory Street, Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hobart
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Merre Be's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merre Be's Hobart, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merre Be's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.