We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Source worth bottling” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Source Restaurant

The Source Restaurant
655 Main Road | Berridale, Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
613 6277 9900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #109 of 477 Restaurants in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Source worth bottling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed lunch at The Source. We booked ahead (for my birthday) and had a table next to the window with expansive views across the Derwent. The staff were attentive and personable and took care to describe the meal and where the ingredient were sourced. We asked the waiters advice and on is recommendation shared an entree, two mains and a dessert. All were excellent. Clearly the meal was not inexpensive, but given the quality, ambience, view and attentive staff it was well worth the money and I heartily recommend it.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    54
    37
    26
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We had also heard many good things about this restaurant, but were disappointed that it did not live up to all the good things we had heard. The day we went the kitchen lost power, there were no lights in the toilets or anywhere else, while not their fault it was annoying, sadly the best part of my meal was the cup of tea.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Perfectly balanced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We went all out and had the 9 course degustation with matching wines. You need to re-mortgage to afford but its worth it for a special occasion. Perfectly balanced quantities of food and wines (if you dine on an empty stomach!). It was great to try wines from different regions (like a German riesling). The whole experience took 4 hours which was a great pace for a special meal. Staff were delightful (especially Theresa). Nothing at MONA is ever too much trouble

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Sensational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Our lunch was planned as a break during our visit to the magnificent MONA, but we had such a pleasant and relaxed meal that we barely had time to return to the museum!

We chose the 7 course degustation, and were delighted by every course. Each course was visually stunning, the aroma so appealing, and every time, the taste met our heightened expectations. Highlights were the Scallop Mousse Gnocchi, the Duck, and the Hazelnut Mille Feuille for dessert. Every mouthful was savoured. Service was knowledgeable, professional and friendly.

Though a dreary day, the view over the water was lovely. I am looking forward to dining here again on my next visit to Hobart.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We ate here on a Sunday,which is degustation only. You have a choice of 3,5,7 or 9 courses starting from $75 for 3 courses. I had high hopes for this place having read all the reviews and was really looking forward to the experience. It ended up being sterile in ambience, service was ok but slowwwww and mediocre in flavours. The best part of the lunch was the dessert. Sorely disappointed!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Source Restaurant also viewed

Berriedale, Glenorchy
Hobart, Tasmania
 
Hobart, Tasmania
 

Been to The Source Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Source Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.