We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is excellent. Be prepared to pay for parking.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Collins

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Collins to your Saves list
Hotel Collins
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   58 Collins Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Location is excellent. Be prepared to pay for parking.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

This is so central. You can walk to almost anywhere in Hobart from here, which we did. Spent 4 nights and only took the car out to go to MONA and Port Arthur. We walked to Battery point, Salamanca, North Hobart. No on site parking but around the corner you can pay $15 per night for a secure park. The service was great. On site restaurant has good specials and we had great restaurant quality meals from room service. Big thumbs up!
There is a woolworths just around the corner.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    232
    47
    5
    0
See reviews for
42
233
45
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and our apartment was HUGE, bright and very very comfortable.
Location was excellent and we walked to the Tasmanian Symphony, the the MONA ferry, Salamanca and into the mall. All an easy walking distance of 10 minutes or less.
David on the front desk was very helpful and catered to all our needs and then some!
All the staff were friendly and helped make our stay happy and enjoyable.
We will stay here again when we next come to Hobart.

Room Tip: Room 707 has a corner view and the suite is very large and bright
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverloch, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights. Had a standard queen room that was very pleasant. Modern decor with everything you need. Good size room and very clean. Bed and pillows very comfortable. Service is fantastic and staff friendly and very helpful.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Queen Room fairly small but big enough for a couple if you're not planning on spending much time in room. Very clean, good location, nothing really to complain about except both nights we stayed got woken by someone doing burn outs in their car in middle of the night, not the hotels fault though I guess.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

If you can get this hotel for a rate under $150 a night it's not too bad for a city centre hotel.
It's near the hospital and within walking distance to the harbour and Salamanca (about 7 min walk).
The rooms are a bit small but they're clean and well maintained. Not very good views if you get a room at the back of the hotel.
The staff are nice and happy to help.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Top Contributor
299 reviews 299 reviews
124 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Located in the heart of the city, the Hotel Collins is in a great spot for all your activities in Hobart. Rooms were nice and modern and breakfast was good.

It is clear that the staff at the Collins care about their clients and will go the extra mile to make your stay a good one.

Will certainly stay at the Collins again when next in town

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

I have stayed at the Hotel Collins on several occasions and the only complaint I have had is with the cooked breakfast which I didn't think was up to scratch, and management offered a free breakfast for myself and a guest in the future. I must congratulate the management because on my recent stay it was much improved. The rooms are bright and clean and the staff are very helpful in making your stay a good one. This hotel is near the centre of Hobart and close to many popular dinning and entertainment venues

Room Tip: Pick a room facing east on the eight floor and above for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Collins

Address: 58 Collins Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Hobart
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#9 Family Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Collins 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Collins is one of Hobart’s newest hotels offering 4.5 star (self-rated) boutique accommodation, conveniently located in the Hobart CBD and only 250 metres from the famous Hobart waterfront & Salamanca Place. Hotel Collins has 80 stylish and contemporary hotel rooms and 1-2 bedroom apartments, perfect for business or leisure.Free WIFI is available through out the hotel. Relax with a drink or casual bite to eat at Restaurant Collins or enjoy some space in the Guest Lounge.All the accommodation windows are double glazed and the rooms are undoubtedly the quietest in Hobart. Rooms have individually controlled air conditioning, Foxtel Movie and Sport channels and floor-to-ceiling windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Collins Hobart, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Collins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.