We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel , Friendly Staff , Ideally Located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Collins

Save Saved
You added Hotel Collins to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Collins
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   58 Collins Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE TASMANIAN WINE
Ranked #6 of 47 hotels in Hobart
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Decent Hotel , Friendly Staff , Ideally Located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed 2 nights here on our first visit to Hobart . The welcome at reception was very friendly and we were pleasantly surprised to find we had received a room upgrade . Rooms , while not spectacular are both comfortable and functional . Bed and pillows were very comfortable which is always a plus at any hotel. Location is ideal - just off Elizabeth street mall and 5 to 10 minutes walk to the Salamanca harbour front. While we did not eat at the hotel , the range of food available seemed quite decent . Good hotel .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    188
    207
    41
    5
    0
See reviews for
34
211
42
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mudgee, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Hotel Collins was great.
Our one bedroom apartment was quiet, super clean, modern and spacious.
Although there were no laundry facilities in our room the guest laundry was clean & well set-up and the coin-operated washers & dryers were efficient and worked brilliantly.
Free WI-FI was provided and it worked well.
Dave on reception was awesome; friendly, helpful and knowledgeable.
Although the hotel doesn't have parking you may be able to snag free overnight parking on the street or pay the reduced charge of $15 for hotel guests at the adjacent car park.
The only drawbacks I found were that the lounge, whilst comfy, was too small for two to spread out comfortably, and it would have been nice if there were a bath in this room-type.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I have stayed at the Collins several times for wok and find it a very comfortable hotel and convenient location. The rooms are clean and quiet - perhaps a bit basic in the smaller ones but the beds are comfortable.

The restaurant has a good range of food but room service could be improved as I have had several items forgotten. Staff were very apologetic and 'made good' rapidly which was fine.
Front of house staff are really helpful and there is parking directly outside if you are lucky or in the Market Street car park which is a stones' throw away.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We needed a place to stay close to the hospital, this is just across the road. I thought it would have been noisy being right in the CBD but no, it was so quiet.

All the staff were just so helpful and the room was just perfect. We had a King Room and I loved the bath. It was spotlessly clean and quality fittings used. Highly recommended and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braughing, Ware United Kingdom
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This hotel is great for location as it is central to all the Hobart stuff that you need to do. Within walking distant for some great restaurants and bars and the market on a Saturday morning is not to be missed. The staff are friendly and helpful and the rooms well appointed with clean and comfortable facilities. The only drawback is that the hotel does not have parking, however there is a public multi next door with a discounted rate for residents.

Room Tip: Choose the highest floor for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnie, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had a course to attend and givin this hotel was just down the road was very convenient as one of the days we slept in and ban straight up the road I had to travel lol , great rooms and great reception as we got there at 2am in the morning :) would defiantly recommend these fantastic sparkly rooms :)

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Collins is a classy place to stay in Hobart. Very good position near the waterfront, pleasant staff, excellent cafe/restaurant both food and service and best of all the beds are so comfortable. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment, and I think it's well worth the little extra you pay to have a sitting room and a compact kitchen.

Room Tip: Try for an apartment - bigger space, more room to spread out and the advantage of making your own br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Collins

Address: 58 Collins Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hobart
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Collins 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Collins is one of Hobart’s newest hotels offering 4.5 star (self-rated) boutique accommodation, conveniently located in the Hobart CBD and only 250 metres from the famous Hobart waterfront & Salamanca Place. Hotel Collins has 80 stylish and contemporary hotel rooms and 1-2 bedroom apartments, perfect for business or leisure.Free WIFI is available through out the hotel. Relax with a drink or casual bite to eat at Restaurant Collins or enjoy some space in the Guest Lounge.All the accommodation windows are double glazed and the rooms are undoubtedly the quietest in Hobart. Rooms have individually controlled air conditioning, Foxtel Movie and Sport channels and floor-to-ceiling windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Collins Hobart, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Collins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.