We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Collins Hotel gets my vote in Hobart” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Collins Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra Collins Hotel to your Saves list
Mantra Collins Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   58 Collins Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Collins Hotel gets my vote in Hobart”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Collins is a classy place to stay in Hobart. Very good position near the waterfront, pleasant staff, excellent cafe/restaurant both food and service and best of all the beds are so comfortable. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment, and I think it's well worth the little extra you pay to have a sitting room and a compact kitchen.

Room Tip: Try for an apartment - bigger space, more room to spread out and the advantage of making your own br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    276
    56
    5
    0
See reviews for
49
267
49
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Last minute deal. Had view of brick wall but we did pay a cheap rate. Rooms clean and modern and can walk to all local attractions. Would probably pay a little more next time for view of the bay. Check in and check out efficient. Parking limited to 30mins at the front of hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The hotel is fine without being outstanding. It is within easy walking distance to CBD, museum and wharf (including MONA ferry) and a pleasant ten minute stroll to Salamanca Place. The staff were friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast buffet was good. The room was pleasant and comfortable and the amenities were in line with the price.

Room Tip: The higher up the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

I highly recommend hotel Collins. We don't know much about Hobart but the staff were great help and answered all our questions. We had to move around our booking on the day and they weren't fazed by that at all and quickly helped us with no fuss. The room was spacious and comfy (1 bed studio). The kitchen was fully equipped, even with real milk. The room service and restaurant/cafe had great food and was super efficient.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Great location, clean and comfortable. Staff were very friendly, would stay again. We enjoyed the breakfast and dinner we had there but it is in easy walking distance to Salamanca for more variety. If you have the time a visit to Theatre Royal nearby for their tour is well worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Varas, Chile
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Clean, quiet and comfortable, rooms on the small side but with large bed. Close to city and Salamanca. No free parking and no street parking but a parking place next door which was reasonable. Staff were friendly and efficient. We had a view of the hospital so ask for a sea view when you book.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Treated ourselves a weekend away, AFL grand final weekend. We found the staff friendly and helpful. Our room on the 10th floor had views across the city to Mt Wellington. The room was clean and comfortable with the mini bar well stocked and plenty of tea and coffee, not to mention real milk. It was within walking distance of most things Hobart has to offer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.2 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.2 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 47 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 stars 938 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#7 of 47 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 stars 242 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Collins Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Collins Hotel

Address: 58 Collins Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Hobart
#9 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#10 Family Hotel in Hobart
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Collins Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Collins Hotel has modern Hotel Rooms, and One and Two Bedroom Apartments, with some boasting views over Mount Wellington, the Queen’s Domain and CBD. All rooms are well appointed, furnished in a contemporary style, and have floor to ceiling windows allowing natural light to stream in. Sample the region’s finest food and wine including seafood at neighbouring restaurants, or purchase fresh produce at the farmers markets. From the hotel you can walk to Princes Wharf where many of Hobart's events take place. Discover Salamanca place at Battery Point, Queens Domain, Royal Botanical Gardens, or the Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery – all within walking distance of this Hobart hotel. Don’t miss the Museum of Old and New Art (MONA), accessible by ferry departing from the waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Mantra Collins Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Collins Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra Collins Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.