We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Collins

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Collins to your Saves list
Hotel Collins
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   58 Collins Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Excellent stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 10 nights for work and really felt at home. The room was big enough, there was plenty of cupboard space to unpack and hang all my clothes, plenty of table space, super comfortable bed and pillows, crisp fresh linen changed daily, nice fluffy towels and everything was exceptionally clean. All the staff were very friendly and I wouldn't choose anywhere else when I'm next in Hobart. Oh and the free super fast wifi in the rooms is amazing; why can't other hotels in the country offer this?! Stay here and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    261
    52
    5
    0
See reviews for
46
261
46
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stylish, well-equipped, clean and comfortable hotel. Excellent bed and pillows. Very quiet and nice view from 9th floor one bedroom apartment. Lovely continental breakfast with fresh and poached fruits and leaf tea. Staff very friendly and helpful. Car hire options close by. Lots of eating options nearby - from take away fish and chips at the waterfront to beautiful seafood platter at Blue Skies to great Greek food at Mezethes. I'd highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights from 24 Jan - 28 Jan 2013 and would recommend this hotel for couples. We stayed in a Queen bed suite, and though slightly small it was perfect of my husband and I. It was very clean, with excellent mod-cons - including an alarm clock/ipod docking station. The reception staff were very friendly and approachable, and the location is excellent with a supermarket nearby and the Salamanca eating establishments also just a short walk. Would def recommend :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed one night and it was a very nice room on the 10th floor with a comfortable bed and nice bathroom. It was very quiet at night time so we slept very well after a long day looking around Hobart. The hotel staff were helpful with the parking and free wifi. Would stay here again if I'm ever back in Hobart.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

stayed her for 2 nights with friends. Restaurant is a basic cafe, our room view wasn't great (but not important), easy parking behind the hotel, hotel is opposite a hospital and there is some noise at night, but what CBD hotel is noise free at night.....
Wharf precinct, downtown shopping mall and Salamanca is an easy walk from this hotel. We ate at Ethos restaurant (10 min walk) and would recommend this restaurant to any food savvy traveler (not so great if you have young kids). We stayed in a dual room apartment, which would be perfect for small families (2 kids), rooms seemed recently refurbed, so carpets, bathrooms, bedding is immaculate.

Service at the Colins was professional not not pretentious, would recommend this hotel to most travellers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Despite what the previous reviewers have said, Hotel Collins is an excellent hotel that offers superior value for money. Yes some of the rooms have 'views' towards the car park, BUT these rooms don't advertise views! They have 'club rooms' if you want a guaranteed mountainside room. Read the room description people! Same deal for car parking: this is CLEARLY explained on their website and Wotif, where I booked. Discounted daily rate/ >8 hour stay. There's meters on the street if you want to stay only a couple hours.

As for the windows, most definitely double glazed. So you might get a bit of noise on the weekend; it's a capital city CBD! Stay in the country if you want silence. I'm an architect; I promise the windows are double glazed. No noise or 'groans' whatsoever and I've stayed here at least 20 times.

Service was top class. Reception, cafe and housekeeping staff all went out of their way to say hello, ask how we were and offer help at every point of contact. World class.

Free wifi in all rooms - not common in Aust hotels yet. Great food and awesome coffee. Rooms are modern, absolutely spotless and well maintained. Beds are fabulous. Top class linens and pillows. Mattresses you want in your own house.

Read ALL their reviews and you'll see this is a fabulous hotel. You're getting FAR more than you're paying for. Other Hobart hotels can only aspire to being this good. (oh and I've stayed at Hotel Charles many times too: it's good but cold and service nowhere near as good as Collins!)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed here for two nights on a short trip away on a long weekend. Excellent location and room was very clean and up to date and we had a great night's sleep. Would stay here again for sure. Service was very good.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Collins

Address: 58 Collins Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Hobart
#7 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#10 Family Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Collins 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Collins is one of Hobart’s newest hotels offering 4.5 star (self-rated) boutique accommodation, conveniently located in the Hobart CBD and only 250 metres from the famous Hobart waterfront & Salamanca Place. Hotel Collins has 80 stylish and contemporary hotel rooms and 1-2 bedroom apartments, perfect for business or leisure.Free WIFI is available through out the hotel. Relax with a drink or casual bite to eat at Restaurant Collins or enjoy some space in the Guest Lounge.All the accommodation windows are double glazed and the rooms are undoubtedly the quietest in Hobart. Rooms have individually controlled air conditioning, Foxtel Movie and Sport channels and floor-to-ceiling windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Collins Hobart, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Collins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.