We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dumplings quite good, disappointed by the rest.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dumpling World

Dumpling World
50 Liverpool Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
03 62342345
Improve this listing
Ranked #309 of 460 Restaurants in Hobart
Cuisines: Asian
Good for: Dining on a budget
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Ballina, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Dumplings quite good, disappointed by the rest.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

We went here for the dumplings and they were quite good. The duck noodles were a disappointment. I'd get take away noodles from here but that's it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liu F, Manager at Dumpling World, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is helpful for us to know our shortcomings and inadequacy. We will improve the taste of duck noodles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    22
    8
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
CAIRNS, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in here for lunch on a Sunday. Cold outside so ordered beef noodle soup. Cost $10. Soup was served quickly and it was loaded with fresh ingredients and lots if tender beef slices. Wasn't too salty and a sign near the door claims no MSG used there.
I really enjoyed the soup.
Ambience is practically non existent and the person serving us must have been sucking on lemons!
I'll be returning though, the food was wholesome, quick n cheap, great for a no nonsense meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A family favourite :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

I feel let down by some of the reviews on here. Being from Hobart my partner and I find this place convenient and enjoy the food. Yes it's cheap but for the price I think it's lovely and I have eaten in some of the best restaurants in the world. Of course it's not like those but you shouldn't expect it to be. I have spent some time in the hospitals across the road and this is always a good take-away to have handy. Good price, never had a problem with staff and would happily go again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kl
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Not worth visiting, lousy food lousy service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Fried rice was showered with MSG rocks and wantan noodle was too sweet. One of the few restaurants that wont provide water. Horrible service who scolded us when we complained about the salty food. Never coming back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cheap & Dirty”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I don't think this place deserves to receive this sort of review from other people. If they are happy with the standard and quality of food, then so be it but definitely not from me. I have had a couple of take-away food and ate-in once. Apart from offering food below $10, there is no plus point from here. It seems that there is still a long way to go to find a decent Asian restaurant at a reasonable/cheaper price range in Hobart.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dumpling World also viewed

 
Hobart, Tasmania
 

Been to Dumpling World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dumpling World, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.